We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful Experiance”
Review of Heytesbury House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heytesbury House
Ranked #1 of 3 Cobden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A delightful Experiance”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our 4 day stay in this truly Luxury B&B was only surpassed by the exceptional service provided by our hosts, Kathy and Andrew. Although only residents themselves for a few years, they have managed to turn this grand old house into a total luxurious experience. The Breakfasts are beyond description, and we even tried a few rooms during our stay.

The well appointed rooms are a delight to sleep in, and the features of the entire house really make your stay enjoyable. Quiet Cobden has a gem at Heytesbury House.

Room Tip: They are all great, some have fridges and some don't, all are fully air conditioned. My personal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatB66, Owner at Heytesbury House, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you, RustyJ694, for your review. We certainly enjoyed having you stay, and appreciate your kind words. Just for future reference, we have now installed fridges, TV's & DVD players in each suite. Look forward to seeing you all again soon.



Kathryn & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
69
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We booked 2-3 months ago and were told we had the best room. When we arrived we were asked to move to another room. There was no TV or fridge. The sparkling wine had to go in the communal fridge along with our fruit. The man said he was not "privvy" to the conversation with his wife for the booking. He knew enough to kick us out of the "best room" though.. A couple with the same voucher took the "best room". I told him I was not happy and he said to "get out" but would not refund my money. We left after contacting the online site who said they would refund our money. The couple who run this place have no idea of running a B&B. They looked as if they had never ever been outside of Cobden. It was advertised as a Luxury B&B, but out of the 3 rooms only one room could be considered luxurious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexandraMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatB66, Owner at Heytesbury House, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your Heytesbury House experience, and understand that everybody's expectations vary. Clearly there were communications issues here, as the couple who took the "best room" were booked into the suite some time before your booking was taken. As you purchased your accommodation package through an external deal company, we were unable to refund you directly, however we are glad that our efforts to assist the refund of your voucher purchase was expedited with the urgency we requested. We have now ensured that each suite has a fridge, TV & DVD, and our booking processes have also been streamlined to avoid any future miscommunications. We value all feedback, and once again wish to express our thanks for your input.


Kathryn & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Thanks to Kathryn and Andrew for their outstanding hospitality during our 3 nights in Cobden. The accomodation, breakfasts and atmosphere were excellent. There is much to see around the area and we could easily spend more time there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjd47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatB66, Owner at Heytesbury House, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. We love hearing that our guests enjoyed their stay, and hope that if you're down this way again, you will be able to stay with us again.



Kathryn & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at Heytesbury House for 2 nights in The Shakespeare Suite which is nothing short of comfortable and luxurious. So much attention has been given to every detail in the house to give a real feeling of stepping back in time. The bed was super comfy and the en suite was fantastic with nothing spared. We were most impressed by how clean and well maintained the whole house was, as well as the tranquil, peaceful gardens. The owners Andrew and Kathryn were so friendly and welcoming and the breakfast that was included each morning was delicious (loved the fresh herbs on the the mushrooms and tomatoes). Plenty to do within local driving distance such as the local cheese farms and gorge chocolates (yum) and if you have a bit more time we recommend heading down to Warrnambool to the superb beaches (especially Logan's beach even if it's not whale watching season), the Shipwrecked sound and light show at night and the mini golf was lots of fun too! Port Campbell and Loch Ard Gorge are definitely something to see as are the famous 12 Apostles.
We had a perfect mini break staying at Heytesbury House and would recommend it to anyone who is after a relaxing (or a few relaxing nights away).
Thankyou Andrew and Kathryn- you have done an amazing job of this beautiful piece of history.

Room Tip: The whole house is beautiful but the Shakespeare Suite is something extra special :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleesha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heytesbury, Owner at Heytesbury House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Heytesbury House. You're absolutely right - we are in the best spot, close to so many natural wonders, and also the fantastic amenities in local towns.

We hope to see you both back soon so we can spoil you once again.



Kathryn & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was was our greatest pleasure to stay with Andrew & Kathryn at Heytesbury House situated in the sleepy town of Cobden, Victoria. Relaxation and refreshing was our target and the atmosphere and grounds of the house allow us to achieve just that. We were accommodated in the Shakespeare suite and there was little reason for needing to roam the rest of the house because it had everything we need over the two night stay including a four poster bed, full on suite with spa and unique reading/TV room situated up the spiral staircase in the loft. We can't highly recommend the house enough, this is a great find and we hope to return again.

Room Tip: Book early and look for a voucher in the popular discount web sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meincranbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heytesbury, Owner at Heytesbury House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to review our B&B, and share with other's your Heytesbury House experience. Look forward to seeing you both again!



Kathryn & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My partner and I had the pleasure of a 2 night stay recently in the Shakespeare suite with it's giant four poster bed, spa bath and quaint TV room at the top of the spiral staircase. Heytesbury House is the cream of B&B's, with attention to detail, providing excellent accommodation and comfort to it's guests, as well as having the character and charm of a large and beautiful victorian house. The historical hints of previous owners of the house are in evidence from the pictures and memorabilia in the dining room which are worth a browse through after being served a sumptuous breakfast by owners Kathryn and Andrew.

The house and garden are large and airy. The rooms are decorated in the style and high quality of a house of it's type. Kathryn has certainly shown great taste with the soft furnishings throughout the house - and it shows! The quality of the towels provided, as well as the spa pamper pack was a lovely touch, as was the afternoon tea of coffee, scones and cream upon arrival, served in the large and comfortable guest lounge room at the front of the house.

Heyesbury House is the ideal place to stay to discover Cobden, with it's friendly locals, as well as exploring the surrounding towns of Timboon, Camperdown and Terang as we did. I would not hesitate to recommend Heytesbury House to friends and family who are looking for an exceptionally comfortable and welcoming place to stay whilst in the country. Kathryn and Andrew are great hosts who are doing a fantastic job at providing a quality B&B and putting Cobden on the map.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VolcanoMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heytesbury, Owner at Heytesbury House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an extensive review. We greatly appreciate your feedback.

We think that everybody deserves to be spoilt, and it is our pleasure to be able to provide a tranquil, peaceful place to relax, and treasure all that mother nature has to offer.

The simple things like nice, big fluffy bath sheets and robes, along with quality bed linen and crystal drink-ware seem to make all the difference to our crazy madcap lives.

We're glad you enjoyed your time here, and we really do hope you manage to get back down here sometime sooner rather than later.


Kathryn & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I visited Heytesbury House to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We found the home to be lovely and charming. The beds were extremely comfortable and all the amenities in very good working order. The house has a fantastic reading room and also a great spa bath in the ensuite. Complete with great service and a beautiful home cooked breakfast we would reccommend Heytesbury house to anyone looking for a quiet weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heytesbury, Owner at Heytesbury House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Happy Anniversary! I'm sorry we didn't realise that you were celebrating. We hope that you enjoyed your first annual celebration, and that you have an amazing second year ahead.

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your Heytesbury House experience with others.



Kathryn & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobden
21.2 mi away
Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat
20.4 mi away
Portside Motel
Portside Motel
#1 of 11 in Port Campbell
623 reviews
20.3 mi away
Port Campbell Parkview Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Southern Ocean Villas
Southern Ocean Villas
#5 of 9 in Port Campbell
144 reviews
19.4 mi away
Anchors
Anchors
#1 of 9 in Port Campbell
176 reviews
7.8 mi away
Manifold Motor Inn
Manifold Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Camperdown
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heytesbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heytesbury House

Property: Heytesbury House
Address: 33 Parrott St, Cobden, Victoria 3266, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Cobden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cobden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heytesbury House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heytesbury House in Cobden Victoria is a beautifully maintained original Hospital Residence circa 1904. The original Bush Nursing hospital encompassed this house that was the Doctors residence. With a wide rambling verandah surrounding the house and well maintained gardens, the picturesque setting is both unique and perfect for that special time away.Our aim is to make your stay with us one to remember. Are you celebrating an anniversary, a birthday, or something more? Let us know, and we’ll do our best to make your celebration all that you wish it to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Heytesbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing