We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, friendly helpful operators.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Heritage Motor Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great value, friendly helpful operators.”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Saturday night stay, very friendly hosts, lovely quiet location big rooms. Nice firm kingsize beds, great view over valley and verry quiet. Great sleep. Had great new Samsung Tv, good Sky collection. Location a lttle more than shrt walk from town. Very good heat/cooling pump.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1JayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    38
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
70
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
5,328 reviews
389 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,886 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed in a cottage and it had all the facilities you would need - kitchen etc
Basic on one hand but comfortable and rooms are spacious.
Free wi-fi was a big help and Anne was very helpful with suggestions for dinner and what to do locally.
Although not in town, it is only a 5 minute drive and this was not an issue.
We were there over Christmas and any questions of warmth and blankets (see below) were not relevant.
I have a personal dislike for doonas so would have been happier with blankets.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were so happy with our stay here- our room was large, attractive and contemporary, and looked out over a really beautiful garden with an amazing valley behind- what a spot! The owners were incredibly nice and helpful, and really knowledgeable about all the things going on in town. We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else after this.

And Beechworth itself is a knock-out- what a stunning town, with fantastic food and shopping (let alone all the historical aspects). It's so worth a trip- we really think it's the best town in Victoria.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back look out over the garden and valley-really wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuckerMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Golden Heritage and enjoyed the experience very much. Our room was at the back, overlooking a valley, and we watched the rabbits hopping around and listened to the frogs in the pond.

The room was pleasantly large and comfortable; the bathroom, however, was not up to the same standard. There was a problem with the door, too, with the lock not working properly.

Although the owners were away, their replacements were pleasant and helpful.

The property is just over 1km from the centre of Beechworth. The town is charming, with old buildings and great restaurants - plus the excellent Bridge Road Brewery. The place wasn't very lively, but we were there during the week, and apparently a lot was happening over the weekend. (Think a smaller, quieter Daylesford.)

Room Tip: Get a room out the back: nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacomb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Inevitably, if you travels a lot, you end up comparing accommodation experiences. From this standpoint, I found this motel rather disappointing.The room here was large and clean, the bathroom was good, there was an excellent new TV and the heating system was very good. The lady in charge was friendly. The location is quite close to the town.
However, there were two downsides to this motel. First, a motel without a restaurant usually allows for a certain amount of self-sufficiency for clients. That is the usual difference between a motel and a hotel. This motel did not. There was a microwave in the room but no cutlery and no plates (other than cups and glasses). So what was the point of having a microwave? Second, in this day and age one expects to have duvets (doonas) on the bed, not blankets. Even having electric blankets does not provide the same level of comfort. Hence, though I usually err on being generous in my reviews, I would only grade this motel as average

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My 2nd (hopefully of many) visit to this delightful part of the world & again Ann & Bill went above & beyond in caring for me with their supreme service, friendliness & fkexibility. Thank you so much for making me feel right at home.
Paula A.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Beechworth is very well located in terms of access to two premier wine regions and also has an interesting range of restaurants, cafes and visitor attractions. The Golden Heritage is located on the outskirts of Beechworth and a car comes in very handy. However, the quality of the Motor Inn makes up for the distance and the owner, Bill, readily volunteers to drive you in and out of the town centre if you are dining and drinking. Our room was spacious and contained a queen plus a single, had free satellite TV, a well appointed bathroom, good heating and air-conditioning and while facing the highway, was very quiet. Overall, we enjoyed a two day stay and found the motor inn to be a perfect base for our visit to the King Valley wine region.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenR285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
1.5 mi away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn
0.9 mi away
Armour Motor Inn
Armour Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Beechworth
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
1.1 mi away
Albertines Beechworth
Albertines Beechworth
#2 of 14 in Beechworth
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Heritage Motor Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Heritage Motor Inn & Cottages

Property: Golden Heritage Motor Inn & Cottages
Address: 51 Sydney Rd, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Heritage Motor Inn & Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil retreat in Historic Beechworth. Relax and enjoy the Beechworth sunsets from the balcony of our refurbished 4 Star Executive King rooms or choose our fully renovated Queen Rooms. Golden Heritage Motor Inn is a member of the Golden Chain Group of motels. Our 4 Star King Rooms have been totally renovated and feature king beds, leather lounge chairs, 106cm Plasma television, sink and microwave, Enjoy the Beechworth sunsets from the outdoor balcony with views of the Beechworth Gorge and surrounding bush.The Queen rooms offer a queen bed and spacious facilities including 81cm. LCD television. All the Motel rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, toaster, split system heating/cooling, ceiling fans, wireless internet access and free Austar movie channels and Fox Sports channels. The swimming pool and BBQ facilities are available to all guests to use at their leisure. Golden Heritage Motor Inn has a courtesy vehicle which is available for guests to catch to the middle of town or to their favourite restaurant. Your comfort for short or long term stays is ensured. Golden Heritage Motor Inn is the perfect place to stay on your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Heritage Motor Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing