We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camperdown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Timboon House & Stables
Ranked #1 of 3 Camperdown B&B and Inns
England
Level Contributor
294 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“A real treat”
Reviewed July 21, 2010

A lovely stay here with the charming hosts of the traditional b and b. Lovely old house with loads of history and furnishings to match, beautiful garden and the most hospitable hosts. It's a bit out of town (not a problem) and its not cheap (for UK pockets) but its very good!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

After doing much research, I was please to be referred to the Timboon House by another B & B. My Mother and Aunt were visiting from the US. I booked us for a night at the end of our Great Ocean Road holiday. I wanted them to have an authentic B & B experience, complete with a cooked brekky. I called many B & Bs to find they only served a continental breakfast. What's the point in that?
We had a lovely stay! After settling in, we were provided afternoon tea. The rooms and bathroom were immaculate. The grounds surrounding the house were gorgeous, as were our hosts, John and Denise. We had great convo with them throughout our stay.
John was very helpful in booking us a dinner at the local hotel/pub and providing us with things to do and see in the area and our onward journey. Our breakfast was massive and delicious. Such a lovely experience! I can't wait to return! I'm so glad I stumbled upon this gem.
here's their website http://www.innhouse.com.au/timboonhouse.html

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicariouslythrulisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

My parents were visiting from the UK and we had explored the Great Ocean Road. We used Timboon House as a resting spot on our way back to Melbourne....and what a resting spot it was. From the moment we arrived, both John and Denise made us feel so welcome in what can only be described as a spectacular house.

Their attention to detail made everything that bit more special.....the tea on arrival, the hand made local soaps in the bathroom, the home grown fruit as part of a delicious breakfast. The rooms were very comfortable and the fittings and furnishings just added to the experience of staying in this grand house. We would strongly recommend anyone holidaying or visiting the area to stay at Timboon House.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harry_jd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2010

What better place to make your base for the Crate to Coast rail trail ride! The luxury of soaking in a cast iron bath after the rigours of the track; a sumptuous breakfast to curb the ravenous appetite; charming surrounds and welcoming hosts! What more could one want after a 70 km ride to Timboon and back! Wonderful!

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank trailblazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

A little piece of heaven, even if off the beaten path! We had a beautiful victorian styled room plenty large enough to lounge around, though there is also a cozy lounge (shared) downstairs with a fire. The bed was incredibly plush and comfy, with soft, clean sheets. The bath offers a clawfoot bathtub in a fully renovated bathroom with shower. The room and bathroom both had views of the pristine english rose gardens! Breakfast was delicious and prepared by genuinely friendly hosts with ingredients plucked straight from their home garden (which you can walk out and see). What a fantastic spot to stumble on!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfcoast09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2008

Stumbled across this place on the web (not quite sure how) and it was a find!

We stayed in the Stables Cottage, which was immaculate and very clean and filled with goodies in the fridge. A very nice touch of mince pies greeted us on the kitchen bench.

Both John and Denise were very welcoming hosts and more than happy to give day trip advice.

It was a shame that we only stayed for 2 nights, but there is always another weekend. Its a short drive from the Great Ocean Road and away from the hoads of Lorne.

  • Liked — Character and charm
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATravellerSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2008

We stayed at Timboon House for a girls weekend away as part of our friends Hens Weekend celebrations in Camperdown.

John and Denise’s personal service started the moment we made the booking with a return phone call promising a bottle of champagne to kick the celebrations off and a query as to whether there was anything else we’d like them to arrange for the weekend seeing as this was such a special occasion.

We arrived late on a rainy Friday night and drove out to the property on the outskirts of town following John’s clear instructions. We were completely blown away with the first views of the property – a gorgeous stately bluestone home set amongst manicured English gardens. We parked and John ran out through the rain – at 10.15pm at night (!!) to personally welcome us and show us through the self contained Stables accommodation we had booked at the back. What a credit this is to them both – recently converted (we were guests number 5) the 2 bedroom accommodation is absolutely stunning with a huge bathroom (including shower big enough for two and massive claw foot bath). The kitchen was very well equipped and John and Denise had provided everything we needed to kick the weekend off and then some – the chocolate chip cookies were to die for!

The two bedrooms were beautifully furnished with quality linen, super comfy beds and antiques and we slept like babies! It is just so peaceful out there! One room has twin beds and one has a large antique queen bed. Both bedrooms are quite large with loads of room for unpacking and use of full size wardrobes.

The views from the windows across the paddocks (complete with grazing cows!) to Mount Sugar Loaf and Mount Leura are stunning and there is nothing better than waking to eat breakfast in the combined lounge/dining area (in what was the original main area of the stables ) over looking the row of ancient elms with glimpses of the formal rose gardens.

John and Denise are always unobtrusively available (I am yet to se Inn keepers work harder as they were constantly gardening, sweeping etc) and are so welcoming. John even offered to drive us into town on Saturday night to my girlfriends Hens Dinner party and when we declined (he had a large number of guests arriving and we hated to take him away from the house) he arranged our taxi for us. Both John and Denise made you feel like their only guests every time you spoke with them. They are very proud of the property (as they should be) and were keen to show us wedding photos of events they’d had there. This would absolutely be the perfect place to have a country wedding.

We would certainly recommend this gorgeous place to anyone looking for a high quality place to stay in Camperdown. We can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Antiques, John and Denise, Mr Darcy (their Jack Russell), views, peacefulness.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tandarook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camperdown
9.0 mi away
Heytesbury House
Heytesbury House
#1 of 3 in Cobden
105 reviews
1.2 mi away
Manifold Motor Inn
Manifold Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Camperdown
59 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cascade Motel
Cascade Motel
#2 of 4 in Camperdown
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lakes and Craters Holiday Park
1.7 mi away
The Camperdown Mill
The Camperdown Mill
#1 of 3 in Camperdown
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timboon House & Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timboon House & Stables

Property: Timboon House & Stables
Address: 320 Old Geelong Road, Camperdown, Victoria 3260, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Camperdown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Camperdown
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Timboon House & Stables Camperdown, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing