We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast we've ever had”
Review of The Dukes B&B

The Dukes B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clunes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dukes B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Clunes B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 4, 2014

My daughter and I stayed for one night at The Dukes in late June. It's an old pub with a colourful history, to which has been added a very nicely designed modern back section of lounge and dining room looking onto a garden. We had a great time socialising with the other guests in the cozy lounge, then dancing in the Town Hall for a kinder fundraiser. The Bed was comfortable and the ensuite fine. Graeme's hospitality is quite unique, the atmosphere is utterly homely and relaxed, and the breakfast, eaten with other guests in the lovely dining room, was seriously the best we have had. Thanks! Sue

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for The Dukes B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 26 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

This is a delightful get away from Melbourne for a couple of nights or for tourists who would like to see more of the real Victorian countryside. Lovely old B&B with a very colourful history which owner Graeme will be pleased to explain.
Cosy log fire to sit around in the lounge while watching the TV (bit on the small side but was fine to watch the football). Free WiFi - which you need as phone coverage is fairly ordinary (non existent if you're on Optus) in the town. This is a great spot to use as a base to go to the Pyrenees, Ballarat, Avoca, Maryborough, Daylesford, etc.
Breakfast is home cooked and Graeme does an absolutely bang up job - just go hungry and enjoy his morning taste sensation.
Bed was extremely comfortable and shower hot and strong. Really enjoyed our stay and loved the area.

Room Tip: Make sure you visit Mount Beckworth Winery in town it has some of the best reds and sparkling in thi...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MahoutMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

A place to keep returning to. Our fifth visit to The Dukes B&B was as rewarding as each previous visit. An obliging couple, Graeme and June make their guests welcome and like part of their own family. Breakfasts are a legend. The historic building has a unique charm and a great place to meet up with friends. Accommodation is available for four couples with each unit having its own en-suite. Ideal for small groups. Graeme also provided an outstanding evening meal for the four couples.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neville C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Located in the quiet and historic town of Clunes a stay at the Dukes is something not to be missed.
Comfortable, quiet, friendly and accommodating.
The breakfast has a reputation that is well deserved.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spiros K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

If you want a comfortable bed in a unique, historic inn in a fantastic little town, the Dukes B&B has you covered. If you demand one of the best breakfasts available anywhere, Graeme is the man to beat. That's what we got. I imagine you'll get something similar.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhymus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

If you're travelling in the Ballarat or Maryborough region it's definitely worth the detour to the small town of Clunes to spend the night here. Booking less than a week before travelling, I hadn't checked any reviews but was so glad I found this hidden gem. The hosts are very welcoming and friendly and I loved the quiet location and beautiful views from both the lounge and dining rooms to the well kept garden. To complete the amazing night spent here was the very fulfilling breakfast of muesli and eggs/bacon served up the next morning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sclev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

What a delightful surprise behind the big old doors that are the entrance to The Dukes B & B. Graeme and June are very accommodating hosts, making sure we were comfortable, well feed and able to ask for any other thing we may have needed. June's pottery is also a wonderful touch and using them when having coffee or at breakfast just enhances an already wonderful personal experience. Thank you very much for a lovely stay at Clunes during the Ceramic Awards 2013.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedBeard63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dukes B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes B&B

Address: 19 Fraser St, Clunes, Victoria 3370, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Clunes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clunes
Price Range: $88 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Dukes B&B Clunes, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing