We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed here for one night with my partner as part of our drive from Melbourne to Sydney. It was a perfect choice for a stop over. The motel room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. There was free wireless internet which was handy. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful and happy to have a chat about what to do/see in Beechworth (the nice chap also gave us vouchers for coffee at the excellent Beechworth Bakery).

Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank stewartmck77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeastvic, Manager at Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Hello Stewart

Thank you for your feedback about the motel and we appreciate your kind words about the quality that we deliver to our guests. As a BEST WESTERN hotel we must maintain a quality of standard that is expected from us by all of our guests from around the country, along with complimentary internet and 4 star rating from AAATourism we beleive our guests are getting value for money.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you enjoyed your complimentary coffee vouchers from the Beechworth Bakery and we look forward seeing you both again in future.

Kind Regards
Robert & Jenelle Ransom
BEST WESTERN Beechworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 154 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here for for 1 night, lovely renovated motel with tastefully refurbished rooms, spotlessly clean, free internet, very friendly owners and a 10/15 minute stroll into town. Great for working up an appetite for some of the great eateries!! Would definately stay here again when needs be.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeastvic, Manager at Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

On behalf of the staff here at BEST WESTERN Beechworth we would like to thank you for your kind words about our motel and we`re so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward seeing you again next time you visit Beechworth on business. The renovation of the motel has given us enormoius praise around town and from guests. Safe Travelling.

Kind Regards
Robert & Jenelle Ransom
BEST WESTERN Beechworh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights on a driving tour. We looked up TA before booking the motel.

The motel is small and comfy. The parking provided is more than adequate, even though I can be fussy with our car like reviewer ants79. We drive a Ford Territory and had no problems parking in the space provided without crowding another car.

The owners were away and we dealt with their relief operators who were friendly and helpful, although I suspect the cat was missing its "parents".

The room was clean and tidy as was the bathroom. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. At a cost of $139 per night it was, perhaps, a tad expensive for a small country town. There were, however, several events on in the town and accommodation was tight.

The downside of this motel, for us, was its location which requires one to drive into the town proper to eat. We had tried to book something closer to town, but, because of the events, there was none available. As temperatures overnight were in the single digits during our stay, the idea of a brisk 20 minute walk into town, in the dark, with no footpath, was not an option.

The only "fault" that we found was that the water temperature of the shower (unit 2) waxed and waned a bit and it was not possible to maintain the shower at a constant temperature, even for a short time.

Room Tip: If you don't mind driving into town for a feed, then this motel is quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brad2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeastvic, Manager at Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Hello Brad & Joanne

Thank you for your review while we were away on a break. Even moteliers need a break as you can imagine. We`re glad you enjoyed your stay here at BEST WESTERN Beechworth and Mao the cat sends his regards to everyone who knows him. He is becoming famous to our guests now and when people return to our motel again and again, the first question people ask is "How`s the cat".
With respect to the distance from the centre of town we always say on all of our websites we are 1km from the centre of town, along with a sealed pathway all the way into town which has been there now for over 6 years. Beechworth is well known as a destination along with the quality of some accommodation comes a good price as we all know while travelling, which is a good thing, guaranteeing the quality for you the guest. Thank you again for supporting our brand.

Kind Regards
Robert & Jenelle Ransom
BEST WESTERN Beechworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

A big welcome to my fans to my latest review. This review is on the Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn. I actually stayed at this fine establishment back in 2006, although i didn't write a review.

As my loyal fans know, my main concern when booking accomodation (much to my wifes frustration) is the safety and comfort of my vehicle. I had a rough recollection of the carparking situation from my previous stay, and recalled it being satisfactory but not ideal. My research on other accomodation in Beechworth showed that most places were pretty similar. Parking is directly outside of the room, there are two spots seperated by a garden. The roofline of the building extends out about half a car length, so either the front or rear half of your car will be undercover (and you'll get a drip line from condensation off the gutter if it's a cold night). The width is quite ample, unless the person using the other half of the area is a typical poor parker which i'll get to in a minute. I kicked the wife out of the car then parked mere milimetres from the garden, leaving plenty of room to swing the drivers door open and for the user of the other spot to manhandle luggage, children, wheelchairs, bikes, forklifts, whatever they need to do without encroaching on the space around my vehicle. Unfortunately on this stay, the user of the other spot was a dirty old diesel peugot with not a single straight panel and a bike rack, the kind of combination that nightmares are made of. Thankfully, no damage was done to my vehicle, although they did go out at one stage, and when they returned, as most cretins do, they didn't park as close to the garden on their side, no, they parked in the middle of the available area. Anyway, it's luck of the draw i guess. I reversed into the spot, due to the position of the garden, and to make it easier to unload/load luggage. I was the only one to do so, there was no sign forbidding it, not sure if it's frowned upon due to noise and fumes. The french tractor next door made more noise and stink than i did anyway and it was facing the other way. Only other car issue was the establishments cat. I noted on arrival that it promptly inspected my vehicle, this was cause for concern as i was worried about it being a cold night and my car being warm, that it might spend the night on my bonnet scratching my duco. Thankfully it didn't, it was pretty fat, so maybe it can't jump.

Room was clean, smelt ok, typical motor inn. Bed was comfy, brought our own pillows so can't comment on them. Bathroom was fine, clean and modern, toilet was missing the door, not sure what that was about, but made for a less efficient ablution routine in the morning due to my wife and i being too modest to drop the Cosby kids off at the pool while the other showered.

TV was ok. Watched the last half of the footy on returning after dinner. Go Cats!

Owner was very friendly and helpful, enjoyed a chat and offered advice on the best route for the way home (ie. what section of the Great Alpine Road to avoid due to roadworks), and where to eat. We took his suggestion for indian which was great (and the only place we could find that wasn't booked out).

It was a clear night so we walked into town which was a pleasant 15-20 minute stroll.

Room cost $175 p/night which i thought was a bit steep (plus the anal reaming from the credit card surcharge). I cashed in some flybuys for a Best Western voucher some three weeks prior, which i thought would make the cost more reasonable. But, as is always the way, it didn't arrive in time, and came in the mail on the Monday after the night we stayed. So that was frustrating, but a good excuse to get away again soon (we'll just be locked into staying at a Best Western).

So to summarise, it was a great stay, would definately stay here again. But be warned, the welfare of your vehicle is at the discretion of your neighbour.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ants79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeastvic, Manager at Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Hello Ant79
Its always a shame that customers don`t reveal their name so we can see where they stayed within the motel and if they actually stayed, but welcome to the anonymous world we now live in.
Well I have to say that is the largest feedback we have ever had and after eventually finishing reading it we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay here at the motel. Your feedback is very important to us for future development of the motel. When it comes to car parking this is completely out of our control how people park however if we see that a car has parked in correctly we will ask the owner to move the car over. By the way our beautiful cat is not allowed outside at night so sleeping on cars never happens here. Again thank you for you feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future at BEST WESTERN Beechworth.

Kind Regards
Robert & Jenelle Ransom
BEST WESTERN Beechworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is an old style motel that has recently been updated. New decor is quite tastefully done and functional, but (as is typical with these types of places) a little cheap. However if your after a place thats close to town (its about a 1klm work into town) that has a good pool, BBQ facilities, modern faciltiies, good bed etc then you will be happy with this place. Its not 5 stars, but its pretty good for country motel living.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toppee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeastvic, Manager at Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hello Toppee,
Thank you for your feedback on our motel. We appreciate that you enjoyed your stay here at BEST WESTERN Beechworth and look forward to your return in the near future. On your return you will notice even more changes that we have planned over the coming months which will hold us in good stead as a quality 4 star BEST WESTERN property.

KInd Regards
Robert & Jenelle Ransom
BEST WESTERN Beechworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I recently stayed 2 nights in this motel, and found it very pleasant. The rooms are modern, clean and very comfortable. The selection of teas and plunger coffee is a very nice touch. The day I arrived was 30+ degrees, and the pool is a very nice way to cool off. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3193Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeastvic, Manager at Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Hello Caroline,
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We`re both thrilled that you enjoyed our new facilities here at the motel and yes it does get rather warm here over summer. Our 4 star rating from AAATourism guarantees that our customers are getting what their paying for and with this in mind hope you will come back and see us again soon.
If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 03 5728 1301.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Robert & Jenelle Ransom
Proprietor
BEST WESTERN Beechworth Motor Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The website says the Motel is within walking distance of Beechworth, it is, but only for those who like a 15 - 20 minute walk. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom recently renovated and very clean. Woken around 7:30am two mornings in a row to workmen drilling and hammering outside the unit as repairs were underway to the exterior of the units. The tea, coffee and sugar was barely replenished in the mornings, and the room that we had needed a coffee table.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeastvic, Manager at Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Hello Pat,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We will also take up your issue with housekeeping in a way to improve our service even more. During the 4 days that you were here we had an electrical issue which for safety reasons needed urgent attention. We apologise for any inconvenience and we hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 03 5728 1301.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Robert & Jenelle Ransom
Proprietor
BEST WESTERN Beechworth Motor Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
1.4 mi away
The George Kerferd
The George Kerferd
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
394 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#2 of 6 in Beechworth
370 reviews
0.8 mi away
Armour Motor Inn
Armour Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Heritage Motor Inn & Cottages
0.6 mi away
Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
1 mi away
Albertines Beechworth
Albertines Beechworth
#1 of 14 in Beechworth
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn

Address: 54 Sydney Rd, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Price Range: $103 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Beechworth, the smallest Best Western property in the world, (only 10 rooms) now fully refurbished. This "Star Rated" 4-star Beechworth Motel has centrally located accommodation and guests staying at our motel will be near Beechworth's unique galleries, picturesque Lake Sambell, Murray to Mountains Railtrail and over twenty wineries. Guests staying at BEST WESTERN Beechworth can either receive Qantas Frequent Flyer Points or Best Western Rewards Points with every stay by booking directly with the motel. The BEST WESTERN Beechworth Motor Inn lies in the historic Australian township of Beechworth in north east Victoria. The motel was the first motel built in Beechworth and is the only fully refurbished and renovated motel in Beechworth showcasing a fresh look to meet modern standards. The motel is located close to the magnificent National Trust buildings, the cultural precinct and next door to the Beechworth Hospital on Sydney road. The BEST WESTERN Beechworth Motor Inn is close to a variety of other local attractions and activities including breweries, museums, restaurants, guided tours and ghost tours. Beechworth hosts several festivals including Opera in the Alps in January, Beechworth Harvest Celebration in May, Drive Back in Time in May, Ned Kelly Weekend in August , Beechworth Celtic Festival in November and Easter's Golden Horseshoes Festival commemorating Daniel Cameron's historic horse ride in 1855 on golden horseshoes. The BEST WESTERN Beechworth Motor Inn helps support historic tourism in the township with special packages that promote ghost tours, tours of the old gaol, and winery and restaurant meals. At the 2014 Best Western National Convention held in Hobart, the property was awarded the Highest Customer Care Score awarded by their guests. The motel was also awarded for the seventh (7th) consecutive year the Best Western Awards for Excellence in Quality, Standards and Service. The motel has also received in two consecutive years the Tripadvisor "Certificate of Excellence" award. At the 2012 National Convention, held in Fiji, the property was the proud winner of the coveted "Presidents Award". For personal and professional service and an ideal location for your Beechworth accommodation, make a reservation at BEST WESTERN Beechworth Motor Inn today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing