We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in Every Way”
Review of Royal Mail Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Mail Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkeld
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent in Every Way”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed for three nights in the Mt Sturgeon Cottages of the Royal Mail Hotel and it was simply superb. All staff welcomed us with true country hospitality and ensured we were well looked after for our entire stay. We ate at the Restaurant, Bistro and Pub and would happily recommend each of these dining options.
The cottage was very comfortable and the views need to be seen to be believed. there are some great walks starting from your back door where you can see kangaroos, echidnas, wallabies and SO much birdlife. we returned from our daily adventures to find our fireplace had been restacked ready to light and curl up in front of.
beautiful accomodation, fantastic food and great service throughout!

Room Tip: the mt sturgeon cottages are great for a 5 star experience AWAY from busy life - rooms have no tvs o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear dwebb 10

Thank you very much for choosing to stay and dine with us. I was delighted to read that your stay was "excellent in every way". We have such a broad range of dining options and I was glad to hear that you tried them all.

The blustone cottages with their firplaces are such a unique part of our accomodation offering and they are a great spot to view an abundance of wildlife.

The team looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Scott Horn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    132
    81
    43
    18
See reviews for
51
283
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was nice, free wifi and austar although internet a bit hit and miss and you need a password for each device which only lasts 24 hours. We stayed two nights for the price of one and it included breakfast. Great spot close to the Grampians. Beds were very comfortable. We didnt eat at the restaurant except for breakfast, other cafes around Dunkeld were quite enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarinJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear CarinJoanne

Thank you very much your your review. I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Scott Horn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our weekend at the Royal Mail Hotel Dunkeld was all we could hope for and then some. We did the 4pm cellar tour on the Saturday and were fascinated by the astounding collection.
The Mountain View deluxe room was exceptionally well appointed, was quiet and had beautiful views of the Grampians. The room itself was spotless and I loved the heated floor and huge shower in the bathroom.
The 10 course degustation menu with matched wines was absolutely delightful. Each course, an adventure in itself, presented new flavours and each a piece of art on the plate. I had the pescatarian menu and my partner the omnivor. Staff were happy to cater for differences in taste and were generous with both their time and attention.
The food and service was exquisite and that made our four and a quarter hour dining experience worthwhile.
We were so delighted with every aspect of this Hotel that we are planning another pilgrimage in November. It is certainly worth the 830km round trip.

Room Tip: The deluxe mountain view room was delightful. I guess you get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thaitimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Thaitimes

Thank you very much for choosing to stay and dine with us.

I was delighted to read your comments and that you had such an enjoyable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Scott Horn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had a decent stay at the Royal Mail but I wouldn't recommend it and I wouldn't return. I booked into a Garden view room and knew ahead of time that it wasn't in the main area of the hotel. The room was nice enough, nothing to rave about but nothing to complain about either. I will say that the continental breakfast in the morning is very good, that would probably be the best part of our stay.

Our main reason for the stay was to eat in the restaurant. I'd read some fantastic reviews and was so excited about our dinner. I was well aware from reading reviews that the degustation was going to take about 3 hours, for the number of courses I thought that was fair. Our booking was at 7:30pm, all started out well, we opted to have the matching wines with each course and the first two courses were well timed and delicious. That is probably where the fun stopped. Between our 2nd course and our 3rd course we had about a 45-50 minute wait. To the point where the staff were quite apologetic and the Sommelier came over to top up our glasses which is normally rare as it's all supposed to be timed so you continue with each course and don't need the top ups. We noticed that the tables that arrived at 8:30pm had caught up to us in the courses and it all just became really robotic and unenjoyable. The wait time between courses was just ridiculous. The food was delicious and when it did arrive we did enjoy it, but the experience which I think is very important was just ruined. My husband ended up having to ask if we could try and speed things up and the last 4 courses came out somewhat faster. By the time we finished up it was past 11:30pm and we were finished at the same time as the 8:30 lot. I think 4 hours is just too long.

Overall for our dining experience, the food was lovely, the service was as expected but not exceptional. The experience was just not good and not enjoyable. For $300 per person, it just wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rinnikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear rinnikin

Thank you very much for choosing to stay and dine with us and for taking the time to post a review.

Thank you for your feedback and please accept my sincerest apologies that we were not able to meet your expectations in some areas. There are so many interesting activities to see and do around Dunkled and the Hotel has many dining and accommodation options. We trust that you will visit again and we will have the opportunity to exceed all of your expectations.

Kind regards

Scott Horn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at The Royal Mail Hotel to try the degustation menu at the first class restaurant. We were not disappointed. The accommodation was spacious, modern and comfortable. The degustation menu was fantastic. Next time we would not match the wines with the food as some wines we did not like and the separate wine list is huge. Too many imported wines matched with the menu when local wines are superb. I would recommend other people try this restaurant but it is expensive. If you want to spent less but have great food, use the regular menu.

Room Tip: Choose room at back of hotel to avoid road noise - lots of trucks
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronniemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear bronniemac

Thank you very much for choosing to stay and dine with us. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable experience and the team looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Scott Horn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, with our two small children. The apartment was over two levels and had loads of room for all of us - we were really surprised how spacious it was. The downstairs was the living area, with some kitchen facilities, and the large bedrooms & bathroom were upstairs. The upstairs balcony had a great view of the mountain nearby.

I really appreciated the little touches in the apartment - good tea & coffee and good toiletries in the bathroom. The kitchen facilities are fairly limited, but I guess most people stay here for the food anyway, so I suppose they hardly get used. They were fine for making our kids dinner, which is all we used them for.

We had the degustation dinner at the restaurant, which was fabulous. My wife is a vegetarian, and loved the vegetarian menu. The continental breakfast the next morning really stood out from usual hotel fare too - mainly made up of local produce - local ham, yoghurts, pickles & condiments made in the kitchen, beautiful bread and once again good tea. You will have to pay for "proper" coffee though, as with most places.

The hotel provided us with a list of babysitters, so we were able to have a relaxing night in the restaurant, which was the main reason for our trip. I also found the staff at reception when we checked in to be extremely helpful & friendly, which always creates a welcoming impression for new guests.

The only downside to our stay was that the pump/engine for the pool was right next to our apartment, and ran for most of the night. It takes away from the quietness of being in the country, so that was a bit unfortunate.

All up though, it was a lovely place to stay, and some of the best food you will find anywhere in Australia. Well worth the trip!

Room Tip: Avoid the apartment next to the pool pump
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricardofusball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear ricardofusball

Thank you very much for choosing to stay and dine with us. I was delighted to read your review and you have summed us up to a T.

We have a broad range of accommodation and dining experiences catering to all tastes and budgets and are well set up to cater for families and children.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Scott Horn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

I ordered a chicken parma from the bar menu which was around $20, it was dry and tasteless. My husband ordered the beef burger $18 and the bun on top was burnt. The atmosphere was quite nice and the service was excellent but overall the experience was underwhelming.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear RebeccaL

Thank you very much for dining in our public and bar and for your review.

Thank you very much for your comments on the great atmosphere and excellent service which are certainly two areas of importance for creating a great experience. In terms of the burger and parma these are two long serving Pub food staples that we try to make as special as they can be. Please accept my sincerest apolgies that they did not meet your expectations.

We look forward to hosting you again and perhaps you will try our Accomodation, Restaurant or Bistro.

Kind regards

Scott Horn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
17.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Grange Burn
Comfort Inn Grange Burn
#6 of 8 in Hamilton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
18.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Botanical
Comfort Inn Botanical
#7 of 8 in Hamilton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Grampians Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grampians View Bed and Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Aquila Mount Abrupt Eco Lodges
18.4 mi away
Hamilton Townhouse Motel
Hamilton Townhouse Motel
#1 of 8 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mail Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mail Hotel

Property: Royal Mail Hotel
Address: 98 Parker St, Dunkeld, Victoria 3294, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Mail Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Mail Hotel is a unique destination set among native gardens and fruit orchards with stunning views of the Southern Grampians Ranges. Award-winning food and wine, accommodation, conferencing and wedding facilities and the nearby historic Mt Sturgeon Estate are all available for guests to explore and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Mail Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mail Dunkeld

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing