We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Mail Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveler rating
263
160
94
49
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
160
94
49
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa mountain view roommt sturgeonwine listdining experiencefine diningmatching winesducklocal producethe cottagesdegustation menuper headthe main hoteldan hunteryogurtthe parkergarden tourthe wait staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
561 - 566 of 586 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2010

This place is marvelous. You arrive right in the middle of nowhere and expect everything but this. Great rooms and brilliant food!

Stayed: March 2007, traveled solo
1  Thank JoachimH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We’ve stayed at the Royal Mail Hotel numerous times over the past 3 years, most recently in May in a ‘Picaninny Room’ (mountain view room style – with a view of Mt Picaninny in the Southern Grampians).

Over the past few years we've tried numerous accommodation options at this hotel. There are basically 2 main types of accommodation on offer: mountain view rooms (on the same side of the main street as the pub / restaurant) and garden view rooms (more like little cabins on the other side of the road).

We prefer to stay in the mountain view rooms as they really give a sense of being in the Australian bush. Of the mountain view rooms, we think the ‘Sturgeon Rooms’ are the best as they are located right at the end of the property, closest to the mountain range and right in front of the reserve around the creek. These rooms are particularly enjoyable in the mornings, when native birds (and sometimes wallabies) can be observed from the decks. These rooms have a view of Mt Sturgeon.

The mountain view rooms are certainly very stylish and reasonably large with a nice deck (furnished with a couple of chairs) overlooking the Southern Grampians. The rooms we have had have contained one queen size bed and one single bed. We also had a small flat screen tv, bar fridge, desk with chair, an arm chair and a couple of small side tables.

We were surprised by the difference in the garden view room when we stayed in this style of room. Its more of a cabin and whilst being very large and comfortably furnished, is not at all as stylish (furnished in a cottage style) and not as modern,as the mountain view rooms. There was no view, as such, from the garden view room. The noise from the main road was slightly noticeable too.

Bathrooms in both styles of accommodation were of a good size, with the mountain view bathrooms being nicely designed and well appointed with a great shower. The towels were lovely & fluffy.

On our recent trip (where we stayed in the Picaninny Mountain View room) we noticed that the toiletries provided are now Aesop and our room had an iPod/iPhone docking alarm clock, which is a nice touch.

There is free wi-fi internet access available in the hotel bar area (ask for the password from the front desk).

The buffet breakfast on offer is small but of a good quality, with various breads, pastries, cereals, spreads and juices on offer. There is also a menu available for cooked options (at an additional charge).

Over our stays, we have enjoyed dining in the hotel’s 3 options: the pub, the bistro and the fine dining restaurant. We have not had a bad meal here.

We’ve always found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. There has never been any recognition of our return visits. I guess that Royal Mail has a virtual monopoly on accommodation in town, and given their restaurant’s reputation, there isn’t any need for them to encourage repeat stays.

The hotel is well located close to a few walking trails around Dunkeld and a short drive from the starting point of walks in the Southern Grampians. Dunkeld itself it very small, there are a few shops on the main street including some cafes and take away shops, a newsagent, book shop and gift shop. Halls Gap is only about a 45 min drive away.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We stayed at the RMH on our roundtrip from Melbourne along the Great Ocean Road! Really great Roms, views, service and breakfast! Due to some technical malfunction I burned my back in the shower and the manager took our dinner off the bill! Tom consideration Dunkeld is really off the track but definitely worth including in a trip around Victoria especially when visiting the National Park around Halls Gap a Bit further up north!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LePaulQuiRit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

We stayed for two nights, and were extremely impressed. I had the thought that because the Royal Mail has a virtual monopoly in Dunkeld on the interest of foodies, most of whom would stay at their hotel, that the accommodation standards might just be average. In fact, reviews of the hotel section seem to indicate this also.

However, the Mt Sturgeon Estate cottages are just perfect. Little stone cottages with views of Mt Sturgeon, with most of the comforts of home, despite being built in 1840. Spacious living and dining area, small kitchen with enough to make a decent breakfast or lunch, and comfortable bedroom. Great bathroom disguised to look like a water tank from the outside.

It was the small personal touches that really impressed us. The fire was burning when we arrived, and after getting home the next day the cleaning staff had set up the kindling ready for it to be lit again. Recommendations of which hikes to do. Aesop bath products. A chance to visit the kitchen garden with one of the apprentice chefs.

My only concern was that we'd be a few kilometres out of town, with taxis late at night after dinner perhaps being a bit difficult to find, in a town of 450 people. When I mentioned my worries to reception, she laughed at me as though I was crazy, and stated that obviously, they would pick us up and drop us back. Which they did...turning up right on time, and then reappearing in the Mercedes van the moment we'd settled our bill.

The staff made us feel welcome throughout our stay, as if we were part of the family, coming back home from the city for a few days. Good, old-fashioned, country hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alittleharsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Having red many reviews of this property and noted the awards for its restaurant we chose it as the venue to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. First impressions were not good. We arrived at around 1.40pm (having driven 4 hours from Melbourne) to be told that our room wasn’t ready . OK check in was designated to be 2pm –but there was nowhere to sit and wait (except in the bar) and no offer of refreshment etc and no apology from the rather offhand receptionist. Our room turned out to be in a demountable building across the road from the hotel. It was fairly comfortable and very large – but the windows rattled whenever one of the many trucks passed by -or when the wind blew which it did most of the night - and there was mould on the tiles in the shower,

However to the main game. The menu is a set degustation of ten courses for either vegetarians or omnivores priced at $110 or $150. You can also have a wine package for an extra $115.

We decide against the wine package and chose one of each menu to get the broadest tastings. The service was impeccable from start to finish starting with the maitre de congratulating us on our anniversary and providing a beautiful complimentary glass of pink fizz . We have had degustation several times and sometimes found that the pace of the courses was no t o our liking but on this occasion there were many staff in attendance who watched like hawks and brought each course out right on cue.

The meal was to die for and we thought given the complexity of the dishes and the fabulous service it was well worth the cost -especially as we also finished with a complimentary Italian sticky.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews