We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful weekend away”
Review of Lakeside Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beechworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeside Chalet
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Peaceful weekend away”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Beechworth was truly picturesque during our recent Autumn getaway with friends and the Lakeside Chalet is perfectly located to take it all in. The accommodation was great, very clean and spacious with the provisions of bread, cereal, coffee etc for light & easy starts in the mornings. Thoroughly enjoyed the short walks around the lake and into town - would recommend to anyone wanting time out in the countryside!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marietta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
1
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Just had the best weekend staying at the Chalet with 2 other couples. Plenty of room inside and out with all the comforts of home and having 3 bathrooms is a big plus. Love the little extra touches like the fluffy bathrobes and beautiful linen. Perfect location by the lake and so peaceful and relaxing. Enjoyed walks around the lake taking in the beautiful autumn sights and it was lovely to introduce friends to the beauty of Beechworth and to relax by the fire at night. No need to drive to cafés and restaurants as it's a pleasure to take a short walk to town. We've been coming to Beechworth for many years now and have stayed at the Chalet most years and it's our very favourite home away from home. Thanks Heidi and Jim!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi F, Owner at Lakeside Chalet, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Laura, We are most grateful that you have stayed so many times and even at our other venue, Beechworth Hideaway. You have always been a pleasure to work with and we are so happy that you had such a fabulous weekend. Thank you sincerely for such high praise. H & J xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had a very comfortable stay at the lakeside chalet in Beechworth with 4 children. Very clean and homely. The location is perfect by the lake - pretty views plus easy access for walks and playtime!

The chalet is very close to town (drive or walk), plus Heidi and Jim are very accessible and helpful.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sharon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi F, Owner at Lakeside Chalet, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you S & B, for your support again in coming back. So glad you found the house able to accommodate 8 more than comfortably. Congratulations also on your new business idea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

6 adults and 4 children enjoyed a great family weekend at Easter in the combined Lakeside Chalet and Studio complex. We are definitely returning next year! Jim and Heidi looked after us well which was fantastic. Highly recommended for extended families.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My extended family and I enjoyed a wonderful Easter experience at Lakeside Chalet and Studio. It's location is fantastic, so close to town that we walked or cycled everywhere. The rail trail, parks, the market, etc were all so close. The facilities were great. Jim and Heidi were very friendly, helpful and their attention to detail was not unnoticed. Highly recommend that you enjoy the Lakeside experience too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi F, Owner at Lakeside Chalet, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Gabby, we were grateful for your booking and the reason why we bought the venue and set it up as a holiday rental was because it has million dollar views of the lake and yet, it it is so close to everything. We were happy to accommodate 6 ad and 4 children in two venues for you. The reason why the venue is perhaps pricier than smaller houses, (which generally only have 1-2 bathrooms, is that you booked two venues and not one ie ; you booked Lakeside Chalet and Lakeside Studio; 6 bedrooms rather than the house alone which consists of 4 bedrooms and two three bathrooms. Normally, we have an extra four people staying in the Studio separately booked from the house and we always have that separately filled at Easter. You booked for two venues, so consequently, you paid for two not one venues which is what you requested.( if in future, you would rather fit everyone in the one house, the price would have been reduced, but you booked two totally separate venues for your large group. The two venues had 4 bathrooms and 6 bedrooms , 3 lounges and 3 kitchens, but you have a choice next time to downsize to the house alone, and thus your costs would have been $200 less night. Regards, Jim.It was good that you booked early as Beechworth certainly "rocks" at Easter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Love this place....we come back every year. Great location...short walk to town. The setting is beautiful with immediate access to the tracks around the lake. The chalet is always clean with a number of rooms for our large family. A perfect spot to stay in the amazing town of Beechworth. So many things to do and see. Thank you Heidi and Jim. We love our annual visits to the north easy of Victoria and would never stay any where apart from the lakeside chalet.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaFindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi F, Owner at Lakeside Chalet, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Anna, We are in gratitude to your loyal family who has stayed many times over the years. Your loyalty and easy going attitude has been greatly admired. Customers such as yourselves are the back bone of our business and we thank you for your extended stays and group bookings. Your business and recommendations are most valuable to our success. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Ever wondered what it would be like if you could combine the best of all those childhood memories of trips away with mum and dad, yet still have all of the conveniences of 21st Century accommodation? Well the Lakeside Chalet on the shores of Lake Sambell in Beechworth has it all. You feel at home immediately, and within minutes you've slowed down almost to a stop. All the little things are there - condiments, breakfast cereal, a decent toaster, a well-stocked fireplace, sliding doors that open onto a lake-facing and immaculately groomed garden - the list goes on. Nothing to do but relax. As a travel writer I've come to expect the best, and this has it. None of us wanted to leave.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi F, Owner at Lakeside Chalet, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Wow Barry, what a brilliant review! We are so happy you stayed and would love to welcome you anytime. You have been a great ambassador for us and you are truly a very lovely person. We would love to have your family stay again or Freeman on Ford and thank you for your positive review. It is such a magical spot and we hope that people have a wonderful time there. Love H x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.6 mi away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albertines Beechworth
Albertines Beechworth
#2 of 14 in Beechworth
520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Erindale Guest House
Erindale Guest House
#5 of 14 in Beechworth
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Finches of Beechworth
Finches of Beechworth
#3 of 14 in Beechworth
552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freeman on Ford B&B
Freeman on Ford B&B
#1 of 14 in Beechworth
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Chalet

Property: Lakeside Chalet
Address: 1 Kraus Lane, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside Chalet is a four-bedroom house situated on the edge of Lake Sambell. This house offers unique and superb views capturing a shimmering lake with ducks and abundant bird life just metres from the house. Most of the main rooms have large windows, which take advantage of wonderful sights such as people boating, fishing and swimming. Guests can dine al fresco on the patio or picnic at Lake Sambell's picnic area where you will find b.b.q. facilities and a playground. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing