We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (555)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveler rating
237
223
72
13
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
237
223
72
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art deco nurses quarters mayday hills lunatic asylum beautiful grounds ghost tour old trees hotel is situated continental breakfast local jams spa room king suite comfortable bed short drive sitting room pleasant stay walk into town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 555 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2020

Clean accommodation, comfortable rooms but very basic. Rooms were value for money. Very friendly staff. Pool useable but not always clean and with limited furniture around the outer for sitting. Steps also bit loose.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxinePholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020

Overall it was ok. The room was very small and it's the first hotel I have been in where there wasn't even one drawer in the bedroom. There was a hanging closet but no drawers. Very strange. I had to put my clothes under the bathroom sink. The shower was also very difficult to adjust and there was little pressure. Poor wifi connection in room. No Optus phone connection in room.Continental breakfast was very meagre. We stayed for two nights. It was not too bad but I wouldn't stay again.

Room tip: the double bed room has no cupboards. Pay extra and book the King
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ozlili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2019

The nurses are long gone from the Mayday Hills Village, a massive and rather run down complex of buildings that was a "lunatic asylum". Part of the Mayday Hills Village is the modern George Kerford Hotel, and two minutes walk from it are the old art deco nurses quarters - converted into hotel accomodation. We booked a one-bedroomed suite for around $130 a night. We liked the older style, and to have a small sitting room. The grounds are lovely, with three self-guided tree identification walks - trees that are now mature and were planted by Melbourne Botanical Gardens. Continental breakfast was included in the price, and the staff were friendly and helpful. It was nice to be up the hill and a short drive from the centre of lovely Beechworth, and it was lovely to be in a tranquil sylvan setting.

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank 556bharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2019

We loved the Linaker, the room was very clean and the bed really comfy. I was amazed by the beautiful grounds and the whole outlay of the buildings on the hill top looking down over the township.The staff were very friendly and the restaurant at the George do great meals. If you are looking for a bit of culture and history this is the place to stay.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank janc659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2019

It's great to wake up to the cows and magpies each morning. The staff on the dsk and breakfast bar were friendly and helpful, and pour a good espresso. Breakfast is sufficient, and great to sit on the deck in the morning. It's become our 'local'.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecommsdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews