We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hare Inn at Scawton

The Hare Inn at Scawton
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Scawton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $69 - $87
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 13th Century Inn, 21st Century Restaurant, The Hare is tucked away in the very south of the Moors. We offer Tasting menus, each dish is individually designed to showcase our team's ability, local produce at its finest and to incorporate different cooking techniques including both modern and traditional methods. Our personalities are reflected on each individual plate.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I've had the pleasure of eating at The Hare on a number of occasions, and the fantastic food and superb, friendly service mean I will continue to visit. I urge anyone looking for somewhere to dine in the area to go out of their way to try here, they will not be disappointed.
The food on offer is creative, tasty and superbly presented, and Liz is the perfect hostess, making us always feel very welcome.
Thank you, and good luck in propelling The Hare to greater heights!

Helpful?
Thank whitejm03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    20
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Foodie Heaven at down to earth price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Two 50 something ladies celebrating 40 years of friendship and fed up of Christmas visited on Friday 20th December 2013. We were greeted warmly, looked after solicitously during our extended lunch and served some of the best food in North Yorkshire. The Hare has lifted hospitality to new heights.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeeandLukesGLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly creative food in wild north yorks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Dropped in for Saturday lunch with 2 small children. The inn was empty so we had the run of the place. This was good because although liz, the co owner, was very friendly and welcoming to us, we got the impression that the children were not her cup of tea. As it was empty the children were able to play without annoying anyone - the place is very small and snug although we could have done with the fire being a bit more roaring.

Food was lovely. Creative but not too much so. Desserts a bit more hit and miss than the savoury dishes, but all food was generous and very well presented. Coffee ok but not amazing. Lovely traditional ale on tap. The children had sandwiches (their request, the chef offered to cook chicken and chips for them) which were again well made and well presented.

The chef is apparently self taught and occasionally it shows, each course is assembled in a very similar way and a few of the dishes could probably be simplified to really bring out the flavours. But he is clearly someone who loves food and understands flavour and texture, and the meal was delicious and enjoyable, if rather more expensive than a normal pub lunch.

The place has just reopened after a fire. We hope they will go from strength to strength and we will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thaliabloggess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I want to tell you it's rubbish so I can have it all to myself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

This place is scruffy and intriguing, and we just popped in for lunch by accident.

The food is superb, the staff and excellent and knowledgeable. The service prompt and friendly. Unbelievable value and I'm considering moving to Scrawton sop I don't have to cook ever again. Thank you.

What more can you ask for?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Superb meal in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We met some friends here for lunch, and it was new to all of us. We were warmly welcomed, and there was a lovely cosy wood stove in the sitting room where we met for drinks, and the dining room also had an excellent ambiance. The menu was varied and interesting, and the food was presented beautifully and was delicious. We all had different choices, and everyone was delighted with their meal. The service was friendly and helpful, without interrupting our conversation. If the new owners keep to this standard, they are onto a winner! We will definitely be back.

And thank you Trip Advisor, for helping us find it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hare Inn at Scawton also viewed

Harome, North Yorkshire
 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Hare Inn at Scawton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing