We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southern Grampians Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here, Dec 2012 we came for our wedding anniversary and wanted to come back in winter so we could use the wood fire. And it was an even better experience then last year. You get your great little extra touches like chocolates on your table when you arrive, your great coffee and tea selection and the gorgeous smelling body gels, shampoo and conditioners. The staff are great and the serenity is just amazing you could sit there and soak it up all day. We were a bit late on arrival and our fire was on for us crackling away and warming up our cabin which was great service. They have renovated the bathrooms and they are just gorgeous, clean and modern look. Anybody could stay here and have a great time, they really do cater for everyone, don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ppfftt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
72
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Wish we could have stayed longer. It is a beautiful place to stay. The owners are so friendly and even had a fire going when we arrived. The cottage was clean and homey. They had magazines on the coffee table to read, hot chocolate and coffee in the cupboard, and even offered breakie or eggs (for a small fee) the next day. Perfect place for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coberg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I booked this place because it was in an area we wanted to spend some time in, and the proximity to the Royal Mail Hotel. I wasn't expecting much because of it's pricing compared to other places in the area. Let's face it log cabins have had their day? We were both pleasantly surprised by the modern fitout and the cleanliness. The complex had some activities, but we just hired some DVDs from their extensive library.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warwick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Still my favourite place to unwind, relax and get back to nature. The cottages were spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. George and Caroline are wonderful hosts who cannot do enough to please their guests. Our family adore our visits here and will continue to return each year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa30101972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night as we wanted to dine at the Royal Mail hotel.

The hosts were great and rang us during the afternoon to see approximately what time we would be arriving so they could light the fire before our arrival. They also advised us to take care on the road in the late afternoon for kangaroos in the area which we appreciated as we did encounter on the journey.

We had a 2 bedroomed log cottage which was well set up and very comfortable. The facilities in the cottage was fantastic and even though we didn't cook nothing had been overlooked even rubber gloves for washing up!

A wonderful stay- looking forward to bringing our partners to this gem!
Thank you

The whole property is great with the log cottages set nicely around the rural setting surrounded by nature -trees animals and birds

Room Tip: From what we could see all cottages were set up in a similar style with just different colour themes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderingx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed in the lovely Southern Grampians Cottages for three nights in early June 2013. Wonderful find! Cozy and modern log cabins with all the conveniences. Must of burned a cord of wood! The grounds are charming, with birds galore -- finches and parrots -- with evidence of a giant kangaroo prowling the property. Easy walking distance to town. Dunkeld is a charming little gateway community leading into Grampian National Park. We spent an entire day just wandering through the down, meeting local folks, learning to lawn bowl at the town park, lunching at the local bakery and had an extraordinarily good meal in the bar at the Royal Mail Hotel. All in all, a delightful stay.

Room Tip: All the cottages seem fine. Some are duplexes while others are singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David-Mila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a particularly nice spot with good facilities and friendly owners. Nice fires, cosy cabins. Plenty of space and easy to get a good sleep. Everything well maintained. Good cooking facilities in the cabins.

There is not much to Dunkeld itself, aside from the famous eatery and a cafe, (minimal shops, everybody goes to Hamilton for everything), but the town is at the foot of the Grampians so convenient for the Park. The scenery is therefore lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrowagenda21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
0.4 mi away
Royal Mail Hotel
Royal Mail Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
17.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Grange Burn
Comfort Inn Grange Burn
#6 of 8 in Hamilton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grampians View Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Aquila Mount Abrupt Eco Lodges
18.1 mi away
Best Western Hamilton Lakeside Motel
18.7 mi away
Hamilton Townhouse Motel
Hamilton Townhouse Motel
#1 of 8 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Grampians Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Grampians Cottages

Property: Southern Grampians Cottages
Address: 31-39 Victoria Valley Road, Dunkeld, Victoria 3294, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Grampians Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the southern border of Victoria's Grampians National Park, at the foot of majestic Mt Sturgeon, you will discover the Southern Grampians Cottages in the picturesque village of Dunkeld.Our comfortable, fully self-contained cottages offer a truly unique holiday experience. The peaceful, spacious gardens, together with spectacular mountain scenery, make this the perfect place to relax.All cottage feature a cosy log fire, fully equipped kitchen, comfortable beds and sofas, separate bathroom, quality linen, digital LED TV,and private barbecue area. Luxury cottages have double spas and bathrobes.Other features include a communal barbecue shelter, children's playground, laundry, free range hens, breakfast baskets, DVD library, mountain bikes and golf clubs for hire and indoor/outdoor games and sporting equipment.There are a host of activities to enjoy all year round, including bush walking, scenic drives, bird watching, fishing, golf, wineries, restaurants and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Southern Grampians Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing