We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for exploring the Grampians”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southern Grampians Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect base for exploring the Grampians”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The grounds were lovely and well maintained, with numerous local birds flitting through the trees, plenty of flowers, and a nice gazebo. Our cabin was clean, comfortable and well furnished; it was an excellent value for the price. This was a perfect place to call home after a day of hiking and exploring the Grampians.

Room Tip: We stayed in a cabin near the back of the property and couldn't hear any road noise. It felt mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iowa50021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
74
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, WA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This has to be one of the nicest places I have stayed in Victoria.
Cabins are extremely well appointed and comfortable. Everything has been thought of.
The location is brilliant with views of the Grampians out the windows. The grounds are well designed and maintained.
Also some good eateries in Dunkeld and Hamilton is only a 20 minute drive away.
We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoz_ichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

As a luxury tour operator we want our guests to feel special and that is exactly what happens at Southern Grampians Cottages.

Great accommodation and facilities topped off with wonderfully comfortable beds is just what we needed at the end of a long touring day. Sitting in the gazebo having a real Aussie BBQ and a couple of drinks also let them know what relaxing in Australia is all about.

George and Carolyn are great hosts and added to everything else it just makes this one of the best accommodations we use.

Everyone who visits the Grampians should try it out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LonghornTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights in the open plan luxury spa cottage. The owners are very attentive and make sure you have everything you need. There are some thoughtful touches in the kitchen, like local olive oil and other basics to get you started. Each cabin seems to have its own wood BBQ, and there is a communal gas BBQ. This particular cottage is fairly small, but definitely cosy and comfortable. The best bit was the little private balcony, we spent a lot of time out there watching the birds attracted to the adjacent huge eucalypt. My only quibble is that there is no dining table in the cottage, just some stools at the kitchen bench. OK for a casual meal, but I always find it nicer to sit at a table if you've prepared something fresh. Wood fire is a lovely touch and the owners make sure there is always plenty of firewood and kindling. Pretty good value all up.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herm0ine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrnambool
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This was our 4th stay here. We love to spend some time here to unwind and take in the natural beauty of the Grampians. It's so cosy in the cottages you could stay inside all day by the wood fire and pass the day away. There are bush walks close by and the well known Royal Mail Hotel is in town which is only a 5 minute walk from the cottages. I can't wait until our next little stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarrnamboolBorneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here, Dec 2012 we came for our wedding anniversary and wanted to come back in winter so we could use the wood fire. And it was an even better experience then last year. You get your great little extra touches like chocolates on your table when you arrive, your great coffee and tea selection and the gorgeous smelling body gels, shampoo and conditioners. The staff are great and the serenity is just amazing you could sit there and soak it up all day. We were a bit late on arrival and our fire was on for us crackling away and warming up our cabin which was great service. They have renovated the bathrooms and they are just gorgeous, clean and modern look. Anybody could stay here and have a great time, they really do cater for everyone, don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ppfftt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Wish we could have stayed longer. It is a beautiful place to stay. The owners are so friendly and even had a fire going when we arrived. The cottage was clean and homey. They had magazines on the coffee table to read, hot chocolate and coffee in the cupboard, and even offered breakie or eggs (for a small fee) the next day. Perfect place for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coberg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
0.4 mi away
Royal Mail Hotel
Royal Mail Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunkeld
470 reviews
17.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Grange Burn
Comfort Inn Grange Burn
#6 of 8 in Hamilton
56 reviews
18.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Botanical
Comfort Inn Botanical
#7 of 8 in Hamilton
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Hamilton Lonsdale Motel
Hamilton Lonsdale Motel
#2 of 8 in Hamilton
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grampians View Bed and Breakfast
3.1 mi away
Aquila Mount Abrupt Eco Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Grampians Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Grampians Cottages

Property: Southern Grampians Cottages
Address: 31-39 Victoria Valley Road, Dunkeld, Victoria 3294, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Grampians Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the southern border of Victoria's Grampians National Park, at the foot of majestic Mt Sturgeon, you will discover the Southern Grampians Cottages in the picturesque village of Dunkeld.Our comfortable, fully self-contained cottages offer a truly unique holiday experience. The peaceful, spacious gardens, together with spectacular mountain scenery, make this the perfect place to relax.All cottage feature a cosy log fire, fully equipped kitchen, comfortable beds and sofas, separate bathroom, quality linen, digital LED TV,and private barbecue area. Luxury cottages have double spas and bathrobes.Other features include a communal barbecue shelter, children's playground, laundry, free range hens, breakfast baskets, DVD library, mountain bikes and golf clubs for hire and indoor/outdoor games and sporting equipment.There are a host of activities to enjoy all year round, including bush walking, scenic drives, bird watching, fishing, golf, wineries, restaurants and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Southern Grampians Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing