We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't want to leave.......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Freeman on Ford B&B
Ranked #1 of 14 Beechworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave.......”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We didn't want to pack our suitcase after staying 4 nights at the magnificent Freedman on Ford. So much thought has gone into decorating the rooms which has resulted in rooms that are unique and very special. It makes the minimalist hotel rooms look so bland and boring.

Heidi is a thoughtful and caring hostess who takes great pride in ensuring that her guests are well looked after. The breakfasts and afternoon teas are delicious so make sure you pack clothes with elastic waists!

Beechworth is a delightful town to visit. Lots of good restaurants and homeware shops and historical sites to explore.

I can't recommend Freedman on Ford and Beechworth highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear K, thank you for your family's four day stay - greatly appreciated. It was my pleasure meeting such a lovely family and everything seemed so smooth whilst you were there as you were all great conversationalists and easy going. In a rushed world, my world is so much easier when one meets such genuine and genteel people. It was great sharing your company. Sincerely, H xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
349
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

What a wonderful experience it was staying at Freeman on Ford in Beechworth. The way Heidi shared her passion for Beechworth and her renovating experiences was really delightful. The rooms are just exquisite and very comfortable. Her attention to detail is second to none! I personally loved the tapestries and beautiful wooden furniture. Breakfast was generous and very delicious. We were really made to feel at home and would love to return some day.
Beechworth is a fascinating historic town and walking the streets, looking through the many historic buildings was, really enjoyable.

Room Tip: All the rooms are absolutely beautiful. I would have been extremely happy in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear M, we were delighted to accommodate yourself/husband both daughters and two mums for a family get together. I hardly noticed you all there even though you booked four rooms! You were gracious and very easy to get along with. It was great to see the two grandmothers so well looked after and I think to have 3 generations holidaying together was really special. It seemed that you had so much fun exploring the area with drives/walks and thank you for supporting us. We also love it when people appreciate the fine details and quality of a detailed venue & our food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The sense of a homely, caring and loving location. The owners went above and beyond to accommodate us and making sure we were comfortable and enjoying our stay. Not to mention the room was beautiful and relaxing. If I could give a higher rating I would. This is a must stay location.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms overlooking the French themed gardens are almost magical during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 108benb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Ben, it was lovely to read your review; kind and sincere and very much appreciated. Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Thank you to Heidi for a wonderful 3 nights in her magnificent B & B. The excellent position in the centre of town enables you to walk around historic Beechworth without having to drive anywhere. Our hostess was attentive in every way and we enjoyed the wonderful generous breakfast each morning and the delicious afternoon tea along with the evening port and chocolate. The restoration of this building and the attention to detail is amazing. We patrticularly enjoyed our welcome afternoon tea sitting on the verandah overlooking the pool area. A very professionally run B&B and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joy187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear J & D, It was my pleasure meeting such a lovely couple and sharing lovely conversations and I was the richer for it! Thank you for being so kind to me whilst running the place on my own. Your company and graciousness was very appreciated. Sincerely, Heidi xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at Freeman for two nights and it was a wonderful weekend. Heidi is the ultimate host, providing tours and background information on the property, really connecting you to the history of the building. The breakfast and afternoon tea etc were gorgeous. We cannot speak more highly of the place! The perfect romantic getaway!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear S and B, it was great that you both used your initiative and visited the beautiful wineries on our bikes. It was inspiring to see how you both took the time to see what this beautiful area has to offer and it was lovely to see a couple so much in love. Kindest regards, your host, Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Perfectly positioned on the main street of quaint Beechworth, Freeman on Ford sets the standard for romantic getaways. From the moment we were greeted at the door by our cheerful host we knew we had discovered a very special place. Freeman on Ford is everything a B&B should be and more! A must for all romantics out there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyScanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear J & J, it is our pleasure to have made your stay as romantic and quiet as possible as I know how precious it is to have time together int his rushed world. We are delighted that you could spend quality time and it was heartwarming to know that you loved your time together was so special. With love, Heidi and Jimx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Was a great place to stay for a much needed weekend away with my bride. Beautifully restored and extended and we were pampered with great food and service while we were there. We will be back next time we need the batteries recharged.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear G & M, It is great that you felt better after staying with us and it was great that you loved the silver service afternoon tea. It is gratifying to know guests have an oasis in the middle of the town and we appreciate your kind comments and hope that you will recharge well next time :) :) :) Look forward to hosting you both next time and we will certainly let people know about your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.8 mi away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finches of Beechworth
Finches of Beechworth
#3 of 14 in Beechworth
551 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albertines Beechworth
Albertines Beechworth
#2 of 14 in Beechworth
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Armour Motor Inn
Armour Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Beechworth
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freeman on Ford B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeman on Ford B&B

Property: Freeman on Ford B&B
Address: 97 Ford St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Freeman on Ford B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the top B&B in Australia in TripAdvisor’s Travellers’ Choice 2013 awards, Freeman on Ford is Beechworth's only 5 Star accredited B&B - and it has held this accreditation since 2005. Freeman on Ford has also won national HMAA awards for Excellence in 2010 and 2011 and is Eco Friendly Accredited. Here you can choose from two options in luxury accommodation - Victorian era rooms upstairs or 1930's style rooms overlooking the private swimming pool downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Freeman on Ford B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing