We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History lesson with the added bonus of ghosts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beechworth Ghost Tours - CLOSED

Beechworth Ghost Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beechworth Ghost Tour takes you through one of Australia's largest and inform outs Lunatic Asylum after dark. Explore the Asylum for two hours and be haunted by stories of murderers, lunatics, brutal treatment, amazing personal stories, and of course lots of ghost stories. The tour travels through the most original unrestored lunatic ward in Australia, cells, laundry, cellar, surgery ward and more. Tours are limited to 30 people, and are lead by a team of professional theatrical historians. Voted by Fox News as the most haunted Tourisum attraction in the world. Historic Day tour, Paranormal tours, photography tours and sleepovers available
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“History lesson with the added bonus of ghosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

we really liked the history of the asylum and its patients that the guide shared with us. the building and grounds are very beautiful and are also well worth having a look around during the day. the guide had many gruesome and interesting tales to tell, it really is a fascinating part of Australia's history. We saw a beautiful blue ghost orb float across the music hall, I'm glad my partner saw it too as he didn't believe in ghosts. After reviewing our photos i noticed other orbs that we hadn't seen at the time of taking the photos. Take your camera!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kellynDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    28
    11
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another Amazing Ghost Tour that has a sad past.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I really enjoyed the tour our Tour guide was a lovely lady in an old Maitron Costume, I kept following her and sqeauling for her to PLEASE not jump out and scare me!

It was a lot of fun, very informative, as usual with these tour's it has a very sad, barbarick history up until it's closure.

Also beware the Possums they scare you too!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A unique and fun way to hear and feel history.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a great tour taking in the asylum and some of the buildings. the tour is in the evening so it is darkish but that just adds to the experience and you find yourself imagining yourself in the inmates position. overall fantastic tour, we had Bronwyn as our guide, and great value for money. congratulations to beechworth ghost tours.

Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Awesome Ghost Hunt - You have to do the tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Beechworth Lunatic Asylum, originally known as Mayday Hills Lunatic Asylum is a decommissioned psychiatric hospital. Established in 1867 it was operating until 1995 and it is reported that over 9,000 patients dies during this time. Treatment was harsh and many patients conditions were misunderstood.

There are stories of people committing suicide, having all of their teeth removed for biting and being given electric shock treatment. We had the fortune of being in a small tour group of 10 who were all very interested in the tour - combined with our theatrical guide it made for a fantastic night.

While we were on tour I believe we captured some great orbs. The photos were taken one after the other and the orbs can clearly be seen and then disappear. Even if you don’t believe the history of this facility is horrible but interesting. I would strongly recommend leaving the kids at home, this is no place to bring young children and bored teens would totally spoil the experience.

There was a moment when we were getting the closing comments outside one of the buildings and everyone’s nerves were frayed (although none would admit it). Carried on the chilling breeze was the most bloodcurdling growling noise that made us all jump…two possums were engaged in “Fight Club”! I am glad I know what fightling possums sound like.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Star_Trekers2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wunghnu
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very interesting...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

You so have to do this tour if you are stopping in Beechworth and be sure to look out for your two for the price of one tickets from your accommodation... The history, whether all truthful is facinating.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beechworth Ghost Tours also viewed

 
Beechworth, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing