We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation in a beautiful setting”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Beechworth, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FansofSer...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Excellent accommodation in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed March 26, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The setting next to Serengale's Vineyard was lovely. Being able to pick the fresh produce from the garden was a bonus. It was wonderful to relax after a day's sightseeing of the local tourist spots in the beautifully kept swimming pool. A lot of thought and good taste has been put in to setting up and decorating this Retreat. Local art was interesting to view.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The experience went beyond my expectations!”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I smiled the minute we drove up and saw the beautiful gum trees lining the driveway and the rest of the relaxing surroundings. There were horses, sheep and lovely birds. We're from America and I have to admit...other choices I've made online turned out really disappointing. Typically, photos you view, plus discriptions make it look and sound far better than what you actually get. (No matter how much you choose to spend). Not at Serengale. I felt so proud to my family that I found a jackpot!
When we stepped in and looked around it was meticulous... not to mention tastefully furnished and decorated! Everything was so comfortable, from the couches and chairs, right down to the great sheets and pillows. Now that in itself is a find!
I'm a person who appreciates yummy food and wine, plus I enjoy cooking and baking. The kitchen (really) was equipped to suit!
Serena, (our super-friendly beautiful host) made us feel "at home". We were welcomed with a refreshing bottle of Chardonnay and a refrigerator filled with breakfast provisions. Excellent! There was also an option for a BBQ hamper filled with delicious, tender steaks, sausages, salad, etc. that we enjoyed with our friends. (Who we come to see every year) There is NO question here...we will be back. Just next time, longer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine7...
1 review
“Perfect place”
Reviewed February 25, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Serengale is a sensational place to stay if you are after a peaceful relaxing time. Near the wineries (about 10 mins drive to Beechworth) it was a stunning location with magnificent views and great outdoor areas. Everything was beautifully presented inside and out. Serena was a fabulous host who provided a warm welcome and some lovely local treats.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanie2...
Colac, Australia
1 review
“Serengale retreat”
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights and had the best weekend away here. Huge house and property and the pool was great! Very neat and tidy and so relaxing. Also really close to Beechworth and the many food and wine places around the area. Would definitely reccomend serengale retreat for anyone wanting a romantic getaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinshaw
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, lovely host and immaculate facilities”
Reviewed February 1, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Group of 9 people stayed for Opera in the Alps. Wonderful, clean facilities. Already booked for next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel_Nu...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Private country luxury retreat with plenty of nearby attractions”
Reviewed January 23, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had an amazing stay at Serengale Retreat, it exceeded all of our expectations and then some. The property itself is amazing - 5 bedrooms with two separate living areas, the house is beautifully renovated and appointed and well suited for two families/groups to share. We went as two families with kids, and there was plenty of room for everyone but the split zones made it easy to manage things like noise and sleep timing for the younger ones.

Amazing kitchen setup, large dining area next to undercover outdoor eating and BBQ, it's very spacious and practical. Both bathrooms are large and accommodating - the master ensuite has a shower larger than some kitchens I've experienced, and the central bathroom has a great bath and oversized shower. Beds are really comfortable too.

Outside, the saltwater pool is a good size and really well designed, shallow enough with steps to sit around but deep enough at one end to cater for tall people. The kids loved the salt pool, no irritation. The property is so private that skinny dipping after the kids went to bed wasn't an issue either (and nudists will love this place, heaps of privacy and 14 acres makes it really open). There's lots of native bushland on the property, with its own walking track and plenty of wildlife (and didn't see a single snake).

Originally we thought it might be in the middle of nowhere, but it is surprisingly close to Beechworth and Wangaratta, and not that far away from Albury/Yarrawonga and even over the border. This meant plenty of activities were within reach, but we were able to return to this lovely sanctuary and relax, cool off in the pool and enjoy the serenity.

The owners are lovely and have a great winery next door, definitely worth booking in a tasting for the wine drinkers. It's not the cheapest accommodation around but split with two families makes it quite reasonable for the amount of privacy, luxury and open space (and a pool!). They've really set up a well thought out and beautifully appointed retreat, and we definitely recommend it to everyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh_Jule...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place to lie back, read and take in the greenery”
Reviewed January 11, 2017 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay back in October at this stylish retreat. It proved to be the perfect setting to read with a lovely glass of wine. Just a short drive from the beautiful town of Beechworth, this well lit, generously sized accommodation with ample break out space for quiet time proved to be the perfect accommodation for our weekend away.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing