We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain View Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Corryong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Context: we had used way too much time taking pictures of wombats in the wild and the day was dawning fast, we were wondering if we would ever find a place to sleep, when we found this motel
Location: exceptionally remote, one road, one motel, one pub, perfect. Fabulous mountain views.
Check-in: very kind and helpful lady
Room: incredibly large, super clean, TV, fridge, all amenities provided in the also large bathroom, AND heating mattresses, hmmmmmm a delicatessen in the mountains
Internet: for the small fee of 5 AUD, we've had access to a fast working wi-fi for our two laptops!
Plusses: a very funny little dog and an adorable big cat
All of the above for a really reasonable price
Will we return? We sure wish we will!

Room Tip: Since the traffic is close to none, my guess is that all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maramanocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 120 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at Mountain View Motel on our way to Thredbo recently for one night. The rooms are clean, well heated and very reasonable for the price. The bathroom was newish and spacious, and all modern amenities (coffee/ tea making, television, hair dryer, bar fridge, abundant fluffy towels) supplied. In the morning, the view of the mountain behind the motel is stunning. The motel is also located within a short 3 minute walk to the local pub where you can have family bistro meals. We plan to make this our stop for next trip to the snow.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Odette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

When I booked this motel I was given a choice between a 2 1/2 or 3 1/2 star room. Decided on the 3 1/2 star room which was a the back of the motel. The room was very clean and looked out onto a farm and the mountain.
The road is not a problem, there seems to be no traffic after the sun goes down and we were the only ones on the road when we left at 8am the next morning.
The only sound at night is the frogs croaking. The bed was firm but comfortable so had a good night's sleep.
The only negative was the bathroom, which has a louvre window which can't be closed, so the bathroom was extremely cold on the 1 degree morning we woke up to!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sajay52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed here one night as a walk-in. Friendly helpful greeting at front desk and given a choice of room - modernised or not - and took modernised. Parking is directly in front of the room. Clean decent motel room with strange layout - TV with DVD player are on a bench above a bar fridge and front on to the bed. There is a two chair dining table around the corner from this bench so you can't see the TV from the only seating area. The window on the non-parking side of the room above the table was small and half blocked by an air con unit, making the room claustrophobic. (On leaving in the morning, I saw two mountain view rooms and they had a bigger window without the air con unit.) Adequate and clean bathroom but cold (the bathroom window has a permanent opening to the outside air). OK for one night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r_ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We'd not meant to stay here but after our secured booking at the Country Inn was not honoured we found ourselves here. An older property but nicely turned out. The rooms were much nicer inside than the outside suggested. Family run but people who appreciated our business. Although on the edge of town on the road in from the north, its conveniently situated 50m from a great pub which served great meals.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed 2 nights wish we had stayed longer. We had asked for a back room with a view of Mount Mittamatite --- could have looked at the changing view most of the day as the light changed. The room was only small but beautifully furnished and spotless, the bed comfortable the fixtures very modern and the hosts friendly. Next time we are in Northern Victoria we will detour just to stay here again in a delightful motel in a very pleasant little town.

Room Tip: pay the little extra to get a room at the back of the units for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed one night in a family room which appeared to be recently renovated. Vary spacious and extremely clean. Our room was at the front of the motel near the road but we had no problems with road noise. Sign in was friendly and efficient. Pub within walking distance for meals but may be best to book at pub as we had to wait for a table on a Tuesday night. At a rate of $105 for 4 people this was our cheapest but best motel on our travels from Mulwala to Brisbane.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msweeksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Motel

Address: 74-76 Towong Rd, Corryong, Victoria 3707, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Corryong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Corryong
Price Range: $65 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain View Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18 room Motel located in beautiful Corryong. AAA rated 3 1/2 & 3 star rooms (Queen rooms, Family rooms and twin rooms). Mountain View Motel looks out over Mt Mittamatite. All rooms contain Queen beds, tea & coffee facilities, Microwave, fridge, toaster, crockery and cutlery, split systems for heating and cooling, electric blankets, LCD TV with AUSTAR and dvd player. We serve Cooked or continental Breakfast, Lunch and Dinners to the rooms at a great price. Free hi speed WI-FI. We also have a saltwater swimming pool, BBQ facilities and free guest laundry. Dining room available for group bookings for breakfast lunch and dinners. Reception has all brochures for local tourist destinations, Maps, dvd hire, Chocolate bars, Chips, Soft drinks and Liquor. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Mountain View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing