We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good half day.”

Puffing Billy Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
$128.52*
and up
Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Belgrave
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: PUFFING BILLY OPERATES DAILY EXCEPT CHRISTMAS DAY. Puffing Billy is Australia’s favorite steam train and one of the finest preserved steam railways in the world. This century-old steam train continues to run on its original mountain track from Belgrave to Gembrook in the magnificent Dandenong Ranges 40kms east of Melbourne. Puffing Billy was built to serve at the turn of the century and is a genuine relic of our more leisurely days. The Railway is the major survivor of four experimental lines used to develop rural areas in the early 1900s. Puffing Billy Railway is now a major tourist attraction and operates every day except Christmas Day, thanks to the tireless efforts of more than 900 dedicated volunteers.
Cairns Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good half day.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I did the 'Best Tours" half day Puffing Billy to Belgrave and the Dandenongs as I wanted time in the city in the afternoon. After boarding at Belgrave we had a half hour on the train (3.75 klm) on the train then the bus to Sassafras before returning by coach to the city. A nice relaxing morning.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisinCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuffingBillyR, Marketing Executive at Puffing Billy Railway, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hi ChrisinCairns,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your half day tour to our region, and loved seeing your great photos as well!

Kind regards from the Puffing Billy team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    793
    349
    78
    20
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY THE BEST DAY OUT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

The trip on Puffing Billy is always our family's BEST DAY OUT. This latest visit was no different. If all our family members each had a vote they all would VOTE ONE for a day out on PUFFING BILLY.

We've been going for many years and try to get there at least once or twice a year. It is a wonderful experience and a great family outing. The train trip climbing up through the hills is a lot of fun. Even when the weather is freezing cold we still have lots of fun. We usually have a BBQ up at Lakeside or otherwise go all the way through to Gembrook. All the volunteers are so friendly and helpful - they make the journey so memorable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rhubarb_Pie_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuffingBillyR, Marketing Executive at Puffing Billy Railway, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hi Rhubarb_Pie_Tan,

Good to hear that you had a lovely time at Puffing Billy this time around as well. We're delighted to hear that you return to visit us on a regular basis. Visiting in winter does indeed have its own charm!

Kind regards from the Puffing Billy team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loved it, great day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We caught the train from the CBD to Belgrave to go on Puffing Billy. As the train was full due to large tour groups they weren't sure if we would fit on the 1030am train and therefore offered us a spot on a train at 1110am if required. Thankfully we were able to get on the earlier train. Staff were very friendly allowing us a trip to Menzies creek in the first class lounge (as the other areas were full). We had a small stroller and it was easy for us but larger strollers wouldn't fit in the carriage doors and caused issues for others. We went to Lakeside, the whole trip taking 1 hour. At Menzies creek and Emerald the train stops briefly, there is a souvenir shop and takeaway outlets at each stop and prices were reasonable. At Lakeside we stopped and had lunch in the park. A beautiful spot to stop, with a playground, a chance to feed the ducks at the lake, in summer a chance to swim at the pool, walking tracks, paddle boats and a café for lunch. A truly lovely spot. The scenery is beautiful and we enjoyed our trip on Puffing Billy. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuffingBillyR, Marketing Executive at Puffing Billy Railway, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hi Danielle M,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourself at Puffing Billy!

Kind regards from the team at Puffing Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
182 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Perfect day excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Taking a steam locomotive is a really relaxing ride as the train goes very slow. We took from Belgrave to Gembrook. The whole journey started at 10:30am and we only returned at 4:50pm due to some delay. So my advice to those who needs their trip to end on time should schedule this trip on another day.

The stopover at Lakeside was so so as you get about 30 mins if you take the train that departs at 10:30am. At Gembrook, there are only a couple of eating places and a grocery store, so having 1.75hrs break is quite generous as we spent lots of time waiting.

Overall, it was fun as the train conductors are friendly and allowed passengers to sit on the rail and to stick out our heads for a better view. Hurray to all the volunteers who work to make our puffy billy train ride a memorable one.

Helpful?
Thank joltt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Awesome Steamy Day Out.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Heard a lot about it and it was a must do in our list. Super friendly staff and they are really into their work. The kids loved it as you are actually able to sit on the so call window pane and lets loose your legs. Very scenic.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FranXav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puffing Billy Railway also viewed

Dandenong, Greater Melbourne
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Puffing Billy Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing