We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb in Every Way”

The Hare Inn at Scawton
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Scawton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $70 - $89
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: 13th Century Inn, 21st Century Restaurant, The Hare is tucked away in the very south of the Moors. We offer Tasting menus, each dish is individually designed to showcase our team's ability, local produce at its finest and to incorporate different cooking techniques including both modern and traditional methods. Our personalities are reflected on each individual plate.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Superb in Every Way”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Who would think one could find a truly world class restaurant in such an unlikely rural spot! Thanks to Trip Advisor we did. Everything about The Hare is splendid, from the warm, personalized welcome, the leisurely pace of drinks and menu perusal in a separate drawing room, service that is both warm and professional, and food that to the eye and the tongue is beyond compare. Imagine our surprise and delight when after a casual comment about serving peanut butter at home, Liz presented us with delicious peanut butter-filled chocolate cups. She is a wonderful hostess, truly caring about all that the Hare is. We hope the future for The Hare is as bright as it shined that night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2SU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    20
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

On our way home from a short stay in the Yorkshire Dales last week when we saw a sign for The Hare Inn at Scawton not far from Helmsley, although it was a bit off our route we decided to give it a try having heard of its reputation for good food. We certainly were not disappointed, it really is a hidden gem both for food and hospitality which were excellent another great venue to add to our list.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We called in on the off chance for sunday lunch . What a find ! Couldn't fault anything from free appetisers through roast beef and lamb mains, chocolate and mango desserts to free petit four with coffee.
Every single item was superb.
Service was efficient and helpful , our host Liz was welcoming and friendly, and both her and her staff charming.
Many thanks for restoring our faith in the standards of food when eating out . Worth every penny.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Unlike many reviewers we're lucky enough to live only a few miles from Scawton but had not been to the Hare since it changed hands. Everything about the food, ambience, service was impeccable. Well done to Liz and Paul, it won't be long before there there's another Michelin star in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deedeeS245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A surprise pub”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Went to the Hare today with friends for lunch. Really quirky little pub, good beer and great food. We had the steak and kidney pie which was delicious. A la carte is a little on the pricey side for a normal pub but judging by our meal it is worth it. Serves a nice selection of beers too. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itguitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hare Inn at Scawton also viewed

Harome, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Hare Inn at Scawton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing