We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time visitors” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Second time visitors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Overnight stays both times, as we passed through from Sydney to Melbourne. Facilities excellent, clean and a friendly welcome after driving all day. Facilities included free WIFI, coffee machine, toaster and lounge provided in each room. Hotel well situated and located to all facilities in the town. The best service of all that was provided was a complimentary windscreen cleaning service. What a wonderful gesture! We ate our evening meal in the closest hotel just up the road. Dont be deterred by the clientele hotel seated outside the hotel. Venture inside and through to the dining room out the back. Wonderful meal and comprehensive menu.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ibujenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian and Cathe... S, Owner at Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Great to see you again and know that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay. Good to hear that you liked our 'windscreen clean service' as well.

Look forward to your next visit when in Beechworth!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    75
    28
    11
    14
See reviews for
43
86
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had a quick stopover at the Carriage Motor Inn for one night in February. The front office lady was extremely friendly when we arrived at 8pm. This accommodation is just off the main street precinct. The rooms felt very fresh and we were very comfortable given the heat of the day/night. Following breakfast we were pleasantly surprised to find our windscreen being cleaned as a complimentary service. Much appreciated with the 7 hour trip ahead of us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian and Cathe... S, Owner at Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
So good to hear that you found our service friendly and that you found your room fresh and comfortable. Happy to hear that our complimentary windscreen clean was a nice little surprise and appreciated as well.

We look forward to you staying with us on your next visit to Beechworth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

I stayed at this motel for 3 nights and was very happy with the cleanliness and the professionalism of the staff. The room was a decent size that included both air conditioning and a ceiling fan. The room also contained a coffee machine and free WiFi as well which was a welcome change since most city hotels make you pay extra for this service. I was even offered a ride to Wodonga to avoid a hefty cab fare. I was very happy with this motel and would stay here again. Thank you so much for making my stay in Beechworth enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian and Cathe... S, Owner at Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
It's really nice to know that you were very happy with our accommodation including having a coffee machine in your room, free wi-fi available and that you found our staff professional.

So glad that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and even be able to help with your trip to Wodonga!

We're looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melboune
Level Contributor
174 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We chose this motel because of its central location, and were not disappointed as we found we were within easy walking distance of the historical precinct as well as the many dining options in Beechworth. The room was a little larger than some motel rooms, so 2 armchairs as well as a table and 2 ordinary chairs fitted in with ease. The free wi fi was useful (even if the speed occasionally dropped off - perhaps that's inevitable in country towns?), the large screen TV was appreciated and the provision of a coffee machine and toaster as well as the usual kettle was a nice touch. Our room was very quiet and had a pleasant outlook into the side street with its mature elms.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian and Cathe... S, Owner at Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We're very happy that you liked our accommodation and faciltities, our staff's professionalism and the motel's excellent location to the centre of Beechworth's historical township.

Wi-fi reception can be tricky here sometimes and is usually beyond our control but we're looking into this to make sure all is well.

We hope that you will come and stay with us again when in Beechworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We booked this from the information centre in beechworth.the women in the info centre at beechworth was very friendly and very help full.
The motel was very meet and tidy,staff at front check in very very pleasant to deal with and friendly.this motel is very close to all amenities and walking distance to all the shops and a lot of tourist attractions.
The motel room was very comfy and clean and tidy.
Motel has free wifi,pool,bbqs ,off street parking.it also has a guest laundry,
Outdoor seating,conference room,restaurant.
I would stay here again and would recommend it.
Lots of very old buildings around from the gold rush days lots to see and do.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ozauto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian and Cathe... S, Owner at Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We're very happy that we were able to make your romantic weekend away enjoyable by providing a friendly and pleasant atmosphere, comfy accommodation, facilities that you liked and to hear that you enjoyed the motel's close proximity to tourist attractions, shops and other amenities as well.

We'd love to see you here again when you come back to Beechworth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

This motel was recommended by another motel that was booked out. Lovely rooms, big and clean with a very high ceiling. Huge TV in the room. A small pool on grounds though I did not use looked very clean. Checkin was swift. The owner gave good directions of things to see around town. This motel is just out of the hustle and bustle of the main street, but still only a block to the main shops and 2 blocks from the goal. A good base to be able to walk to all attractions and to restaurant for dinner. Highly recommend the jail tour while in town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holly0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian and Cathe... S, Owner at Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We're so glad that we were able to help you and that you found our rooms spacious, you liked our service and facilities, and that you also found our location peaceful even though we're so close to the main part of town.

We're very happy to hear that our assistance with directions for things to see and do in and around town were helpful.

We hope that you will come and stay with us again when you visit Beechworth on another occasion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night one Boxing Day. Was a great value place to stay. No it is not luxurious but with the fantastic price I wasn't expecting that! What I did get was a very clean motel room with fast wifi included in the price and a perfect location only a short stroll to the town centre. The owners cleaned our windscreen which was a lovely surprise after a long drive from Sydney.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissWizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian and Cathe... S, Owner at Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found that the Carriage Motor Inn offered good value for money together with great service, free and fast wi-fi and with the added advantage of the motel being so close the hub of the town. Glad you liked our little surprise with the windscreen clean!

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.9 mi away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beechworth Motor Inn
0.9 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Armour Motor Inn
Armour Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Beechworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Heritage Motor Inn & Cottages
0.3 mi away
The Old Priory
The Old Priory
#12 of 14 in Beechworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn

Property: Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
Address: 44 Camp St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are only steps away from many heritage listed buildings and we are surrounded by majestic liquid amber elm trees and overlook the historic Loddon hotel (now a private residence), yet only 200m from the Post Office, Historic Precinct and Visitor Information Centre. Also close by are vibrant cafes and shopping strip, including the famous Beechworth Bakery; award winning The Beechworth Sweet Co and Beechworth Honey Experience. Share our experience of the true region of Beechworth from our friendly welcome to local and regional information. You will love your clean, well setup room, relaxing outdoor areas and the easy two minute stroll to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing