We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our fourth stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
194 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Our fourth stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

We always come back to this place. It's centrally located. Offers great value, especially if you book through wotif. The rooms are large, reasonably well appointed. Beds are comfortable. Bathrooms are renovated. Only issues were lack of hand towel, no exhaust fan in our last room - 15 and tea/coffee wasn't replaced each day. Having said that, we had real milk (very welcome) and the cooked breakfast of bacon and eggs was included in the price of the room. The TV is very large. The electric blankets were a god-send. We went for a long walk to Cascade Falls from Woolshed Falls. We love the Woolshed Falls area. We also enjoyed the Gorge drive, stopping at sunset to take photos. We ate at the Green Shed on our first night - a bit of a let-down. Nice looking place, but the food was overpriced and not great. We fared better on our second night with an excellent meal at Gigi's - can't wait to get back there. We had good coffee and cheese at Larder Beechworth. We took a wide berth from the Beechworth Bakery - can't understand what all the fuss is about. It's mediocre bread and pastries/cakes. Much better bread and produce at the local green grocers just up from Gigi's!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissBossyBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    79
    28
    11
    14
See reviews for
45
88
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NSW Central Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

We spent 1 night here with 2 adults and 2 kids. We had the family room which consisted of a double bed and 2 singles. Very warm, cosy and clean room with tea and coffee facilities.

Off road parking at our door and a yummy room service breakfast made this a comfortable stay. We were directed by the owners to a fantastic pub meal just down the road, and some great driving directions for our onward trip.

It is situated a very close walk to the main street of Beechworth that has many shops, cafes and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattred74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

In a town geared to tourism where people go out of their way to ensure visitors a memorable stay the Carriage Motor Inn was a notable exception.

Be careful - this motel's website is somewhat deceptive - it is not as good as competitors in Beechworth and not nearly as modern as the web-site potrays - this is a 2.5-3 star motel.

Incredibly rude staff (we were told we'd be charged $10 for being half an hour late for a 10am sunday morning check-out), disappointing room. Old furnature looked to be from the 70's despite modern facade on the web. Spa room at an additional $35 added no value except the room did not have a functioning shower.

Promised wireless high speed internet did not work in our room.

The Fiddleback restaurant, advertised on the web-site was occupied by a group of 60 year old women scrap booking and was not open for the duration of our stay.

I would not recommend that you stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mflucas22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubierae, Owner at Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2010
We believe that this review is fraudulent as the reviewer mentions a specific room of which we only have 1. Our records indicate that this room was vacant on the date the reviewer mentions and both days either side of the date mentioned. Our website clearly states that we only open our restaurant for groups of 15 or more. As Beechworth has so many fantastic eateries and restaurants be it great fish and chips to a two hat fine dining experience. We also had no groups staying at the time this reviewer claims to have stayed here.
We recommend trip advisor members look at other reviews on our motel to make up their mind.
We look forward to welcoming you to Beechworth on your next trip to North East Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.9 mi away
The George Kerferd
The George Kerferd
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beechworth Motor Inn
0.9 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Armour Motor Inn
Armour Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Beechworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Heritage Motor Inn & Cottages
0.3 mi away
The Old Priory
The Old Priory
#11 of 14 in Beechworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn

Property: Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
Address: 44 Camp St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are only steps away from many heritage listed buildings and we are surrounded by majestic liquid amber elm trees and overlook the historic Loddon hotel (now a private residence), yet only 200m from the Post Office, Historic Precinct and Visitor Information Centre. Also close by are vibrant cafes and shopping strip, including the famous Beechworth Bakery; award winning The Beechworth Sweet Co and Beechworth Honey Experience. Share our experience of the true region of Beechworth from our friendly welcome to local and regional information. You will love your clean, well setup room, relaxing outdoor areas and the easy two minute stroll to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing