We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a quick getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Creswick
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great place for a quick getaway”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

A friend and I planned a last minute weekend trip to Daylesford/Hepburn Springs but many hotels in this area are booked out on weekends far in advance, or if not have inappropriate bed arrangements for non-couple duos or won't allow one night stays. Came across Grand Mercure apartments last minute and am actually glad we chose to stay here rather than in the popular accommodations closer to our intended destination, even if it meant being a bit of a drive further away.

Very clean apartments; amenities all provided. We even called the Novotel reception in the wee hours of the morning to see if room service was available even though this service is not meant to be an option for the apartments (recommended to bring your own food as kitchen facilities available). Debbie at reception was very helpful and obliging, provided we picked the food up from reception ourselves.

Only thing I would have to nitpick about is that hot water in the shower did take a while to come through (as some reviews have said) but it did eventually so just be patient!

My friend and I were very impressed by what you get at the apartments for a reasonable and relatively cheaper price than other accommodation options in the area. Only stayed one night but would definitely stay here again! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear fmyt,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Forest Resort. We are delighted that you and your friend chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed your stay. It is great to hear that Debbie went above and beyond to assist you.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    52
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
52
32
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here a few months ago, had a great weekend away with friends. Luxurious apartments, lots to do with access to hotel amenities. Unfortunately when I checked out and got back home to Melbourne I remembered I had left a beloved coat hanging in the wardrobe in one of the bedrooms. I called the hotel the next day and they said they would email housekeeping. Called again the day after and still no more information, housekeeping had been through and hadn't found anything. The receptionist was quite helpful though, he actually sent someone to the apartment I was in there and then to look in the wardrobe, however it was no longer there. No one had checked into the apartment since I left. He told me there was slim chance of me getting it back, which was disappointing. If it was handed in and returned I would have been super impressed and happy! But now just feel a bit jaded as my expectations of others honesty and decency had not been met. I guess that may have computed my view a bit of my stay here :(

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TikiHugo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorpdale
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here for a three night stay - having 2 apartments next door to each other was great as we could easily use one of them for our 'socialising and chatting.' The apartments were roomy for two, but would have been small if we had 4 of us sharing an apartment, though that would be different if it was a family. I was quite stunned every day how long I had to run the hot water before I any hot water came through and I could have a shower ---- I timed it one morning and it was almost 5 minutes. That happened for each of us staying, every day! That is shocking when everyone should be thinking of saving water, I cannot believe a complex such as this has this problem. They need to address it immediately. What a waste of water! We used Creswick as our base and spent most time in and around Daylesford, Hepburn Springs, Clunes and other local areas. It was a good place to base ourselves, but needed a car to go anywhere. A meal at the American Hotel in Creswick was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SueVH58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear SueVH58,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed staying at our apartments. We are aware of the, at time, slow delivery of hot water. This is due to poor water pressure in the local area. We are currently investigating ways to improve this. Again we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creswick
0.1 mi away
RACV Goldfields Resort
RACV Goldfields Resort
#1 of 2 in Creswick
242 reviews
15.3 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#1 of 5 in Daylesford
399 reviews
16.5 mi away
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Bellinzona Grange
Bellinzona Grange
#3 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
258 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hotel Frangos
Hotel Frangos
#3 of 5 in Daylesford
107 reviews
8.4 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort

Property: The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort
Address: 1500 Midland Hwy, Creswick, Victoria 3363, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Forest Resort Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Creswick
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Creswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Victoria's beautiful Hepburn Shire, The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort offers sophisticated two-bedroom self-catering apartments for a truly indulgent getaway. Nestled amongst 150 acres of forest and lagoons, the apartments boast surroundings incorporating indigenous plants and natural timbers. The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort is located just 20 minutes from Daylesford, 10 minutes from Ballarat and is within close proximity to the historical townships of Creswick and Clunes. Known as the 'spa capital of Australia' the region offers comprehensive mineral springs, award winning wineries and an abundance of cultural and exciting places to explore. Please note The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort no longer have access to the swimming pool and fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Forest Resort Apartments Hotel Creswick
The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing