We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long hair everywhere!”
Review of Motel Maroondah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel Maroondah
Ranked #1 of 1 Box Hill B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The rooms were tiny and the showers were very small. The motel did not meet any basic standards, as we found long black hair in the bathroom and the rooms hat a strong smell. We only stayed for a single night, but we already had paid for 2 nights. We tried to contact the booking agency, in this case hotels.com, which was very hard to contact and of course we did not get a refund for the second night. The motel is the worst we stayed in and we had traveled for 3 month across Europe last year.It is a place you have to see to believe how bad it is and I suggest that hotels.com is not a reliable booking agency.

Room Tip: Find something else, but book early!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Duststorm200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Motel Maroondah
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 44 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

my partner and I booked the closest hotel to the hospital as he was being admitted for surgery and while I wasn't expecting luxury accommodation for $105 a night I was at least expected LIGHT BULBS! there was absolutely no working light in any of the rooms and the so called 'air-conditioning' blew out hot air, which on a 35degree day made the room sickeningly hot

please DO NOT stay here! for an extra $10 we booked in at the best western tudor down the road which was miles ahead of this dump in every regard.. the manager wouldn't give us our money back for the night but you couldn't have paid me to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kdear88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I thought I knew exactly what I was getting into when I booked and made jokes about dodgy bros motels. I booked becuase it was 5 mins away from where I needed to be for a family funeral and it had a two room appartment and they gave me a late checkout for free. I was greeted by the staff by name on arrival and Peter couldn't have been more accomodating. However, the place is very old and delapadated - probably slightly worse than I expected. The areas I could see were reasonably clean BUT the areas behind and under furniture were severly lacking a good clean. Beside the bedside table the dust bunnies were the size of real rabbits, though the linen was freshly laundered, the TV remote was missing. I probably in all honesty wouldn't book there again and couldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aussiechick3564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Dirty... smelly,.. high step into the room...Mould on the bathroom windows, not good for my asthma...would not recommend this to anyone, As the other reviewer said BULL DOZER IS REQUIRED. I chose this as I had a person in Box Hill Hospital and chose location,

Room Tip: Always check reviews on Tripadvisor..
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank truscott28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I booked this room for friends staying from interstate. They found a Redback spider in the bed and one in the shower. Now I know why this was one of the only rooms available on Grand Prix weekend - totally not worth it.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank RubyTuesday643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

booked this on webjet, first impressions bad...and it was downhill from there,,,,spent 10 minutes sitting on the bed,,,ugh....I use the term loosely.....I have standards...I some times lower them in 3rd world countries..........left after the 10 mins.....disgusted

Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
4  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I had no trouble breathing and the room didn't smell musty but the motel is certainly showing both its age and a certain lack of maintenance. The rust stain from the dripping tap in the cracked plastic bathroom basin and the, um, interesting stains on the relatively new carpet tend to indicate that the owners are not as keen on upkeep as they once were. The drapes don't quite work, what I guess was a hairdryer has been cut from the wall and the wires left hanging and it's the only motel I have ever stayed in that didn't have a bedside clock.

But, having said all that, the sheets were clean and the shower and toilet work. It is close to public transport, great restaurants, two hospitals and a huge technical college. I'm told that if you book direct it is cheaper than going through one of the online booking services and that if you're in the area because of the hospitals then a further discount may apply.

Room Tip: Maroondah Highway is right out the front so a rear room may be good.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hzbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Box Hill
0.3 mi away
Quest Mont Albert
Quest Mont Albert
#1 of 2 in Box Hill
355 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Forest Hill
114 reviews
2.4 mi away
Punthill Burwood
Punthill Burwood
#1 of 3 in Burwood
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Tudor-Box Hill
0.0 mi away
Whitehorse Apartments Hotel
0.6 mi away
City Edge Box Hill Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Maroondah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Maroondah

Address: 768 Whitehorse Road, Box Hill, Whitehorse, Victoria 3128, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Whitehorse > Box Hill
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Box Hill
Price Range: $72 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel Maroondah 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel Maroondah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Maroondah Box Hill, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing