We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls gets away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of George Kerferd Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
George Kerferd Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Certificate of Excellence
Numurkah, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Girls gets away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We arrived at the hotel to be greated by very friendly staff, shown to our room which was small but very comfortable, with a lovely view of the gardens, Beechworth is such a lovely area and this hotel is set on beautiful grounds. I had booked us into the restaurant prior to arriving and love hotels with restaurants as you can enjoy a wine with your dinner and not have to worry about driving back. In the afternoon our TV kept loosing signal, we had a friendly staff member come in and try to fix the problem, when he couldn't fix it, he simply gave us another much larger tv for the night. The dinner at the restaurant was lovely, the food was delicious and the staff so friendly. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    119
    40
    12
    6
See reviews for
36
193
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We went there over a weekend and checked in with a lovely lady. Our room was tiny, but otherwise fine. We didnt see ny other people at the hotel. The 'health' area is really crappy though. Of course it was too cold for the pool, but the saune was hidden in betweeen bikes and random stuff.
We took a walk in the gardens, not knowing it was the old grounds for the asylum. (Ps. I kept joking that it was a mental hospital, because everything looked so desserted, and what do you know.) the next morning i woke up early, and the staff hadn't even arrived yet, except one, who fixed me up with a coffee and let me enjoy the paper and i had a lovely morning with the arriving staff. Food was delicious. I had goats cheese quiche. Yummy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over the weekend with friends. The complex is a former hospital and it is located a bit outside beechworth with beautiful gardens and surrounding. The rooms were clean but very dated so that needs improvement. Service was ok but nothing special.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

The rooms were tiny (approx 3mx3m) nowhere to put our bags, only 1 chair and the heating wouldn't heat the room even running flat out. No information about the facilities, no meal (breakfast) options and the restaurant was closed.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank euphonium29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffordVictoria, VR Owner at George Kerferd Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Sorry to hear of your disappointment but I think you may have reviewed the wrong property. 1860 has two rooms, both of which are 6mx8m. We have a dining room table with 6 chairs, a desk with one chair, 3 bar stools, a 3 seater leather couch and a recliner. We have two reverse cycle heaters/coolers and an open fire and provide a breakfast basket for all our guests. We do not have a restaurant, we are a self contained property for one couple. I hope this has cleared up any confusion. Unfortunately the property you have reviewed is not 1860. If Trip Advisor allows you to withdraw this review we would be appreciative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Housed in the rather beautiful grounds of a former psychiatric hospital this hotel leaves a lot to be desired. We had three rooms, two standard double and one king at 130 and 150 dollars a night. The beds were very comfortable but the rooms were sparsely furnished. The king had a tiny unheated shower cubicle. The standard had no drawers for clothes. The rooms were all cold on arrival and we had to keep the aircon heating on all night which was unpleasant. The reception areas, bar and corridors were also cold and uninviting. Although the staff were pleasant, and very helpful when asked questions, no information was provided on the rooms, bar, restaurant or other facilities. The restaurant where we had planned to eat the first night was in fact closed during our stay. Room servicing was erratic. The bathroom rubbish bin in one room was full on arrival, another had no towels. One was not serviced, one was half cleaned. and in one the phone bearing the emergency number was found in the back of the wardrobe on departure. There was no evidence of staff on duty at night. This hotel may be more welcoming in summer weather but some investment in the facilities and management is badly needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floatingworld_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MNuck, General Manager at George Kerferd Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. I completely agree with your sentiment that there is room for improvement and we have certainly gone to some effort since your stay to address and rectify the items raised.

If you are visiting Beechworth again we would love to have you stay with us.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Best regards,
George Kerferd Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in $100 per night rooms in a 70's designed building where car parking was far from quite a hidden away reception. The old grounds look as though they are slowly being improved. LaTrobe uni had it for awhile for hospitality. It was an old asylum for the insane. The room we had could only fit a double bed - about 2.5m x 3m for bed area then the bathroom. It was all clean, sparse in terms of decoration but totally adequate for the fee. The old other older buildings looked more intriguing like the Linaker but we didn't get to go in. They had two huge events on that night do staff were a little pressured but handled it well. Second night we seemed to have the entire hotel to ourselves & never saw staff again!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rancho-Food-Safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

The drive up to the hotel and the grounds are beautiful but I feel some of the promotional photos are somewhat misleading. The hotel itself is not the grand white building shown in the photos and our room had an unusual bathroom configuration, where the toilet and basin were on one side of the entry and the shower was on the other side - curious? The girl who greeted us on arrival was lovely and very helpful, and I may be fussy but the messy reception desk and other items left lying around the hotel did lessen its appearance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzDesertGirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beechworth Motor Inn
1.0 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.7 mi away
Armour Motor Inn
Armour Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Beechworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Golden Heritage Motor Inn & Cottages
0.8 mi away
The Old Priory
The Old Priory
#12 of 14 in Beechworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Finches of Beechworth
Finches of Beechworth
#2 of 14 in Beechworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Kerferd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Kerferd Hotel

Property: George Kerferd Hotel
Address: Oak Avenue | Mayday Hills Village, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia (Formerly La Trobe at Beechworth)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — George Kerferd Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heritage gardens of Mayday Hills we are a stone’s throw from the Beechworth center.This is the perfect place to stay and relax in contemporary accommodation. Enjoy our pool, sauna, tennis court and fine dining in our restaurant Step back in time to the glamour of the art deco period. Built in the 1930’s, Linaker offers a variety of accommodation of options, suitable for singles, families and couples ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your George Kerferd Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing