We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely lunch”

Stillwater at Crittenden
Reserve with
Stillwater at Crittenden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Dromana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“lovely lunch”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Lovely views, food and wine. A lovely spot to dine. We came for a staff lunch before christmas and were treated to a complimentry glass of bubbles, bread, oilive oil and dukka. Mains and deserts were small, but rich and filling and very tasty.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RosieDeSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    50
    14
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We visited Stillwater at Crittenden on the Sunday before Melbourne Cup and thought it was great.

It was relatively pricey, but I felt that it was worth it for the food that I recieved. I had the 4 starter tasting platter which was really tasty and my Husband had the Pork Belly with apple juice cavier which was also really good. For the main he had the Wagyu Beef which he really enjoyed and I had the vegetarian meal (I can't remember exactly what it was called but it was great!!) - I thought this was one of the tastiest vegetarian meals that I have ever had and enjoyed it more than the beef! We shared the apple dessert (again I can't remember what it was called) but it was beautiful and tasty. Perfect way to visit the Mornington Peninsula - sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine and a great meal.

Highly Recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Mum's Birthday Lunch”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Took mum to a birthday lunch. The staff were very pleasant and remembered that it was mum's birthday from our booking. Had the Saganaki which is to die for. The wine we selected was the Zuma Chardonnay and mum had the duck.

Overall we were happy with our meals and enjoyed a relaxed atmosphere in a very nice setting. Although the price was a little top heavy, we enjoyed our Sunday afternoon at this winery.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BNGBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui P, Owner at Stillwater at Crittenden, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Stillwater. We are delighted you enjoyed your special Sunday lunch with us here and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. WE do offer special mid week dining packages as well as members only benefits to our guests. You can join our membership club at our website and we can then inform you of when our next lunch special is coming up and so forth. Once again, thank you for choosing Stillwater and we appreciate very much your feedback.

Warm regards.

Jacqui Poulier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“SECOND VISIT AS GOOD AS THE FIRST”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

After enjoying our initial visit to Stillwater at Crittenden in April this year I decided it would be a lovely spot to take my Sister who was holidaying from Queensland. Being a Friday we didnt make a reservation but were greeted and made feel very welcome. We had the choice of indoor or outdoor dining and opted for the deck with its peaceful view of the lake and vines. A classy venue right down to the starched napkins and unisex toilets with high-end soap. Our waitress Lyndal had a wonderful knowledge of the menu and attended to our needs cheerfully. The Chefs at Stillwater showcase local produce and our choice of the Vignerons Tasting Platter, which is designed to share, didnt disappoint, satisfying our indecision with a variety of tasty morsels. Crittendens own Gepettos Sauvignon Blanc Semillon at $8.5 a glass was a perfect accompaniment to our meal. The temptation of the dessert menu over-rode our fullness and my sister and I shared a serving of Chocolate 3 ways. A silky smooth choc-Baileys mousse, scrumptious Belgian Choc Tart and heavenly Choc-Orange Ice Cream "OMG" with drops of taste bud tingling Raspberry coulis to dip.

Although we were staying on the Peninsula Stillwater at Crittendens would also have been an easy drive from home. Great location, wonderful food and service and I would certainly recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank loveindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui P, Owner at Stillwater at Crittenden, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent post. We are thrilled that you and your sister enjoyed your lunch with us! Sitting on the deck, overlooking the lake and vines during a long lunch is something very special and we are glad you were able to experience this on your visit. Now that we are heading into warmer weather, the deck will be in full swing and I hope to see you again on your next visit to Stillwater.

Warm regards,

Jacqui Poulier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely picturesque place as long as the traffic is slow.”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Had a lovely day here celebrating my mother in-laws 80th. The staff were wonderful, unfortunatley they didn't match the food. Entree's were great quail and school prawns - give the taster of four a miss. I heard the duck and fish of the day (barramundi) were good, unfortunately half of us ordered the Wagyu after prompting from the waitress and a passing view that she passed by our faces on the way to other suckers. The Wagyu had a $10 surcharge ontop of the set price of $58 for two courses. It was tough, rough and even spat out - a joke. The birthday girl left three quarters of it. The surroundings were lovely, wouldn't stay in one of the huts as you are looking onto the lake, powerlines and the roar of the highway. Great wine, visiting the cellar door is worth it and a wander. Look elsewhere for good food and peace.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Abczee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui P, Owner at Stillwater at Crittenden, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent post. At Stillwater we are continuously striving to ensure all guests are completely delighted and satisfied and we are disapointed that you did not enjoy your main course on this occasion. We would have appreciated very much the feedback on the day as we would have done everything possible to ensure you were satisfied. We are delighted that you "had a lovely day here..." and your guest raved about our other dishes "lamb cutlets got a rave" "School prawns were perfect" "Barramundi was loved" "all envious of the vegetarian amongst us" Your comment "look elsewhere for good food and peace" contradicts the above.
We are located a good 5 KM from the freeway and traffic noise can certainly not be heard from this far away. Our vineyard and estate are intimate, tranquil and an oasis from everyday life. Our luxury 4 1/2 star AAA rated lakeside villas are purposefully built out onto the water to give our guests uninterrupted water views over the shimmering lake and vineyard, with a multitude of bird life. The power lines you refer to grace the edge of the property, and are certainly not an eyesore. Your served on the day was unaware of any problem with your main and all the guests left raving from your table, with many thanks on the way out. Once again, thank you for your feedback, we would have loved your comments on the day and ensured your choice of main would better suit your palate.
Warm regards
Jacqui Poulier
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stillwater at Crittenden also viewed

Main Ridge, Mornington Peninsula
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
 
Merricks, Mornington Peninsula
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
 

Been to Stillwater at Crittenden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing