We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hideaway for a cozy winter weekend!”
Review of StoneTryst Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beechworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
StoneTryst Villas
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My girlfriend bought us two nights here for my birthday and we absolutely loved it! We have lived in Australia for six years and traveled quite a bit in that time and can confidently say that StoneTryst Luxury Spa Villas is the nicest place we have ever stayed in.

When we arrived, it was pouring down with rain and as we pulled up outside the main house Mark came out to meet our car with an umbrella so we wouldn't even have to get out of the car.  He pointed us to our cabin, told us the fire was on and the keys were in the door.  We wasted no time heading down to check it out.  From the entry point, the outside of the building was rather unassuming but once we got inside, we quickly saw what the made the place so special. 
     
A gas log fire stood directly opposite the main door in front of a rustic stone wall and filled the room with a warm, welcoming heat made all the more comforting given the dark, cold, and wet night we had just driven through to get there.  The living room was small and cozy with a two seater white couch and a matching reclining leather chair with ottoman sitting across from a small flat screen television and the fire.  The kitchen shared the the same room and was filled with state of the art appliances and fixtures.  The bedroom was reasonably sized with a luxurious bed and led through to a gigantic bathroom with heated floors, massive jacuzzi with headrests and a large double shower.  We had been told that there would be a "gourmet breakfast basket" but we were not expecting what we received. Fresh bread from a local bakery, cereal, tomatoes, mushrooms, eggs, bacon, juice, fresh coffee, teas, condiments, and gourmet sausages! We even had gluten free chocolate and sultana cookies and muesli which sent my gluten intolerant girlfriend over the moon! In addition to the breakfast basket, there was pasta, flour, oils, and all kinds of other basic ingredients which are always lacking in "self-catering" accommodation.

The attention to detail continued throughout the house. There were plush robes, movies, CDs, and games to entertain us. But I have to admit, we didn't really use any of that. Our favorite past time was curling up in front of the fire with a nice bottle of red, some of the local produce, and watching the day drift by out the large floor to ceiling windows which look out across the hills.

Definitely not a place for families (at least the villa we were staying in), but if you are a couple and heading to Beechworth, give yourself a treat and stay at StoneTryst Luxury Spa Villas. You will not be disappointed!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 94 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

Ann and Mark have done such a wonderful job with this accomodation, with some a warm and welcoming greeting from Mark and and the dog Jake we were instantly happy with our choice.
The accomodation its self is remarkable and every little detail has been thought of- there is a perfect balance of modern accesories with cottage charm.

The heated pool with views was to die for, coffee machine, double shower, spa bath towel heaters, fire place and all the staples in the cupboard you could think of. Even though it is a 4 hour drive from where we will- we will be coming back very soon!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missbudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed at Stonetryst in January, and were highly impressed. Ann and Mark are lovely hosts, and gave us good advice about the local area. They also showed us where a koala (carrying her baby) was sitting in a tree on the property.

We stayed in Villa Granito, which contains everything you could want in a home away from home, including full cooking and laundry facilities. It's a comfortable and relaxing environment, and the pool and spa were a bonus.

We will definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to couples wanting a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Villa Granito has a swimming pool in a nice private backyard; we definitely recommend paying that bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amarantha_Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Oh my! What a beautiful place to stay! My husband and I recently stayed for 2 nights at Stone Tryst and loved every minute of it! From the moment we walked in, we were already planning our next stay. What a luxury delight! No expense has been spared on the decorating and appliances. I could go on and on about the Stone Tryst Villas, but why not check them out for yourself and see!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roses_r_white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We had a fantastic weekend away here. We came in mid February and it was perfect. Everything was thought of right down to the milk and orange juice in the fridge. Having our own private plunge pool was a beautiful indulgence. We will be booking here for our next visit and are telling all of our friends to stay here too

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I cannot recall a more relaxing and glorious weekend. It was shear bliss from the moment we arrived. Absolutely gorgeous villa, finished to a very high standard with everything you might need and beautifully equipped with attention to every detail. The town is just a few minutes away but trust me, you will not want to leave the pool, the spa or the gorgeous setting even for a minute. Everything is provided including a very generous breakfast. Thank you to Ann and Mark for creating a wonderful oasis. We will certainly be back.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank 337Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

A two night stay at Stone Tryst Villas in late January 2012 could not possibly have been any better! The villas have been designed with every comfort ever needed or wanted, the owners have thought of everything. Kitchen is set up with quality appliances & great selection of pantry items. Included a hamper as well! Very clean, modern and comfortable villa with a beautiful outlook across the gorge. Lovely decor & had a great sleep in the comfy bed. Aircon worked a treat although it was extremely hot outside. Huge shower, wonderful spabath... very pleasant to share a bottle of wine in & look out the windows to the countryside beyond! The carport was an added bonus as it was summer, I am sure in winter will be much appreciated too. We will return most definitely as it was one of the best places we have ever stayed. The owners are pleasant & helpful & keen for travellers to enjoy their villas. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoSeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
1.1 mi away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#2 of 6 in Beechworth
363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Finches of Beechworth
Finches of Beechworth
#3 of 14 in Beechworth
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Beechworth Cottages
Beechworth Cottages
#2 of 15 in Beechworth
164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Freeman on Ford B&B
Freeman on Ford B&B
#2 of 14 in Beechworth
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to StoneTryst Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about StoneTryst Villas

Address: 10 Granjoise Lane | Off Malakoff Road, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Beechworth
Price Range: $193 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 5 acres overlooking the Beechworth Gorge, each of the three self-contained StoneTryst Spa Villas enjoy panoramic views. The contemporary architecture reflects the environment, with granite feature walls, timber floors and picture windows to bring the outdoors in. Each villa has a deep double spa bath, twin shower, gas log fire & is luxuriously appointed including with a Nespresso coffee Machine, Aspar Spa products and Larsen & Thompson Teas. Our premium villa (Granito) has its own private pool & king bed. Extras such as champagne on arrival and/or breakfast prepared by the award winning Provenance restaurant can be ordered via the bookings page for a separate tariff. Dinner packages at Provenance are also available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing