We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed 2 nights using their Hot Deal, i.e. breakfast both mornings and a bottle of wine, plus two free bakery vouchers. Was good value. Room comfy but getting a little dated. Quite clean and I have no complaints at all. Is located in the historic precinct so we could leave our car there and walk to the town, to the court house, the gaol etc. Room service available for dinner and good value. It is a three and a half star motel so don't expect 5 star, but it is good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    79
    28
    11
    14
See reviews for
45
88
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed at the carriage inn a few weeks ago. Stayed in one of the rooms north side of property. Rooms were clean and presentable, but found the room a bit dark and small especially the bathroom. It is in a great location close to everything.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing west or south as they have windows facing out to street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cg12780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night, and were pleasantly surprised with this motel. It's right near the heart of Beechworth, but so very quiet. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the service was excellent and the shower was so much better than you get in the average motel. Also, I know it's a little thing but they give you a mug for your tea and coffee instead of the 'mini cups' that seem to be all the rage elsewhere. There was a very slight problem with the shower door which I reported to management when checking out and was more than happy with their response. It's a three and a half star country motel, so if you're expecting the Hilton then you'll be disappointed, but for a motel it's lovely for a short stay while travelling, and I don't think that there is better value for money anywhere in Beechworth.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed for a night as a last minute idea. It was the long weekend and we thought we may have trouble finding any vacancies in Beechworth. We were pleasantly surprised to find a room at the Carriage Motor Inn. Our room was a standard queen (6).
The room was roomy enough, brick face brick interior with high timber ceilings. Quiet and efficient air conditioning, small fridge, tea and coffee making, toaster and microwave on request. Room service dinner and breakfast available. The bed was firm but comfortable, linen fresh and smooth and the towels quite good. A huge flat screen tv (90cmI think). Also a small table and two chairs and a small two seater lounge. The bathroom was small but adequate and clean.
Reception was welcoming and friendly and advised places to eat.
The Carriage Motor in is ideally located just off the Main Street so you can walk to shops etc. a pub is just up the road. There is a small pool, good for kids but not terribly inviting and parking at your room door.
We didn't hear any noise through the night.
We were pleased with everything and would definitely stay here again and we felt it wasn't too over priced at $125/ night for the location and being the long weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wishlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights and found the room to be clean, comfortable and of a good size. Our room had a sofa and coffee table as well as a small dining table and chairs. The flat screen tv was huge and well located for ease of viewing.Air conditioning was quiet and the overhead fan was also welcome.
Water pressure in shower was excellent and everything was clean. We also liked the fact that we could park our car directly out the frot of our room.
The motel is centrally located and within walking distance to shops, pubs and restaurant.
Overall this economical motel was excellent and we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydneysider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This motel is located in the heart of Beechworth and is a short walk to the main street. The rooms are basic and a bit dated but very clean. The management is very friendly and helpful. Park your car out the front of the room. There is a pool which is great for the kids to cool off. There is a great walk at the end of the street that takes you through the beautiful bushland - about a 4km round walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LegItAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yass, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for a night just before Christmas. The room was clean and very comfortable. It even seemed roomier than usual, probably due to the lovely high ceiling.

Everything worked as it should and the modern decor was very pleasing. The location was easy walking distance to the shops and bakery.

The reception was welcoming and very helpful. Would happily stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.9 mi away
The George Kerferd
The George Kerferd
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beechworth Motor Inn
0.9 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Armour Motor Inn
Armour Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Beechworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Heritage Motor Inn & Cottages
0.3 mi away
The Old Priory
The Old Priory
#11 of 14 in Beechworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn

Property: Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
Address: 44 Camp St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are only steps away from many heritage listed buildings and we are surrounded by majestic liquid amber elm trees and overlook the historic Loddon hotel (now a private residence), yet only 200m from the Post Office, Historic Precinct and Visitor Information Centre. Also close by are vibrant cafes and shopping strip, including the famous Beechworth Bakery; award winning The Beechworth Sweet Co and Beechworth Honey Experience. Share our experience of the true region of Beechworth from our friendly welcome to local and regional information. You will love your clean, well setup room, relaxing outdoor areas and the easy two minute stroll to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing