We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neither a hit or a miss”
Review of EightyOne

EightyOne
Ranked #20 of 92 Restaurants in Berwick
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Neither a hit or a miss”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

The food was pretty average and the restaurant surroundings were ok, even though we were in the loft! Would have much preferred to be in the bar downstairs, it was a lot more welcoming.

Helpful?
Thank BevFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    21
    19
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best in the area - Could be more consistent”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We come here about 4 times per year and have been pretty happy every time. Price wise, closer to the city you will get better value for money but in Berwick, nothing beats it for quality of food, portion size and cost. The atmosphere is usually pretty good, it has an upmarket funky and warm bar feel out the front and more formal restuarant out the back. 90% of the time the staff have been good but every now and then things have taken a little too long, mostly when it comes to offering more drinks, clearing the plates etc.
We'll continue coming back, only wish there were more similar places around to mix it up a little and create some healthy competition in the area.
They offer wine specials pretty regularly and have a good range of beer and tapas.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I had our anniversary dinner here, it was wonderful. We only had a small hiccup there was a hens party near us. We where advised of this and the staff tried to find another table but where booked out as Saturday night. Food was brilliant. We Had tapas to start in the front bar and a wonderful steak for main it was cooked perfectly medium rare. It melted in my mouth! For dessert i had the flower pot and my husband had the banana split. The flower pot was good, but the banana split was awesome! The staff where friendly and professional. We really enjoyed it. Have recommended to our friends to go. Will def be back! Great work eighty one!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaPanda82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Australia
2 reviews
“poor effort”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

booked restaurant for friday lunch 21st Dec 2012 for 3 waited at reception for 10 mins before anyone came Greeted as Darls then along discussion between staff as to where we were to be seated waited 15 mins for drinks 1 wine list between 3 people finally we waited 24 mins later for menu staff could not make up mind whether the menu printed on wall was going to be available
all in all a very poor effort this would have to be the worst restaurant we have been to. Period

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank turtlecaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheelers Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Extras $$$”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

So you go for a meal, this place has some rep, it's in a goo location, you go with friends.

The place is nice, pub or restaurant atmosphere depending where you sit. Very cozy, well presented.

The service was good although they forgot one of our friends mains, and delivered it v late. The food was well prepared and tastie.


My only concern was that everything was 'extra' . Extra for chips, extra for salad, extra for anything else other than the piece of fish.

2 entres, 4 mains several 'extras', 2 deserts, couple beers and wines and a couple of coffees - $300. Let you make up your own mind.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimandVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EightyOne also viewed

Beaconsfield, Greater Melbourne
 
Berwick, Greater Melbourne
Berwick, Greater Melbourne
 

Been to EightyOne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing