We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun, fun, fun day out”

Puffing Billy Railway
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$84.54*
and up
Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Belgrave
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: PUFFING BILLY OPERATES DAILY EXCEPT CHRISTMAS DAY. Puffing Billy is Australia’s favorite steam train and one of the finest preserved steam railways in the world. This century-old steam train continues to run on its original mountain track from Belgrave to Gembrook in the magnificent Dandenong Ranges 40kms east of Melbourne. Puffing Billy was built to serve at the turn of the century and is a genuine relic of our more leisurely days. The Railway is the major survivor of four experimental lines used to develop rural areas in the early 1900s. Puffing Billy Railway is now a major tourist attraction and operates every day except Christmas Day, thanks to the tireless efforts of more than 900 dedicated volunteers.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A fun, fun, fun day out”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a bundle of fun for our trip on the railway. We took the trip to lakeside. The volunteer staff were amazingly helpful. They helped us find seats and gave us plenty of information about the trains, carriages and scenery. We loved being able to dangle our feet out the windows. We even saw an echidna browsing alongside the track! Though it was a total fire ban day and we had the diesel locomotive - it was still a great day out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    815
    358
    78
    21
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tarneit, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“A great day out for the family”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I would highly recommend a trip on the old Puffing Billy. We travelled from Belgrave to Emerald Lakes.

I would suggest that you get there early for the 10.30am departure as it was quite busy and the ticket office had a queue and I was jumping from one foot to the other in the hope of not missing the train.

The girls could sit on the side and dangle their feet on the outside of the train, great fun when you are going over the bridge!

We stopped off at Menzies Creek and again at Emerald until eventually we arrived at the Lakes Park. There is an outdoor swimming pool, lake with pedallo's, cafe with hot/cold food, ice cream and tea's/coffee's etc.

After we had a picnic we had a walk and saw a Kookaburra and then got back on the train for the journey back to Belgrave.

All the staff were lovely, polite and very helpful.

Puffing Billy also caters for the disabled which I noted which was fantastic.

If you love Steam Engines, you must travel on Puffing Billy.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MummyDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An experience you wont forget!!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This ride is A-Must-Do!!. I love that we are allowed to sit on the edge and dangle your legs out of the window. Makes me feel like a kid again. Scenery along the journey is lovely. Both sides give you different scenes. One side will be full of variety of trees and the other will be fields and plains. There will be several "ooos" and "ahhhhhs" moment. Along the journey you will have people waving to you eg cars passengers when they stop for the train to pass by or when you approach or leave a train stop, other passengers on the platform will just wave to you. The atmosphere of being in such friendly environment is simply amazing. Certainly something I wont forget

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AverySims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dinner, Dance & a Train Ride”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We received a lovely voucher from our family to enjoy an evening on Puffing Billy, which included dinner. We had been on the Melbourne Dinner Tram so thought it would be similar. We were a little surprised that the actual "eating" was done in a barn with only Soup as starters being offered on the train. But it probably work out better as there is very limited room on the train to have an actual meal.
Dinner was a buffet, Meat, veg & some salads. Nothing to really be to excited over, its not a 5* restaurant it is really the experience of the night that is on offer.

There was a roaring fireplace which added to the wonderful atmosphere and live (one man band & DJ) music.

What I will say: is that this is an experience dinner and it is best to go with a group of people to enjoy the whole experience. No romantic dinner for 2 here:(as my husband thought!) Young people (like us!) will enjoy; but most music was from the 60's (I found my thrill on blueberry hill..... seem to be the favorite of the night as most got up to have a spin on the floor & it was played about 3 times!) We all sat on table of around 10 or more and the music was pumping as much as the heat from the fireplace.

It got a little rowdy towards the end with people enjoying their drinks- nothing too outrageous but definitely boisterous for an older crowd. It made for an interesting trip back on the old steam train with only 1 bathroom break. I've never seen so many oldies run so fast.

It was a great night out, worth it yes. But next time we'll go with some mates to make the evening more enjoyable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RobTar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuffingBillyR, Marketing Assistant at Puffing Billy Railway, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear RobTar,

Thank you for your review about the Dinner & Dance Train. We are glad to hear that you think it was a great night out and that you enjoyed the atmosphere.
The Dinner & Dance Train is very popular with groups, whether it's a birthday party or corporate function. That said, quite e few couples travel as well - some of which have even gotten engaged during the course of the night!
The main and dessert are indeed served in the Nobelius Packing Shed. This is to give the patrons the chance to listen to the live music, sing along and even have a dance or two. It also gives them the chance to experience the Nobelius Packing Shed which was used for packing goods before loading them up on Puffing Billy back in the early 1900s when Puffing Billy hauled goods as well as passengers.

Your comment about the music is duly noted and will be passed on to our entertainer.

Kind regards from the Puffing Billy team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great fun”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Like going back in time, great scenery and fun. The kids will love it. Have picnic at the end in the dandenongs

Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puffing Billy Railway also viewed

Dandenong, Greater Melbourne
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Puffing Billy Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing