We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Victorian, very pretty”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rose Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rose Cottage
Ranked #12 of 14 Beechworth B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Victorian, very pretty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

I wondered what I'd booked when we arrived - very Victorian beautifully kept, and a bedroom absolutely over the top, furnished with lace-draped canopy bed, NINE pillows on the bed, a little bear dressed in a nightie and pearls, white damask duvet cover, very fine cotton lace- trimmed sheets. Hard to beat the impression of being completely out-of-time, all the furniture was of the right period and beautifully kept. Not our usual style, but magnificent of its type! And oh, the spa bath was pretty good, and the wee deck just right for a quiet read with a coffee. It was Christmas and the garden was decorated completely with Christmas lights, hard to find an empty space. Very kitch, but hard to fault of its kind. Even the decorations inside were period pieces. Location perfect, Beechwood is a lovely little town and well placed to explore the wine and food of the region. (And don't forget to find the Aboriginal cave paintings. Locals don't think much of them, but we were very impressed.)

Room Tip: We asked for the room with the spa bath - it looked like the largest in the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleoplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Rose Cottage for 1 night and loved it! The Rose Cottage is only a short walk from the main street of Beechworth. The house is beautifully decorated in a Victorian era theme. The interior décor and garden are amazing. Tony and Lyn’s attention to detail is fantastic! We stayed in the Cameo Rose room and were impressed by the beautiful antique furniture and large ensuite bathroom, which was impeccably clean. The port and chocolates on arrival were a nice touch. A full breakfast was included in the $125 tariff. The breakfast was delicious and extremely generous! Definitely value of money! I would highly recommend The Rose Cottage.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaW89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington Peninsula
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

My husband and I, with our 13 year old son, booked one night at The Rose Cottage, and when we saw the place we wanted to stay another night. Unfortunately for us, due to its popularity it was sold out. The port and chocolates on arrival made us feel totally at home. The gardens and interior decor provide guests with hours of interest making it clear that the owners have invested a great deal of time to make you feel as though you are a part of the 1800's - right down to the beautiful crockery and cutlery used for a delicious cooked breakfast.

As others have said, the location is within an easy walking distance of the main street which is very convenient if you just want to stroll the shops and local sights. We certainly recommend The Rose Cottage.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boadecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Rose Cottage has been operating as a B&B for over 20 years apparently, and the friendly owners know exactly what they are doing and provide a very good level of service. It's personal, but not intrusive.
Rose cottage is located near the main drag - but well placed in a quiet side street, so avoids any noise. The house has four guest rooms, each with its own en-suite and decorated with a slightly different Victorian era "theme." Breakfast is extremely generous, served around a large communal table, where you chat to other guests. In winter the lounge room has a wood fire roaring, although the house also has very effective central heating. Beds are big and comfortable.
The Victoriana mentioned by other reviewers might not be to everyone's liking - I find it a bit TOO cluttered - but the furnishings are clearly the owners passion and sort of become the trademark of the place. I've stayed twice and would happily do so again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

My Wife and I satyed 2 nights in this wonderful little B&B just off the main street in Beechworth. The house is decorated very much in the Victorian style and it was interesting just walking through and looking.

We stayed in the Ivory room which was very clean with excellent attention to detail. I am a big unit (6'4") but I found the wrought iron bed to be very comfortable, as did my wife - so comfortable we both nearly slept in past breakfast. The ensuite was spotless and well appointed.

Breakfast was excellent. My only complaint would be that even at lunchtime I was too full to try the pies Beechworth is famous for. Tony and Lyn were perfect hosts, Tony welcomed us when we arrived and showed us around but then retreated and left us to our own devices. He was also very helpful in answering questions and directing us to points of interest around the district.

The rooms were very quiet. There were other guests staying when we were there but the only time we saw or (more importantly) heard them was at breakfast.

I have no hesitation recommending The Rose Cottage and would definitely stay there again should the opportunity arise.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RELTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

Fabulous location and quaint accommodation. The Christmas decorations inside and out were outstanding. A pleasure to visit. Breakfast very well done too.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank froggyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
163 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

Stayed just one night in the Tudor Rose Room. It featured dusty pink tones and a spa bath in the en suite. We weren't tempted by the spa but found the small side private verandah just the place for an afternoon gin and tonic. The location is perfect and the street really did quieten down once darkness fell.

Enjoyed a home cooked breakfast the next day and chatted with the other guests. We would stay at The Rose Cottage in future and recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beechworth Motor Inn
0.9 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Old Priory
The Old Priory
#11 of 14 in Beechworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
0.2 mi away
Armour Motor Inn
Armour Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Beechworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose Cottage

Property: The Rose Cottage
Address: 42 Camp St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rose Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing