We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barwon Heads
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Gym is really bad, machines don't work .
Room floors have never seen a clean
Windows are shocking
Lights in car park are switched of at night
Extra bedding in the wardrobe had marks on them .

Restraint staff were so rude and we never used it. They come in the gym and complain about the noise from the music in the gym. It's not a gym it's a room .

This has to be the worst hotel we have paid for so far.

Gave them feed back but they are not interested . They get the money so nothing will change

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HazelTiaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    34
    26
    10
    17
See reviews for
39
41
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The beaches at Barwon Heads and Ocean Grove were recommended to me as the best in Victoria - and the surf at Ocean grove was beautiful - so I looked for a family hotel in the area.

When you drive in through the gates to the golf club you really feel very special, and the grounds are immaculate.

The hotel is only so-so, and they aren't really making the effort. I guess they have enough people who want to stay on the course and the management don't have to keep on top of maintenance issues.

So. The hotel apartments are situated on two floors around a narrow tree filled courtyard. There is a restaurant at one end of the courtyard. Seemed okay, if overpriced. The website advertises the hotel as a Mecca for health tourists. But the gym is badly dilapidated, with broken machines (cross trainer), dangerous wiring, and is situated through a glass panel to the restaurant - so noise is a problem for diners ... if anyone actually used the run down gym.

The pool was cold - not heart attack but not warm - the sea was warmer. There was a paddling pool at one end. On day two I realised that this was actually a spa! Controls broken. Worn so badly that must have been out of use for several years. No effort to repair. (As mentioned - they don't need to; they have a captive market)

Also at one end of the pool, their seemed to be some vestiges of a "dancing fountains" display, including lights; but these didn't work, may never have worked. Who knows. Probably not even the management.

The apartment was fairly clean. Two bedroom apartment was quite large; big living area, basic kitchen, reasonable sized bedrooms with comfy beds. The double / king was two singles pushed together. Shower room (not bath) Shower and toilet could use a plumber's loving care - one didn't run - the other ran too much. (Again - captive market, management don't need to bother.)

Service at check in was attentive. Got some extra towels without excessive begging. Service at check out was non-existent, "Reception doesn't open till 9" Don't know if they got my bill right. We shall see.

So. Very beautiful grounds. Nice walk to the beach through the golf course. Longer than they said though. Restaurant seemed okay. Pool cool but clean. Spa not working. Management not bothered.

Pretentious people. My partner says she doesn't want to stay on a golf course again. I quite liked it, but I see what she means.

Room Tip: Might as well get a first floor room looking out over the driving range to the sea. Beautiful view i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bright
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed at Barwon Heads Resort during the busy Victorian Open Golf weekend. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Resort was peaceful and relaxing, breakfast was outstanding. Rooms were very quiet, well sound proofed from any noise outside and of a superb standard throughout. Parking and access around the Resort is easy and being within the 36 hole 13th Beach Golf Club, you are literally miles from any traffic or 'town' noises and as the whole golf course and resort is a gated complex it is private and quiet, which is exactly what we were hoping for. We can't wait to go back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor facing the golf course, opposite side to the carpark, this was a peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Attended a wedding here in February. The staff were very generous and hospitable. I loved the prawn canapés and the attention to detail with the food. My duck main was delicious, as were the scallops entree.
The outside area is lovely at night with the stars and the moon shining.
Very nice experience overall.

Room Tip: Didn't stay, just attended a wedding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusannahPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I would not recommend this venue to anyone at the present time. We arrived after 3pm and found that we were not able to check in and had to wait for half an hour. This happened to others in our party as well. Despite requests, check-out remained strictly 10am. Do not use the restaurant as the food is poor and very, very over-priced. The food came out at varying times with several people having finished before others got their meal. One person in our party did not get her entre even when we had all finished. In the end she did not get one at all and ate her mains after we had all finished! The next night was even worse with wrong orders and very over-priced food. At one stage I noticed one of the staff pick up ice from the floor and put it into a water jug! One wonders what happened behind the scenes!! Unfortunately there is no alternative venue to eat at within several kilometres. I suggest that management needs to improve greatly before anyone visits.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barwon Heads hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
248 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights after our Gread Ocean Drive. The purpose was just to relax and have some good golf and food. This is a well-managed resort with tastefully furnished self-contained apartment. Other than a fantastic 36-hole golf course, it also has a swimming pool and a small gym. Checking in was a wonderful experience as the reception were friendly and helpful. I was unable to book a Stay and Play Package online and asked to convert my booking to one (since it works out to be relatively cheaper with breakfast included). The reception was able to do that for us with little fuss. The rooms are tastefully furtnished (though the couch was too soft for us), well-equipped kitchen (you can cook a storm in it but we only used the microwave). It has a huge balcony which overlooks the golf course. The toilet is spacious but has spotlights which can really spot heat your body (careful with that!). The bedroom is spacious, clean, quiet and bed comfortable. There is only one air cond in the studio apartment which is located in the sitting/kitchen area and since the bedroom is separated from the sitting/kitchen area by the toilet, the bedroom can be quite stuffy (there are windows in the bedroom but we were not comfortable opening them at night when we sleep as the windows face the walking corridors). Thankfully, the weather was not that warm at nght. There is no phone in the room and no in-room safes. I found no in-room safes an inconvenience as we are international travellers and we had to carry our travel documents with us when we golfed! I had an unfortunate accident on the last day as I stood admiring the beautiful view from the balcony, the screen door fell on my head with the steel edge hitting me - my head is still sore after 3 days! I completed the survey form informing the resort to check the screen doors frequently. There's a huge laundry room which is free of charge for guests. Take note that it closes at 6 pm and the door gets locked at that time - so do time your washing hours.

I really want to praise the chef in this establishment. When I booked the room, I was informed that the restaurant is closed from Monday to Thursday - i.e. no meals at all are served in the restaurant though I can still get some food from the shop at the golf club. However, to my pleasant surprise, the chef and staff agreed to cook breakfasts and dinner for us! All the meals are fantastic in taste and appearance and service is so good. The chef is a truly passionate and innovative chef.

Despite the accident of havin a screen door falling on my head, it was a good holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for golf facing rooms. We had our room on the second level - though you have to walk up the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

we stayed over a weekend in a 2 bedroom. Very spacious & bedrooms excellent. Couch was a little uncomfortable and the cleaning needs to be upgraded! there were dead bugs/moths all over the place inside and we couldnt go and eat on our balcony as the floor was filthy. the pool was fantastic, kids loved it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barwon Heads
9.0 mi away
Wyndham Resort Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay
#3 of 5 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
11.6 mi away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#2 of 17 in Geelong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
8.0 mi away
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
RACV Torquay Resort
RACV Torquay Resort
#1 of 5 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
7.4 mi away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.8 mi away
Riverside Ocean Grove
Riverside Ocean Grove
#1 of 2 in Ocean Grove
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach

Property: Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach
Address: 36 Golf Links Rd, Barwon Heads, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3227, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Barwon Heads
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barwon Heads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the serene surrounds of 13th Beach Golf Links, Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach provides self-contained accommodation ideal for a family seaside holiday, stay and play golf packages and is a stylish venue for a wedding or conference. Enjoy a game of golf or tennis, or walk to 13th Beach surf beach. If golf is not your game, explore the nearby seaside village of Barwon Heads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Barwon Heads
Barwon Heads Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing