We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Griffins Hill Yoga Retreat - CLOSED
Save
Review Highlights
First timer for yoga retreat

First time and certainly not the last. Jane and frank made us all feel very welcoming in their... read more

Reviewed July 3, 2015
karen682015
,
McLaren Vale, Australia
Wonderful Yoga Retreat

The five day winter yoga retreat at Griffins Hill I have just returned from was a delight for the... read more

Reviewed June 24, 2015
Kellie R
,
Canberra, Australia
Read all 9 reviews
  
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveler rating
9
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
0
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 9 of 9 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2013

After looking for a yoga retreat that we could drive to (from Adelaide) we found Griffins Hill and stayed for a two day retreat, Oct 11-13. We can't recommend it highly enough. Frank is one of the best Iyenga yoga teachers I have come across and Jane is the most fabulous cook continually providing variety of delicious organic vegetarian dishes. The accommodation makes you feel so comfortable and relaxed in beautiful surroundings with the Grampians a majestic backdrop. We loved that the groups are not huge and there is time for individual attention. Apart from the fabulous food, the wonderful yoga sessions and a great massage, we also managed to fit in an exhilarating hike up one of the mountains between morning and afternoon yoga on Saturday. And a 3 hour yoga session on the Sunday was surprisingly (for me) rejuvenating. The whole weekend was inspiring and uplifting and we are keen to do a 5 day retreat next year. Thanks Frank and Jane.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank NandiFul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankJesse, Owner at Griffins Hill Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you it was our pleasure to host you. Looking forward to your return for Griffins Hill five-day retreat in 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I've been to the Griffin's Hill five day retreat twice now and both times have returned home feeling stronger and rejuvenated. Frank's yoga classes have a warm, personal approach . His 20 years of yoga teaching experience are evident in the way he is able to make adjustments so that the pose works for each individual body, regardless of its quirks or flexibility level.

Jane's meals, made from her home-grown vegetables and accompanied by Frank's sourdough bread, are absolutely delicious. If forced to pick one favorite dish, I'd nominate the homemade ice-cream that began life as fruit on the mulberry tree down the road. Everything left me scraping my plate and licking my lips with satisfaction, but my sweet tooth is still remembering that ice-cream one month later!

In the breaks between yoga practice and meals, it's lovely to read a book in front of the fire, look out across to the imposing Mt Sturgeon and Mt Abrupt as you compare sore muscles with fellow classmates, or to don boots and hike up past the mobs of kangaroos into the bush.

If you are looking to take a break from the hustle-bustle of everyday life, and would like to develop your knowledge of Iyengar yoga, do your mind, body and stomach a favour and book yourself in to a Griffins Hill retreat!

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank keito80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankJesse, Owner at Griffins Hill Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

We loved hosting you for a retreat and thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have been coming to visit Griffins Hill for a few years now and it is always a transformative experience. Frank is a world class yoga teacher and his classes are always full of laughter. Jane grows her and prepares her own delicious meals which leave you glowing with health and energy. If you are ever feeling tired or beleaguered, give yourself the gift of a few days here: it will restore your spirits and set you on the path to a healthier life. Highly recommended!!!

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank Trish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankJesse, Manager at Griffins Hill Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you we are proud to provide such a wonderful place for everyone to enjoy a retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.