We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“still a great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 14 Beechworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“still a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at Barnsley House a few times about 10 years ago, and it is lovely to see it is still a delightful property. Very well maintained, with great attention to detail. Rod and Barry do a great job.The breakfast is excellent, cooked to order. Lovely sitting area, perfect place to read. the garden is well laid out . recommend this for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katiedove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
173
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed four nights with Rod & Barry (and Mary the cat!) and it was WONDERFUL. It is well worth making a trip to Beechworth if only to experience the hospitality at Barnsley! Such a beautiful old house which has been so tastefully decorated and Rod & Barry are superb hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them and Barry's breakfasts are yummy!
Hope we meet again guys!

Room Tip: EVERY room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodbarryBeechworth, Owner at Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Lesley
Hello from Rod Barry & Mary (the cat)!! Thanks so much for your kind words of appreciation. Really enjoyed meeting you and having you stay with us..hopefully you might get to return and visit again, we will certainly enjoy your company again. Stay safe and happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed for four nights at the Barnsley House Bed and Breakfast. Our stay was very pleasant made all the more so by the excellant service provided by owners Rod and Barry. We would recommend the Barnsley to anyone wanting a pampered holiday in a very pleasant setting.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be equally excellant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caerlaverock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodbarryBeechworth, Owner at Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Brian
Hello and thank you so much for writing a lovely review on our B&B. Your group was a pleasure to host and we're glad you could enjoy the comforts of Barnsley House whilst in Beechworth. Hopefully your group might have another occasion to return and share with us again
kind regards
Rod and Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

From the moment we arrived, our stay was a delight. Rod and Barry bestowed their generous hospitality upon us and spared no effort to make our stay with them special. The house and garden are beautiful and perfectly maintained. Our only complaint is that Barnsley House is so far from Sydney. We hope to return very soon. H & J Sydney

Room Tip: We found the Victoria Suite very comfortable and enjoyed the morning sun and having direct access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydneytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodbarryBeechworth, Owner at Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Hans & Jo,
Hello again and thank you so much for taking the time to write a beautiful review, so kind of you. We thoroughly enjoyed your company and loved our chats over brekky and other times! It will be wonderful to host your stay again sometime and fairly soon we hope!
Kind regards, Rod and Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

On our arrival at the Barnsley House we were greeted by the host on the parking lot. A warm welcome. We received a great introduction to the house and the facilities. The rooms are decorated in style and it gives that special feeling to a stay in this B&B. The log fire in our room was wonderful. Each day the log fire was prepared by one of the hosts. You only have to light the fire yourself for that special night in your room.
The House is close to the centre. Breakfast is lovely. Rod and Barry had good tips for sightseeing in the surroundings. Beechworth is lovely, the surroundings are excellent. There is so much to do and see, and actually quite close to the Alps as well. We will return for more relaxation.
Thank you both for a lovely stay and for offering so much privacy in a B&B. Loved it!

Room Tip: Look at what they have on offer. In winter go for log fires, in summer go for spa! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had a great weekend away in Beechworth for my husband's birthday, despite the freezing cold and wet weather. We loved Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast as everything was exceptional - from the immaculately renovated and decorated rooms complete with working fireplaces, daily supply of biscuits, chocolates and toiletries, to the delicious breakfasts and afternoon teas, to the host themselves, Rob and Barry, who did everything possible to make sure we had a great stay. They even had a birthday card waiting for my husband on arrival! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz2010Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

It was hard to choose from the multitude of B&B's in Beechworth, but this turned out to be an excellent choice. The facilities themselves were great, but ultimately it was the easygoing friendliness of Rod and Barry that made the weekend for us. Beechworth is such a diverse and interesting area, and now we are looking forward to the chance to go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beechworth Motor Inn
0.5 mi away
Finches of Beechworth
Finches of Beechworth
#2 of 14 in Beechworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albertines Beechworth
Albertines Beechworth
#3 of 14 in Beechworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Freeman on Ford B&B
Freeman on Ford B&B
#1 of 14 in Beechworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Graces Beechworth
The Graces Beechworth
#6 of 14 in Beechworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5 John St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique, hosted accommodation nestled in the historic heart of North East Victoria. Enjoy... the friendly warmth of hosted accommodation Retreat... to private, beautifully appointed guest rooms Relax... in the tranquil ambience of Barnsley House Victorian charm with all the luxuries of first class accommodation set amidst beautiful terraced gardens, just a short stroll to Beechworth town centre. Elegantly appointed, individual guest retreats, garden views, opulent guest lounge, delightful sunny conservatory plus delicious gourmet breakfasts are all waiting for you to enjoy. Barnsley House is guest rated as one of the top 25 B&B's in Australia and awarded TripAdvisor Certificates of Excellence and Travellers Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing