We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location, lovely colonial rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Tumut, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect location, lovely colonial rooms.”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We have stayed here before and always feel very welcome when checking in. The day we stayed was very cold . Our room was already heated there were electric blankets on the bed and fresh milk in the fridge. The rooms have been updated since we were last here.The bathrooms have been done up and there is a huge digital TV. The rooms have the most beautiful timber cathedral ceilings and new colonial style furniture. After speaking to the owners about how lovely the rooms looked they said they didn't want to look like every other motel room. They said they wanted to keep with the historic feel of Beechworth. We think they are well on their way! That night we walked up to the Gigi's for dinner and than strolled around window shopping. Our breakfast was delivered to our room. the plates were hot and the portion sizes were good for the prices charged. I had scrambled eggs. They were the best eggs I have ever had. My partner had eggs,bacon and sausages. and couldn't eat it all. We love that they didn't pile everything on top of the toast as most places do. The motel offers free internet and laundry but we didn't use it this time.
The next day we bought some lovely cheeses and smoked trout from the cheese shop and some bread sticks from the bakery for our drive home.

Room Tip: Location is the best in town. away from the pubs and street noise but easy walking distance. Try the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicos a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    82
    31
    11
    14
See reviews for
46
92
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Fantastic location. Room was nice and clean. Great facilities too. Free internet, free laundry, and breakfast comes to your room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisamack68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubierae, Owner at Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for acknowledging the hard work our team put in to maintain our rooms. I have past it on to all of them. We try to anticipate what our guest would like and try to provide it for free where possible. Can you imagine life without free internet or having to lug washing powder around in your suitcase just so you can have clean clothes. We love to travel to and just those two things make holidaying so much easier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

When I booked over the phone the receptionist at motel asked what made me choose them. My reply was that you said you had "fluffy white towels" on your web site as a feature.
Well, I must way the towels were white but certainly not fluffy - in fact very thin. Wouldn't normally comment on such towels but it seems to be a selling point for the motel. Main complaint was that our room (No.11) was extremely dark. Probably OK if you arrived after dark and left before daylight but during daytime hours you needed all the lights on and that made the room quite depressing. Room certainly clean and big tv screen great feature.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bacchusntiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubierae, Owner at Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for your review. I have passed your comments on to C and M linen our linen suppliers as we pay extra to receive higher quality linen. They assure me that our linen will be upgraded.
We are aware that at certain times of the day our rooms can be a little on the dark side But this is due to the Majestic elm trees that surround our property and it is a small price to pay for the spectacular display they put on year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cymru
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Stayed here last year with my partner and 2 children, and having stayed in numerous other hotels, guest houses and self catering accomodation in Beechworth I would have to say that this is the worst place we have stayed in Beechworth. Very basic rooms which are in desperate need of updating, found the middle aged man in reception rather unprofessional and not very welcoming, kept on commenting on my accent! which is something I have never experienced before in any establishment that I have stayed at before. But to finish on a positive, it is well located.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattcymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubierae, Owner at Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
We are in the process of upgrading our rooms. But theses things take time. So far we have replaced all of the bathrooms, beds and bedding, brought all new stainless steel appliances, installed a guest laundry and wireless internet as well as replacing all of the lounge and dining settings. In 2011 we hope to replace all of the benches and wardrobes and put in new curtains.
As for the comment on your accent we do apologize. My father has the same accent. Brian made a comment about my dad and was in no way referring to you. We cannot apologize enough if we unintentionally caused offense. Please contact us so we may offer you a free room night on us by way of our sincerest apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Oldish motel that delivers what can be expected. The rooms, although with old furniture, were clean, quiet and roomy. A large flatscreen tv had also been installed.
I chose this motel as it had free internet and it worked really well. Good on ya!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hdpxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We always come back to this place. It's centrally located. Offers great value, especially if you book through wotif. The rooms are large, reasonably well appointed. Beds are comfortable. Bathrooms are renovated. Only issues were lack of hand towel, no exhaust fan in our last room - 15 and tea/coffee wasn't replaced each day. Having said that, we had real milk (very welcome) and the cooked breakfast of bacon and eggs was included in the price of the room. The TV is very large. The electric blankets were a god-send. We went for a long walk to Cascade Falls from Woolshed Falls. We love the Woolshed Falls area. We also enjoyed the Gorge drive, stopping at sunset to take photos. We ate at the Green Shed on our first night - a bit of a let-down. Nice looking place, but the food was overpriced and not great. We fared better on our second night with an excellent meal at Gigi's - can't wait to get back there. We had good coffee and cheese at Larder Beechworth. We took a wide berth from the Beechworth Bakery - can't understand what all the fuss is about. It's mediocre bread and pastries/cakes. Much better bread and produce at the local green grocers just up from Gigi's!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissBossyBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Central Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We spent 1 night here with 2 adults and 2 kids. We had the family room which consisted of a double bed and 2 singles. Very warm, cosy and clean room with tea and coffee facilities.

Off road parking at our door and a yummy room service breakfast made this a comfortable stay. We were directed by the owners to a fantastic pub meal just down the road, and some great driving directions for our onward trip.

It is situated a very close walk to the main street of Beechworth that has many shops, cafes and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattred74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.9 mi away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn
0.3 mi away
Armour Motor Inn
Armour Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Beechworth
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Heritage Motor Inn & Cottages
0.5 mi away
Albertines Beechworth
Albertines Beechworth
#2 of 14 in Beechworth
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn

Property: Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
Address: 44 Camp St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are only steps away from many heritage listed buildings and we are surrounded by majestic liquid amber elm trees and overlook the historic Loddon hotel (now a private residence), yet only 200m from the Post Office, Historic Precinct and Visitor Information Centre. Also close by are vibrant cafes and shopping strip, including the famous Beechworth Bakery; award winning The Beechworth Sweet Co and Beechworth Honey Experience. Share our experience of the true region of Beechworth from our friendly welcome to local and regional information. You will love your clean, well setup room, relaxing outdoor areas and the easy two minute stroll to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing