We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Puffing Billy Railway
from $137.26
More Info
from $228.04
More Info
Reviews (1,824)
Filter reviews
1,824 results
Traveler rating
1,123
522
128
32
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,123
522
128
32
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam train train ride belgrave station return journey trestle bridge scones lakeside carriage volunteers engine scenery melbourne coal victoria
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 1,824 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

We rode the puffing billy from Belgrave to lakeside the trip was a good length for 4 kids 2-8 years of age, lakeside park was nice enough but could really do with a couple more playgrounds.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank kparsons1485
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffing Billy R, Marketing Executive at Puffing Billy Railway, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2019

Thanks for travelling to Lakeside Station with your family. It sounds like you had a great time travelling with us.

Keep an eye out for our Discovery Centre Building which will be open to the public Dec 2020 - offering more experiences for families and Puffing Billy visitors to Lakeside Station.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
The team at Puffing Billy Railway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019 via mobile

We took the metro service to Belgrave - great way to get to a traditional rail trip - should have left a little earlier so we had the whole day. Big family day as it was the weekend but all credit to the volunteers who bring this great opportunity to everyone. Trainspotters delight!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank febee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffing Billy R, Marketing Executive at Puffing Billy Railway, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time travelling onboard Puffing Billy and we look forward to welcoming you back to the railway again soon.

Kind regards,
The team at Puffing Billy Railway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019 via mobile

Felt like we were on the train to Hogwarts! We took a trip on Puffing Billy from Belgrave all the way to Gembrook and back again. The views were incredible from both sides. Loved every minute. Would love to do it again and stop at Lakeside instead! Well worth the trip!!!

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank humminglibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffing Billy R, Marketing Executive at Puffing Billy Railway, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2019

Thanks for visiting us! It sounds like you had a great time travelling on Puffing Billy (shh... the secret is out - we are the little brother of the Hogwarts Express!)

We are excited to welcome you back to the railway again soon, experiencing another adventure at Lakeside Station.

Kind regards, the team at Puffing Billy Railway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2019

The Puffing Billy Steam train can be described with many adjectives...unique, historical, fun, educational, scenic, beautiful, family oriented, and many more.
The train ride takes you through 5 or more stops including one where they divide the train into two trains so that they can make it up the steepest part of the mountains outside of Melbourne. It is about a 45 minute to 1 hour drive out of the city up in the mountains.
The conductors and all of the train employees were very friendly and entertaining.
The history of the train is very interesting and the ride is so unique with scenery that cannot be seen any other way. The ride was very enjoyable.
It doesn't't matter whether you are alone, with a date or with your whole family - it is appropriate and entertaining for all.
I would say that if you don't visit Puffing Billy while in Melbourne, you have missed out...it is definitely a must-see!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank FrankD895
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffing Billy R, Marketing Executive at Puffing Billy Railway, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2019

Thanks for visiting Puffing Billy Frank. It sounds like a great addition to your Melbourne itinerary and we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your train trip.

We'll be sure to pass on your positive feedback to our supportive team of volunteers and we look forward to welcoming yourself, friends and family back to the railway again soon.

Kind regards,
The Puffing Billy Railway team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2019

20/08/19

It was our first time as whole family to experience this train ride. The tour was great, but the conductors are so rude to us. We can’t fit in one of the carriages so we kindly asked then if we can transfer to another carriage. Then the conductor said no. So we tried to squeeze in. After 10 minutes, new customers came and the conductors let them in another carriage. We asked if we can transfer because we have a senior citizen with us. But they were so rude and told us to stay and gave a bad stare.

What kind of customer service is this?! The worst experience ever.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffing Billy R, Marketing Executive at Puffing Billy Railway, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2019

Hi Frances,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback.

We would like to learn more about the negative experience you have encountered during the recent visit to Puffing Billy. Please, can you email us at puffing.billy@pbr.org.au for our team to further investigate?

Kind regards, the team at Puffing Billy Railway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews