We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy customers!”

The Hare Inn at Scawton
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Scawton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $72 - $91
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: 13th Century Inn, 21st Century Restaurant, The Hare is tucked away in the very south of the Moors. We offer Tasting menus, each dish is individually designed to showcase our team's ability, local produce at its finest and to incorporate different cooking techniques including both modern and traditional methods. Our personalities are reflected on each individual plate.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Happy customers!”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Excellent welcome,service,food,ambience and price! Been a couple of times now and never been disappointed. Lovely ride out we did once from Doncaster especially for a meal so must be good!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SARAH L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    20
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic lunch”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

6 of us went for my sister's birthday lunch. We all had starters and mains, and just fitted in one desert! It was absolutely gorgeous! The atmosphere is wonderful, staff friendly and efficient, and food is so full of flavour! We just need another excuse to go now!

Helpful?
Thank evilbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“What a FABULOUS experience!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We, a party of four, went to this fantastic restaurant for an anniversary celebration. From entering the establishment (watch your head!) to going into the lounge to order drinks and food from the menu, to being shown to our table and then enjoying a delicious meal was by far the best dining experience I have ever experienced. Although the menu choice is not large, it is certainly first class and very, very well presented. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The ambiance of the establishment leaves nothing to be desired. It is again first class. We all had different starters which was the start of a really brilliant gastronomic experience. I then had the beef which was to die for with lovely roast potatoes, veg and Yorkshire pudding. This was followed by a desert, pistachio, with flavours that were amazing. All four of us really enjoyed our meals, the very friendly service, and our compliments to the chef who works wonders with the food. Will definitely be returning in the near future for another amazing dining experience.
A reminder about watching your head on the way out. Being 6ft 2" I didn't and it hurt!! But still an amazing meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raspa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Place- love it!!!!!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

What a wonderful place!! Gem in the hills!!!

This chef really knows how to cook and the presentation, experience and hospitality is outstanding!!

Can't wait to visit again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grace499520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“lucky Friday!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

due to the foul weather, we managed to get a table at VERY late notice.Very friendly, efficient hostess. warm comfortable sitting room, delicious and unusual WARM amuse bouche, delicious,balanced and unusual food. Best Octopus my son has ever eaten, fantastic dessert. three generations all enjoyed our evening. When we've saved up we'll be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hare Inn at Scawton also viewed

Harome, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Hare Inn at Scawton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing