We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish but running down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria House Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Croydon
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stylish but running down”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at Victoria House Motor Inn and whilst I was impressed with the hosts in general, the room had a lot of little issues that added up.
From quite a lot of traffic noise, to the room and bathroom doors jamming and not opening or closing properly, to the soap holder hanging off the wall and finally the carpets looking like they needed a good clean. It all just added up to mean that we were not convinced we were in a 4 star establishment as per the advertisement.
Furthermore they advertised free Internet but this was not available for the 2 days and nights that we stayed there as Rob was unable to get it up and going. For a 4 star establishment I would have expected them to call someone in to fix it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the road as there is a lot of traffic noise from a reasonably m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilT81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    26
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
42
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We chose Victoria House for location and after reading reviews decided that even though there were other options down the road, this would be the most comfortable. We arrived early afternoon and found it hard to find reception. There was a driveway at the side of the building but no signs, well atleast we couldn't see them. We parked on the street as the gardeners were in and we were unable to get into the carpark. A lady directed us to the reception entry. We were greeted by a delightful man and check in went very smoothly. We were given directions to our room. All rooms appeared to be on the next floor up with no lift. It was OK for us, but worth considering if you are not able to carry your bags to your room up the flight of steps. We had a wotif package so therefore had a lovely suite (The best suite - the Windsor). This room had lovely chesterfield lounges and a nice big bed. The room had a balcony overlooking the back carpark. The sun was shining and we wished we had more time to sit out there in the sun. There is a cupboard that houses a sink, fridge, plunger coffee as well as a mini bar in the fridge. You really had everything you need. In the bathroom was a large spa with the shower in the bath. So again, if you have problems climbing into a bath for a shower, it is worth considering asking if they are all like that (There were a couple of steps to assist). There were loads of towels, nice quality toiletries and the basin was housed in a lovely federation vanity. To our surprise there was no curtain or blind on the window. Whilst this did not bother my hubby, I was very uncomfortable as we could see into the neighbours window (and they into ours) and if we looked into the mirror we could see all the traffic on the highway. We didn't have time to bring this to the attention of the staff as we were in a hurry to get to a wedding. We mentioned it the next morning and they were surprised so I have faith it will be addressed. I solved the problem by sticking up a couple of pieces of newspaper. Worked for me. We couldn't have had a better night sleep. The rooms are quite cold as they are brick, but there is a nice big reverse cycle heater/cooler. We had a nice warm blanket on the bed and although we didn't need them, there was an electric blanket also. We were very comfortable. Our package included a cooked breakfast. We decided to have this downstairs in the dining room. I am glad we did. We met the cook and she cooked whatever we wanted. The breakfast was amazing. The dining room is small and doubles as a bar. It has the feel of a B&B as does the whole hotel. It is very warm and hospitable. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean. There are the odd cobwebs but it didn't worry us as we could see they take pride in doing everything elsevery well. There were not many guests when we were there, we were the only ones in the dining room but they will take your breakfast to your room. I would definatley stay here again should we need to. It had a lovely feel and the staff are lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neds0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stated at Victoria House in March 2012 and found the rooms large, very clean with plenty of room. Furnishings were olde-world and well looked after. The bed was comfortable. Plenty of off street parking. Rob was a wonderful host and very helpful and friendly. Grocery shops only 500 meters away as well as a great Thai Restaurant. Only a short drive and you're in the Yarra Valley and the wine growing areas.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noosalocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

My brotherband I from Singapore stayed at Victoria House and were very impressed. The rooms were in some places better than a five star hotel. The service from the owners, managers were excellent. The only problem was the additional cost of breakfast.

Room Tip: If my family come yo Melbourne again they will say there. The only problem is that the front rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tradlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

My husband and I recently had an overnight stay here as we had something to go to in the area. Victoria house was recommended to me as it was very close.

I am fairly sure we were upgraded, as we booked the cheapest room but we got something very grand with a balcony and spa. The room was huge!!!

It was nice to have on site owners as I needed a couple of things during my stay and it was simple and easy to ask them for help.

We are from the country and really appreciated how homely this place was. If you are used to a 5 star impersonal hotel you may not like it.

We didnt order breakfast as we wanted to be free of time restraints (without our 3 kids), but it would have been easy enough to do this with an order form given to us on check in.

One thing I would say that was a little annoying, and I am not sure if there is a way around it, but you need a key code to enter the building which was given to us on a piece of paper, but then you need a key also to enter your room. This is a little annoying as when we went out we forgot the little piece of paper so couldnt get into the building on our return. So we had to call the manager to ask for the code. I imagine this happens all the time.
Anyway not a big deal but something to think about.

I would reccommend this place if you are wanting somewhere to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a spa suite. Also for a room not facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katwallington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My Husband and I had the BEST EVER experience at the Victoria House Motor Inn. Right from calling up to book a room , the Owner (Rob) was really friendly and helpful. Upon arrival, his wife Renee was SO lovely. She even upgraded us at no extra cost. Our room was absolutely georgous with our own private balcony. We ordered breakfast for the following morning and that too was FANTASTIC (the poached eggs were to die for) Thanks SO SO much Rob & Renee for a WONDERFUL stay :-) Regards from The very happy Wilson's (Even though we are from Geelong & it's a long drive, we WILL be back)

Room Tip: A spa room is a must for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrnambool
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

What a great overnight stay. Fantastic friendly hosts , clean well furnished rooms and the meals were reasonably priced and delicious. Will stay there again. Lyn

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynetteWarrnambool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croydon
4.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
541 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dorset Gardens Hotel
Dorset Gardens Hotel
#2 of 2 in Croydon
49 reviews
4.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Linley Estate
Linley Estate
#1 of 1 in Kilsyth
45 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ringwood Lake Inn
Ringwood Lake Inn
#2 of 4 in Ringwood
60 reviews
4.0 mi away
York on Lilydale
York on Lilydale
#1 of 1 in Mount Evelyn
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House Motor Inn

Property: Victoria House Motor Inn
Address: 331 Maroondah Hwy, Croydon, Maroondah, Victoria 3136, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Maroondah > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria House Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Victoria House Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Motor Inn Croydon, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing