We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast disappointment”
Review of Cafe Zingers

Cafe Zingers
Ranked #9 of 85 Restaurants in Croydon
Price range: $2 - $19
Cuisines: Australian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Lovely treed street 50mtrs to public transport .Comfortable european decor inside seating for 40+ patrons .Alfresco dining out front and on our rear court yard .Enjoy alfresco dining for breakfast lunch or a romantic dinner .Court Yard has its own bar serving cocktails and other drinks.The place is licenced to supply and serve alcohol or our super smoothies .Business lunches ,small parties ,groups and meetings.A Great AUSTRALIAN menu available .Our motto is Where Old Meets New. TRY US & ENJOY
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast disappointment”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Coffee was good, staff were friendly but the food was a let down. Hubby ordered avocado smash unfortunately the poached eggs were more like hard boiled and the bacon only just warm. I ordered bircher muesli as I had tried it just recently whilst away and loved it. What a dissapointment!!! I received a small bowl of oats floating in liquid topped with yoghurt and a strawberry. When staff asked how the food was we did advise them of our disappontment. We won't be returning for breakfast and quite hesitant about going there for anything more than coffee.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    7
    6
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"We take away, but don't replace."”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I met a friend for lunch at Cafe Zinger. I'm a vegetarian, but also currently on a restrictive vegetarian diet as treatment for a digestive health issue. I was thinking of having a baked potato, minus the meat and a couple of other ingredients which I currently avoid. I thought it would be very easy to add some tomato and pineapple for the ingredients that I don't eat. When I asked about replacing the waitress told me, "We take away, but don't replace." That would have left me with a very bland baked potato. I won't be meeting my friend again at Cafe Zinger for lunch.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous service every time”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My daughter and I nearly always come here on a Friday and have had great service 99% of the time. The staff always remember our favourite dishes and are really friendly, one even commented that she loved my daughter's hair! The menu is varied and has daily specials, they need to spell-check it B-). We always come out feeling fulfilled and are never still hungry. All in all the best cafe I've ever been to.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank italianlavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely spot on”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have been a regular visitor to this cafe for a while now. The staff are very friendly and professional, the food is fantastic, and reasonably priced, I have recommended to my friends to try Zingers, and the coffee is the best in Croydon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I loved the food here and the service was great too. They are also child friendly, have highchairs and are very pleasant.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank T0RTIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zingers also viewed

Croydon, Maroondah
Croydon, Maroondah
 
Croydon, Maroondah
 
Croydon, Maroondah
Ringwood, Maroondah
 

Been to Cafe Zingers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing