We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome”
Review of Armour Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Armour Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

While on a winter holiday in Beechworth we stayed at the Armour Hotel in Camp St. It is on the edge of the town and only a short distance from the information centre, historic precinct, shops and cafes. What I really loved was that the room was cosy and warm when we arrived after a long drive from Melbourne via Glenrowen. Ours was a family holiday and the kids had a great time. The owner of our hotel was very helpful and full of great ideas of things to do. We took advantage of one of their mid week online specials and so it was very economical. Beechworth is a great place, easy for walking and very pretty.

Room Tip: Our room faced the main street which allowed us to look out on the world to see what was going on. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    151
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
88
190
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Healesville, Victoria
2 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This motel is so much more appealing than its website suggests. I was travelling alone with my two young children, and Warren and Fiona made the Armour a comfortable haven for us. We stayed in the spacious family suite, which had the convenience of a car spot right at the room's rear door (I could see the kids safely in the room as I carried our bags to and fro). Fiona very kindly offered to go and collect our takeaway meal for us if the kids and I were too tired to venture out to fetch it ourselves, which was really above and beyond anything I'd expect. The room was clean and the beds very comfy. We had everything we needed, and Fiona and Warren cheerfully offered additional cutlery and crockery for us to have dinner in the room (which made things so much easier for me!). We were just a short walk from the main street, Beechworth Bakery and other key sights -- my four-year-old daughter and two-year-old son managed the stroll with no trouble. The kids and I had a wonderful stay. We look forward to a return visit soon -- would love to be there in summer to take advantage of the inviting pool!

Room Tip: We stayed on a Thursday night and a Sunday night. There were no noise issues, but we were furthest f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahKoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2012

In town for a wedding, we had an excellent stay at the armour. The owners were absolutely lovely and extremely helpful. Rooms are pretty standard for a motor inn but the bed was excellent! Really crisp sheets, like a 5 star and the mattress was sensational. We were in a front facing room on a Sat night but we didn't hear any pub noise... probably because we didn't get to bed ourselves until after 1am and crashed out pretty fast! The location besides being near a couple of pubs which could be handy for some was also very handy for any of main st attractions. I wish I had brought my bathers for a hangover curing swim!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fibbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

stayed for 2 nights with elderly father and teenage son, owners Warren and Fiona friendly, helpful and went out of their way to ensure my dad was comfortable (in a disability-access room), including offering to keep an eye out for him if we wanted to go out to non-aged-friendly sites. Rooms clean, lots of tourist info available. Only issue for me was noise from cars and early risers chatting in the motel car park outside my door - rooms upstairs might be better for this.
Pool a bonus, if small.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairebear255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Armour Motor Inn is beside one hotel and very near another. The drunken yells from pub customers, until the early hours, was awful on the Friday and Saturday night when we stayed. Other reviewers recommend booking a room at the back, away from the street and that's good advice, but it still won't spare you from noise from the elevated beer garden on the other side of the fence. On Sunday all was blissfully quiet. The owners are super, the rooms and bathroom clean, bedlinen professionally laundered and the daily room servicing was excellent. It's in a very convenient location too. So, ask for a room at the back and pick your day of the week carefully.

Room Tip: Never book for a Friday or Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyH051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmourMotorInn, Manager at Armour Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
We would like to thank our Guests for their constructive criticism regarding the noise on Friday and Saturday nights coming from the Hotel diagonally opposite our Motel. Subsequent discussions with the Hotel Owners and the appropriate Authorities has resulted in corrective action being taken regarding this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I have to agree with most of the other reviews. This is a Motor Inn, yes the rooms are smaller than some motel rooms I’ve been in, but not cramped, although the brick walls do make the room darker. Yes the TV is small, but we didn’t go there for the TV. Yes the décor is a little dated, especially the bathroom, but it’s still quite functional.

Our two-night stay on Thurs and Friday nights, in a room facing the back, was quiet and relatively comfortable – which is all we can ask. The mattress, pillows and blankets were fine. However there were 4 exceptions, that did interfere: because of all the rain, a mosquito buzzed us. So we got fly spray. The green light from the smoke alarm put out tons of light, so we covered it with duct tape (yes, we carry a roll). The fridge, as with just about every motel room, kicked on and off, and at around 8am a neighbourhood dog started barking which dragged me out of my sleep, but my husband kept sleeping. I didn’t even hear the cars outside the unit leave in the morning.

The host was lovely. We asked for fresh milk and extra coffee & sugar – no problem. We asked for internet access and didn’t have a problem with speed.

The disappointment was the shower. Despite having plenty of room for 2, there was very poor water pressure and on both days the temperature was not very hot.

The best part is the location. It’s right in a primary street, close to THE bakery, just excellently located for tourists, and at a reasonable price. The motel is clean, comfortable, sufficiently appointed, well located and reasonably priced. Couldn’t ask for more. If your expectations are not really high, e.g. want modern, want 24hr service, want big and new, then this place is fine.

Room Tip: It's next to a pub. Didn't cause us a problem but we stayed in a room facing the rear and u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longworths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Location couldn't be better. Room clean and well set out. Bed, hard crappy foam mattress. I have been more comfy on a ground mat. 1st person gets a hot super low pressure shower, 2nd cold low pressure shower. Wife kept awake by something running outside all night. Add says wireless internet, don't find out until you get there that it is $5.00 for 1 hour. Had to park in driveway due to lack of parking. Staff were very friendly and helpful with inquiries about local restaurants etc.
If bed was comfy and shower decent I would have given 5 star. Bed and shower are the reason for staying in a motel after all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.7 mi away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
368 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn
0.8 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Golden Heritage Motor Inn & Cottages
0.3 mi away
Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
0.3 mi away
Albertines Beechworth
Albertines Beechworth
#2 of 14 in Beechworth
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armour Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armour Motor Inn

Property: Armour Motor Inn
Address: 1 Camp St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Armour Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armour Motor Inn is the closest motel to the centre of Beechworth. We are just 200 meters and within a 2 minute walk from Beechworth's shops, restaurants, cafes, and historic sites. We provide a range of clean, classic modern furnished suites, a crystal clear in-ground solar heated swimming pool with attached sauna, and a private garden with BBQ facilities. In addition to this we provide every room with free wifi and free off-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Armour Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing