We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute cabins in an great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Grampians Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Grampians Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Cute cabins in an great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I didn't get to stay long in the accommodation unfortunately but will definitely be coming back for another visit. The cabins are really clean, very comforable with a fireplace and spa bath in the room I had.. Quiet location is perfect for a weekend getaway and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Everything was great, no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenjen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
68
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Totally loved this place, all the mod cons but in an adorable setting and in log cabins. We also bought fresh eggs from them! Def recommend! They had lots of teas n hot choc in the cupboard and theres a cute bench out the front where u can eat.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vasiliky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vence, France
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

When my boyfriend, my friend and I arrived at the cottages, we were greeted by the hens wandering around and found that quite funny. The owner was very friendly as well
When we reached the 2 bedroom cottage we were staying in, we just stayed silent for a while. Those little cottages are great. Clean, quiet, far from your neighbors so you can enjoy privacy, eco friendly, this cottage had everything you can wish for.
The rooms were clean, nicely decoated and clean. The bathroom (though a bit small) was all nice and clean as well. My best part was the kitchen that had all the amenities you need to cook and that allowed us to have a proper home cooked dinner (which was very pleasant being on a road trip). If we'd known more about that place, we would have stayed longer. We were very sad leaving. But i will definitely go back there for a romantic getaway this time (and for a longer time)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
295 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

had to stay for a week with work. accommodation in manycountry towns is often on the busy highway through the town, but these cottages are on a very quiet side road with no traffic noise. nice secluded setting with privacy between the cottages is great and they are very comfy with good furniture and amenity.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidhughtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Clean, comfortable cottage with everything you might need. Appreciated little touches like decent tea and coffee and friendly service. We were a little surprised that the cottage we were in did not take advantage of the lovely grounds and surrounds, we were looking into a back fence one one side and the road on the other. Felt a bit hemmed in to be honest and personally don't like bathrooms without windows which is what we had. Just thought this was worth mentioning as one might expect the cottages to have lovely vistas and a feeling of space which they do not. Seems from the reviews there are cottages that do have nice vistas so could be worth asking for one when you book.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WineFoodTravel500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George F, Owner at Southern Grampians Cottages, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks for your review of our property. We appreciate your feedback - particularly your need for a window in the bathroom (this is definitely on our list of things to do in the near future). Incidently this is the only cottage without a window in the bathroom, but it is brightly lit in the day time by a skylight. As regards to views, it is difficult to achieve 'mountain views' from every cottage when you have 9 cottages spaced around a 3 acre property. The 'back fence' seen from the living/dining area is actually a beautiful multi million dollar sandstone (locally produced) wall (over 2m high) which defines the perimeter of one of the best gardens in western Victoria (bus loads of people come to view the wall, and the garden when it is open). The 'road' viewed from the front window is the driveway leading to the cottage - surrounded by well-landscaped native gardens, including a 500 y.o. red gum tree which looks magnificent when lit up at night. The cottage in question is the one in the main picture to the left of Mt Sturgeon, so the barbecue area beside the cottage provides a good view of the mountain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We travelled for over a week and this place was the best by far, I wish I stayed here our whole holiday. It has everything in it you need, totally comfortable and the little touches are great. The information and service u receive is better than a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ppfftt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here for a total of 4 nights with 2 young children (3 and 1 y.o.)

Extremely peaceful and ideal for young children. Beautifully maintained grounds. The hosts were extremely helpful and accommodating. Close enough to the centre of town (15 minute walk). The cabins were clean, comfortable and had all the amenities needed.

Overall, would have to represent the best value for money in Dunkeld.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 352David_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
0.4 mi away
Royal Mail Hotel
Royal Mail Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
17.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Grange Burn
Comfort Inn Grange Burn
#5 of 8 in Hamilton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hamilton Lonsdale Motel
Hamilton Lonsdale Motel
#2 of 8 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grampians View Bed and Breakfast
3.1 mi away
Aquila Mount Abrupt Eco Lodges
18.7 mi away
Hamilton Townhouse Motel
Hamilton Townhouse Motel
#1 of 8 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Grampians Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Grampians Cottages

Property: Southern Grampians Cottages
Address: 31-39 Victoria Valley Road, Dunkeld, Victoria 3294, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Grampians Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the southern border of Victoria's Grampians National Park, at the foot of majestic Mt Sturgeon, you will discover the Southern Grampians Cottages in the picturesque village of Dunkeld.Our comfortable, fully self-contained cottages offer a truly unique holiday experience. The peaceful, spacious gardens, together with spectacular mountain scenery, make this the perfect place to relax.All cottage feature a cosy log fire, fully equipped kitchen, comfortable beds and sofas, separate bathroom, quality linen, digital LED TV,and private barbecue area. Luxury cottages have double spas and bathrobes.Other features include a communal barbecue shelter, children's playground, laundry, free range hens, breakfast baskets, DVD library, mountain bikes and golf clubs for hire and indoor/outdoor games and sporting equipment.There are a host of activities to enjoy all year round, including bush walking, scenic drives, bird watching, fishing, golf, wineries, restaurants and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Southern Grampians Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing