We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway in the middle of nowhere”
Review of Royal Mail Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Mail Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We stayed at the RMH on our roundtrip from Melbourne along the Great Ocean Road! Really great Roms, views, service and breakfast! Due to some technical malfunction I burned my back in the shower and the manager took our dinner off the bill! Tom consideration Dunkeld is really off the track but definitely worth including in a trip around Victoria especially when visiting the National Park around Halls Gap a Bit further up north!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LePaulQuiRit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 487 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2010

We stayed for two nights, and were extremely impressed. I had the thought that because the Royal Mail has a virtual monopoly in Dunkeld on the interest of foodies, most of whom would stay at their hotel, that the accommodation standards might just be average. In fact, reviews of the hotel section seem to indicate this also.

However, the Mt Sturgeon Estate cottages are just perfect. Little stone cottages with views of Mt Sturgeon, with most of the comforts of home, despite being built in 1840. Spacious living and dining area, small kitchen with enough to make a decent breakfast or lunch, and comfortable bedroom. Great bathroom disguised to look like a water tank from the outside.

It was the small personal touches that really impressed us. The fire was burning when we arrived, and after getting home the next day the cleaning staff had set up the kindling ready for it to be lit again. Recommendations of which hikes to do. Aesop bath products. A chance to visit the kitchen garden with one of the apprentice chefs.

My only concern was that we'd be a few kilometres out of town, with taxis late at night after dinner perhaps being a bit difficult to find, in a town of 450 people. When I mentioned my worries to reception, she laughed at me as though I was crazy, and stated that obviously, they would pick us up and drop us back. Which they did...turning up right on time, and then reappearing in the Mercedes van the moment we'd settled our bill.

The staff made us feel welcome throughout our stay, as if we were part of the family, coming back home from the city for a few days. Good, old-fashioned, country hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alittleharsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Having red many reviews of this property and noted the awards for its restaurant we chose it as the venue to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. First impressions were not good. We arrived at around 1.40pm (having driven 4 hours from Melbourne) to be told that our room wasn’t ready . OK check in was designated to be 2pm –but there was nowhere to sit and wait (except in the bar) and no offer of refreshment etc and no apology from the rather offhand receptionist. Our room turned out to be in a demountable building across the road from the hotel. It was fairly comfortable and very large – but the windows rattled whenever one of the many trucks passed by -or when the wind blew which it did most of the night - and there was mould on the tiles in the shower,

However to the main game. The menu is a set degustation of ten courses for either vegetarians or omnivores priced at $110 or $150. You can also have a wine package for an extra $115.

We decide against the wine package and chose one of each menu to get the broadest tastings. The service was impeccable from start to finish starting with the maitre de congratulating us on our anniversary and providing a beautiful complimentary glass of pink fizz . We have had degustation several times and sometimes found that the pace of the courses was no t o our liking but on this occasion there were many staff in attendance who watched like hawks and brought each course out right on cue.

The meal was to die for and we thought given the complexity of the dishes and the fabulous service it was well worth the cost -especially as we also finished with a complimentary Italian sticky.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed at the Royal Mail over New Year's 2010 for two nights.

What a find. First of all, the Grampians are about the most picturesque mountains you'll find anywhere in Australia - every angle is a photo opportunity, and Dunkeld is a great place to base yourself as you explore everything the Grampians has to offer. Not that you are likely to meet hardy bush walker types staying at the Royal Mail....

...The Royal Mail is for those who prefer the finer things in life. Fantastic service from friendly, welcoming staff. Rooms which are modern, spacious and very well equipped. (If you judged an hotel based on the quality of the provided toiletries alone, the RM is a winner)

And then there is that restuarant. We were lucky enough to enjoy the degustation menu on NYE. My partner - a foodie from wy back who has travelled all over the gastronomic world - rated the meal as the best he's ever eaten. We also ate at the bisto; whilst much less adventurous than the restuarant, the food comes from the same kitchen, and everything on the menu is a winner.

The wine list shows consideration, and offers a good mix of locals, regionals and internationals, with the emphasis on the (excellent) locals.

In short: book here for a a couple of nights of indulgence you won't forget.

Tip: don't be stingy and splash out extra for a mountain view room. Woth every penny.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarrigntonIsTops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We've stayed in hotel rooms and the cottages. The former are just basic, clean hotel rooms, and nothing to write home about, except for the amazing views. I'd recommend the latter instead, as they're more spacious and private.

If eating in the bistro, go later in the week. Earlier in the week the service is not as polished.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jedro11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We recently stayed at the Royal Mail Hotel's Mt Sturgeon cottages. These cottages are located a few minutes out of Dunkeld on a sheep station, under the shadow of Mt Sturgeon. The location of the cottages is absolutely spectacular, the view from your cottage is amazing. The cottages themselves are very nicely done and well maintained, and you receive a breakfast hamper. It appears the cottages are geared up for cold weather, and they don't cope very well with temperatures in the mid 30's. The bluestone heats up during the day making the cottages a little uncomfortable in the evening -- they would do well installing a small airconditioner. The hotel organisation is a little haphazard but in general helpful. We had a really nice stay in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbourneGirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

We stayed in one of the cottages and had the degustation menu at the restaurant in late May 2009. The cottages are about a 2 mins drive from the restuarant and hotel. If you are having dinner in the restaurant at night, they have a complimentary pick-up and drop-off service.

A few observations:

1. We chose to stay in a cottage as it was pet-friendly and we had brought our dog with us. Very cosy, rustic cottage - probably a little basic for the price ($200 for a weeknight), but I think it's comparable to the other accommodation options in the area.

2. Breakfast provisions were included - goats milk yoghurt, jam, fruit, bread. Everything was yummy except the bread - it was strangely dense and really hard!

3. Dinner was super - but we expected it to be for that price. We didn't realise this until the next day (and didn't follow up), but we were charged an extra $10 for our wine (compared to the price on the wine list - and yes, it was the same vintage).

4. Service at dinner - friendly, efficient and professional. This is nit-picking a little, but I felt that we got a little less attention perhaps due to our age (we were probably 30 years younger than the average diner there that night).

5. View from the cottage - an awesome, clear, dramatic view of Mt Sturgeon.

Overall, it was a very pleasant experience in a very pictureque part of Victoria - 4 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hmhmhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
18.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Botanical
Comfort Inn Botanical
#5 of 8 in Hamilton
55 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hamilton Lonsdale Motel
Hamilton Lonsdale Motel
#1 of 8 in Hamilton
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Grampians Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grampians View Bed and Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Aquila Eco Lodges
Aquila Eco Lodges
#2 of 5 in Dunkeld
32 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hamilton Townhouse Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mail Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mail Hotel

Address: 98 Parker St, Dunkeld, Victoria 3294, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range: $132 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Mail Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Mail Hotel is a unique destination set among native gardens and fruit orchards with stunning views of the Southern Grampians Ranges. Award-winning food and wine, accommodation, conferencing and wedding facilities and the nearby historic Mt Sturgeon Estate are all available for guests to explore and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Mail Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mail Dunkeld

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing