We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unique experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puffing Billy Railway

Puffing Billy Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
$96.04*
and up
Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Belgrave
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: PUFFING BILLY OPERATES DAILY EXCEPT CHRISTMAS DAY. Puffing Billy is Australia’s favorite steam train and one of the finest preserved steam railways in the world. This century-old steam train continues to run on its original mountain track from Belgrave to Gembrook in the magnificent Dandenong Ranges 40kms east of Melbourne. Puffing Billy was built to serve at the turn of the century and is a genuine relic of our more leisurely days. The Railway is the major survivor of four experimental lines used to develop rural areas in the early 1900s. Puffing Billy Railway is now a major tourist attraction and operates every day except Christmas Day, thanks to the tireless efforts of more than 900 dedicated volunteers.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An unique experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

The puffing billy steam train offers an unique train experience. The sound of the whistle, the steam emitting from the train, the open carriages, etc. all these brings us a century back in time. The kids love to sit of the ledge with their feet sticking out of the carriage.
The rolling hills of the Yarra Valley can be seen throughout the train ride. The entire ride is comfortable.
I must salute the enthusiastic volunteers who helped to run this non-profit operation. Their love for the heritage is truly commendable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank keeny_sgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    775
    341
    75
    19
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A beautiful day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Puffing Billy is a beautiful family day.
The trip through the Dandenong Ranges is very picturesque.
The stop at the Emerald Lakeside is full of adventure with a great playground or take a paddleboat on the Lake.
A must for a stay in Melbourne/Victoria.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Steam and Cuisine Luncheon Train - World Class”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

As a native of Melbourne, I needed to travel to Wales to experience its world-famous "slate", narrow-gauge, steam-hauled railways in order to appreciate our own Puffing Billy Railway, otherwise known as the Emerald Tourist Railway. I have always suspected that our beautifully polished steam locomotives, friendly staff and stunning forest scenery were world-class. Now I am convinced, without a hint of bias, that the trip from Belgrave to Emerald Lakeside should be on every train-lover's bucket list. Passengers, young and old, love this fun train whatever the weather.
We were given a voucher for the Steam and Cuisine Luncheon Train which afforded us a table in a First Class Dining Car and a pre-ordered three-course hot or cold lunch. We chose a bottle of wine at reasonable extra cost and enjoyed the attentive, personal service of our on-board hostess. Given the obvious limitations of an historic steam train with ancient suspension on a rustic track, we thoroughly enjoyed our meal selection, followed by tea and coffee.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DaiWynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Puff Puff Old Billy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

nothing that I disliked, the ride was FUNtastic, the train made few stops enabling me to enjoy the fresh air and the greens around. souvenirs shops along the way, can just browsing or buy an item or two to take home

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank IpohZai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery in Aussie countryside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Puffing billy dining experience included nice food and viewing of the country side in warmth and comfort. Shame alcohol was included in the price. A unique experience close to home. Next time can't wait to experience in an open carriage

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puffing Billy Railway also viewed

Dandenong, Greater Melbourne
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Puffing Billy Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing