We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B!”
Review of The Dukes B&B

The Dukes B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clunes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dukes B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Clunes B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We enjoyed a 5 night stay at Dukes B&B while visiting family in Clunes. Graeme & June were perfect hosts - friendly & informative but not intrusive. June's cottage garden has an amazing amount of beautiful plants to discover including a herb & vege garden. One morning just before we left, a huge & stunning Poppy burst into flower (see photo) - it was amazing, I'd never seen one so huge before!
Graeme excels in the kitchen and his famous breakfast is not over the top and filling, but is totally gourmet and to die for! Starting with his home made muesli, baked fruit in syrup and delicious yoghurt followed by the best bacon, eggs, amazing mushrooms in a touch of cream (and/or whatever else you choose from his menu) - along with homemade bread. His coffee is also fantastic!
Dukes is perfectly located and you can walk the length of the main street from the B&B. A great area to explore with some great shops (most only open from Thursday to Sunday though). The local butcher has excellent meats and quality cheeses! A must visit, is the garden & nursery in Ascot!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honeysucklej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

We are a group of "older" couples who spend a weekend together somewhere in country Victoria a few times a year. To find B & B accommodation with 4 double rooms, each with an en suite, is not easy. The Dukes ticked all the boxes for us, plus a few. Graham provided the Value Added for us - Breakfast was plentiful, delicious and all prepared in his kitchen. (He even shared his recipes for his tasty roasted strawberries and pears!). Graham also offered to provide a Gourmet BBQ for us on one of our nights there. It was beyond all expectation - a most generous serving of all kinds of meat and sausages, salads and vegetables. One of our group has serious allergies which Graham kindly considered when serving him. We were most grateful for his offer as there is currently only one night time eatery in Clunes. His wife June's creative touch is evident in the pottery mugs and serving bowls used in the serving of food and coffee, and the delightful cottage garden visible from the many windows in the living areas. We highly recommend this delightful accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was a great place to enjoy a peaceful day out of Melbourne. Clean, comfortable and great hosts. It is worth staying for Graham's home made museli alone, and they do a great hot breakfast as well, with good coffee. We did a lovely walk around Mt Beckworth. It is a shame that businesses in the town seem to be struggling just now. The museum is currently shut but undertaking a large revamp (until Sept 2013 thereabouts), so hopefully this will attract more tourists then.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick-n-Ing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a fabulous place to stay for a weekend in gold country. We were in Clunes for the book fair and Dukes' location in the main street was perfect. Rooms are small but cosy, bathrooms serviceable. The best thing about this B and B are the owners Graham and June who are the perfect hosts. Breakfast was a beautiful home-made muesli with their own poached quinces and eggs any way with tasty mushrooms. Real coffee was the perfect accompaniment. Highly recommended, very good value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed a two night stay at Dukes late January. Graham and June were terrific and attentive hosts. Breakfast - and the cottage garden- outstanding, as has been commented upon by others.
We were the only guests at the time and had sole use of very comfortable facilities in addition to our bedroom with relatively small but quite adequate en-suite.
Clunes has great charm and this accommodation was a true extension of the ambience. Although the Clunes Hotel or other restaurants are not open early week for meals. But we did very well with supplies for local supermarket.
Excellent value and recommended

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We overnighted here while exploring some family history in Clunes. We don't do B&B often but this might change our minds. A great experience, starting with an early check-in at a beautiful old building which was tastefully and interestingly decorated. The room was a good size, air-conditioned with a comfy queen bed. Light filled bathroom with a really good shower, fluffy towels and robes. The hosts, Graham and June were very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. A comfortable lounge area with TV is available for guests and we had free wi fi access.Graham's breakfast was a delight, home made muesli, roasted strawberries, scrambled eggs and bacon and real coffee.
Recommended

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussiguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dukes B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes B&B

Address: 19 Fraser St, Clunes, Victoria 3370, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Clunes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clunes
Price Range: $83 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Dukes B&B Clunes, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing