We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COMMENTS:VEHICLE DETAILS:Vehicle: 2012 KIA SPORTAGE Km: 180Price: $37,990.00 Drive Away No More to”
Review of Barwon Heads Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barwon Heads
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barwon Heads Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Barwon Heads B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Hubby & I had the pleasure of staying in accommadation that looks well past it's use by date!! The pleasure was ~ the service, friendliness, cleanliness , and professional demeanor of all staff we met yesterday! Our room was like stepping back forty years, decor wise! Badly needing new curtains!! But this clean, generous and gracious, tired but respectable accomadtion made us feel like it needed people to see its glory days may be long gone but for the money we paid, we got was something in return, which is sadly lacking in many upmarket hotels, motels. It will not be the old tv, or bed covers, or curtains...that we'll recall, . But the sparkling clean enviroment, the generous quantities of towels, toiletries, all provided by helpful friendly BEN and co!!! Don't dwell on whats lacking, enjoy that a good old hospitality, good service it still does exist!!!
Our meal lovely, was Very tasty, hot, the great steak my hubby had, perfect!!!! both meals presented nicely, deserts delicious & great coffee, all served by Kyle and ? (Sorry - but professional person also!!) Didn't catch your name! Who was in kitchen we don't know - but also would say thanks for good meal , at reasonable price !!!
NZ SAV BLANC ( Secret Stone) at $9 a glass bit pricy as $15 buys you a whole bottle at supermkt. But that was forgivable !!!~ Due to attentive professional staff! All we can say is well done people! We will come back one day! Kyle Ben and others are a terrific balance making our stay enjoyable! Don't stay on weekend if loud band music isn't your thing! But a quiet Monday night, was just what we needed, after a big family wedding!!! Thankyou to all !

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PheobeVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 125 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

As you cross the barwon river the hotel has magnificant exposure, unfortunately not much can be said about the actual hotel. The public bar reeks of staleness and has a foul stinch to it. It is then accompanied by the dirtiest glassware to be found shared with one of the worst chicken parmigiana that you can only do yourself a favour by not eating. The prices are rediculously overated and compared to first class get - ways found in our beautiful country this is quite clearly the last place that I would suggest to anyone!!! The staff dont want to be there and by the look of the emptiness in the main bistro neither do the locals! What a pity all show and no go!!

Room Tip: Do yourself a favour stay and eat somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aggrecrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

A terrible, tiny room without even a phone! The bed's were so uncomfortable and the noise from the pub downstairs kept us up all night! I had to sleep on the single bed because the double was too small for me and my husband! The bathroom was too small for someone who is not anorexic. A hostel would have been better! No service! Stay away! We could hear drunk people screaming all night and chanting!I couldn't wait to get home! No remote controls or proper heating!

Room Tip: Stay away from the cheaper rooms! They are awful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I cannot warn you enough this pub/bistro was the final stop of a family day trip, we decided to have lunch there only to be faced with paying $28 for fish and chips, now we had a desicion to make stay or leave we took a chance and hoped that the high meal price would deliver exceptional service and high food quality, well what we should have done was visit the local fish and chip shop pay $6 for fish and chips and eat in the carpark. Food was nothing less than packet fish and packet chips, the service was non exsistant we felt robbed and realised why the place was empty on a sunny Sunday arvo. Give it a miss drive ten minutes further down the road to Queenscliffe and eat there.

Room Tip: Dont even consider eating at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Chainsawversustree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Decided to head down to the coast for the weekend and booked into the pub. To be honest wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. The room was comfortable in a great location. Decided to eat in the bistro and found the Chicken parma to be one of the best I have had, the beer was cold with a good variety and the service was good. A great place to visit will definitely head back in the summer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed there over a weekend- in standard rooms.
You could hear nearly every word/scream from gaming rooms underneah. Then it started entertaintment ( concert) till I guess midnight, then clearing/tiding up/bashing stuff till 2 am. Extremely loud!!!
And there's an old loud compressor near the window- still working, unfortunatelly.
And view- rusted compressor, roofs and washing on a line.
Sagging bed, power break-ups.
WEEKEND FROM HELL!!!
When booking- ask for room with the view and don't go there over weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Old line: "Can't complain about the service tonight - there was none!"

From the bar maid, to the male attendant, to the manager, I've never had such atrocious service in 15 mins of 'attempting' to get a bottle of Riesling.

Will not be back... No matter what.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RGSCEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barwon Heads
2.1 mi away
Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach
7.1 mi away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
474 reviews
10.2 mi away
Torquay Hotel
Torquay Hotel
#2 of 6 in Torquay
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seahaven Village
Seahaven Village
#2 of 3 in Barwon Heads
52 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Barwon Heads Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barwon Heads Hotel

Address: 1 Bridge Rd, Barwon Heads, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3227, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Barwon Heads
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Barwon Heads
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing