We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely escape.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buchan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buchan Valley Log Cabins
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A lovely escape.”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We couldn't find out much info about this place and seeing the picture of a kids climbing frame made us think of a big complex with a large number of cabins and kids running riot. We couldn't have been more wrong. There are only a handful of cabins - 4 or 5 maybe - and total calm and quiet.

I understand they are planning some cottages for couples which would be perfect as the extra bedroom was extravagant and the decor really family orientated. That said the moment we arrived my partner tried to book us in for an extra night but sadly they were fully booked.

And all 5 mins walk from the pub. Perfect for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Englishtraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie W, Owner at Buchan Valley Log Cabins, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. Hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Extremely disappointed. We have stayed there a few yeas ago and were very happy.
We arrived and the first thing we noticed was that in the main room the sheets were not changed. The pillows had hair on them. There was no smoke alarm. We did ask to fix that. It took a long time. (just to clarify we were the only people there on that night). The place was dirty. It looked like it had not been properly cleaned for a long time. (superficial yes, carpet was vacuumed but everything that required a bit more work was filthy the dust had been build up for a very long time). We were travelling for a few weeks this was by far the worst accommodation we have stayed. What a shame because the log cabin look beautiful and the scenery is fantastic all it needed was a bit more upkeep. I would NOT rate it 3 Stars nor would I recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kati E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie W, Owner at Buchan Valley Log Cabins, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
So sorry you didnt enjoy your 3 night stay here. Wish you had of said something to us when you were here. You might like to come back and see the changes we have made in the last 12 months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our two bedroom cabin (could sleep 6) was spacious with views over the valley. It was well-equipped and even had a washing machine. We could have eaten outside on the deck if it hadn’t been so hot on the evening we were there. The sunset was beautiful though. We did have some difficulty getting the drawpull curtains to work, and there were some dead flies on the window sills which were a bit of a put-off, otherwise it was brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Amazingly spacious and well equipped, very clean. Having the campfire pit outside the cabin was a real bonus for our two teens and made for a fun BBQ one night. Great base to explore the local area. Cabins are well seperated.

Room Tip: Not all firepits have have a BBQ plate so you might need to ask if this is important for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaT0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gippsland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Thankyou so much to our hosts who went out of their way to help us when our van broke down! This is a beautiful spot with views that take your breath away. Waking up to the mist clearing is an image I will not forget. Our 7 yr old twins loved it. Pretty hilly for bike riding but plenty of spots nearby. The caves are a must as is a relaxing drink at the pub where again the hospitality was excellent. The accomodation was clean and everything was well organized down to the free videos for the kids and adults for the cool mornings and evenings as well as marshmallows for the fires. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellarGippsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This was our last stop on a 2 week driving trip. We spent two nights here, visiting the caves on our day in Buchan. The log cabins are beautifully situated on a hillside with camp fires, BBQ area and playground for the kids. They are spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Our kids (5 and 3) loved the bunk beds and wished for a couple of friends to sleep on the top beds. There is a great collection of old videos in reception from which we enjoyed watching the Man from Snowy River given our setting. The pub in town does a good counter meal too. A very peaceful and scenic spot; the campground at the caves was much busier!

Room Tip: We had the cabin nearest/behind reception which was actually at the end of the drive and hence no pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Buchan Valley Log Cabins are a set of self-contained and free-standing buildings offering privacy and serenity close to the famous Bucgan Caves and a handy starting point for the wonderful Snowy Mountains road climbing up to Jindabyne.
We bought supplies at the general store and had a lovely picnic on the large verandah deck.
There are full cooking facilities and we could have cooked breakfast but we settled for coffee.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buchan Valley Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchan Valley Log Cabins

Property: Buchan Valley Log Cabins
Address: 16 Gelantipy Road | P.O. Box 37, Buchan, Victoria 3885, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Buchan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Buchan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 4 x 2 bedroom self contained log cabins each with their own outdoor campfire. We also have 4 new , one bedroom riverview cottages. Echo Ridge is our Couples only spa cabin with pool table. "Matildas Cottage" is our latest accommodation. Fully self contained, 3 bedrooms (sleeps 8) clawfoot bath. Each of these cabins and cottages have their own privacy and are set amongst 20 picturesque acres. 1 Min drive or 10 min walk to caves. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing