We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and quiet but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location and quiet but....”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Don't leave your do not disturb sign out after 10am as the rooms are cleaned by room number and they don't come back to check if you have removed your sign, so our room wasn't cleaned after being out from 10am and returning at 6pm. On questioning why it hadn't been cleaned I was told "you had your sign out so we don't disturb you" ..... Fair enough but we did remove the sign at 10am so I assumed someone would come back and check the room but no! So we were offered some clean towels and a definite " I don't make beds or clean up" from the manager. Less than impressed with the breakfast and wouldn't bother having it as part of a $150 package per night you would be better off taking the short walk to the bakery and getting a hot tasty meal. Beds did have electric blankets which was a pleasant surprise particularly in winter.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAZGLAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    82
    31
    11
    14
See reviews for
46
92
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights at the Carriage Motor Inn in Victoria's high country at Beechworth. We wanted a clean and comfortable motel in a quiet location and with only a short walk to the centre of the town. The Carriage Motor Inn adequately fulfilled all these requirements. We had asked for a room in a quiet part of the motel and were allocated Room 5 which was located on the corner of the "L" shaped motel. This room was square in shape and provided us with two windows facing on to the streets bounding two sides of the motel. Other rooms appeared to have one window facing the car park and one facing the street. Our room was very quiet and we heard no noise from adjoining rooms and very little noise from outside. The walls of this handsome room were brick and the roof was arched with natural wood beams. The room was adequately furnished with a large queen-sized bed with polished wood side tables, a very comfortable two-seater lounge, a coffee table, and a table with two chairs for breakfast. The large flat-screen television produced an excellent picture and sound. The room and bathroom were both very clean. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was charged as an extra but was both adequate and well cooked and presented. One nice touch was the cleaning of our car windscreens by management each morning. We found that we could walk to the centre of Beechworth in less than five minutes. One small discordant note was occasional sudden sharp changes in the temperature of the shower water, including change from warm to quite hot. An adult can cope with this easily but visitors with small children may need to monitor shower temperatures.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet location away from the entrance to the motel and reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bowenjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this motel for two nights. It is located within a very short walk to the town centre. Rooms are a little dark however that is only minor.
Our room must have had the largest TV of any motel that we have ever stayed in. It was the most comfortable to view from anywhere in the room.
Breakfast tray could include some serviettes please.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Good location in town so walking distance to shops and restaurants. Given vouchers for the bakery and free drink from a local hotel, also windscreen cleaned in the morning. Breakfast in room was very reasonably priced and substantial. Be aware that Beechworth is a very popular tourist destination over the holiday period so book a table at the local restaurants in the evenings.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne88888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Visited four years ago. The rooms have been renovated recently. Nice big flat screen TV. Fresh linen. Quite location. Our room was dark and require the light on through the day. Host helpful and friendly, even cleaned our windscreen the morning of departure. Nice touch.
We like Beechworth.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank wharatah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Room is:
- double with 2x single beds (as advertised)
- complimentary Wi-Fi
- large TV
- airconditioned
- ceiling fans
- cathedral ceilings
- clean

The accommodation is close proximity to restaurants and walking distance to local attractions.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbPk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We decided to stay in Beechworth another night after finding our day had been busy and we still had more to enjoy. This motel was close to town and had vacancies - we were very glad that we stayed. The room was very quiet, very clean and comfortable. Good hot shower. The host gave us good advice on where to eat. It was a very short walk to town centre and close to the pub. We had time to watch some television on the quite large screen tv, and one of the best things about the stay was that real milk was supplied for our cuppa! Much nicer that UHT.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c0untryc0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.9 mi away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn
0.3 mi away
Armour Motor Inn
Armour Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Beechworth
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Heritage Motor Inn & Cottages
0.5 mi away
Albertines Beechworth
Albertines Beechworth
#2 of 14 in Beechworth
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn

Property: Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
Address: 44 Camp St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are only steps away from many heritage listed buildings and we are surrounded by majestic liquid amber elm trees and overlook the historic Loddon hotel (now a private residence), yet only 200m from the Post Office, Historic Precinct and Visitor Information Centre. Also close by are vibrant cafes and shopping strip, including the famous Beechworth Bakery; award winning The Beechworth Sweet Co and Beechworth Honey Experience. Share our experience of the true region of Beechworth from our friendly welcome to local and regional information. You will love your clean, well setup room, relaxing outdoor areas and the easy two minute stroll to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing