We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Welcoming”
Review of Avoca Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avoca Cottages
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Booked two nights here so we could do some wine tasting in the area. Had a great time.
Five little cottages around a green with barbeque grills and a delightful sitting deck complete with tables. Backs to a golf course where we went walking. Not glamorous, but clean, well kept and modern.
Our cottage was a one bedroom, with kitchen (with coffee maker!), eating and sitting areas. Sitting area had massage chair and futon so it could have slept four. Clean and fresh and perfectly equipped. Bed was comfortable with crisp linens. Bath was spacious with shower over spa tub. All was well maintained and showed the pride of the management!
And the best part was the friendly and warm welcome from the management. A shouted hello when they saw us coming and going, ready directions and suggestions for near-by facilities. I feel I have a friend in Avoca! Thank you!
Yes, would return.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SHVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

We booked in here at short notice instead of our initial plan to go to Maryborough. What a good decision! Cottages in a small garden setting, well off the main road, and with a large deck overlooking the bush.Cockatoos all around you, dozens of butterflies in the lavender and a very friendly host taking care of everything..
The large cottages are well equipped with all you need. Or even more than you'd typically get like a 'real' coffee machine. And we especially enjoyed the high-tech electric massage chair, Just the right thing after a day of cycling.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TouringCyclists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here in the middle of July. Cold, but the cottage was well heated by reverse cycle heater in lounge / kitchen, Nobo panel heater in bedroom, and combination heater / fan / light in bathroom.
Free continental breakfast of Fruit, cereal and toast.
Room include an excellent and easy to use pod type coffee machine. The very friendly owner provided as many pods as we wished. Made excellent coffee, but fresh mild was required, and only long life milk provided in fridge. Drank black coffee after first effort with LL milk.
Cottage had nice views over gold course, but not full length windows, so not visible when seated.
Cottages situated away from the main highway in a nice quite area.
WARNING: The highway has large double B wheat trucks going through the town at least one a minute, going by our rough count as we had a meal at the local Victoria Hotel situated in the main street. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND ANY HOTEL IN AVOCA SITUATED ON THE MAIN STREET. Full trucks heading south were loud enough, but the empty trucks heading north boomed as they hit any bump in the road.
OTHER: Good sizes LCD TV. Free wireless internet access. Nice spa in bathroom. Great massage chair. Couch in lounge room was a little lumpy, but I sat and watched TV in the comfortable massage chair.
Finally, this cottage would have to be the cleanest room I have stayed in in Australia. Absolutely spotless.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary_Radley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We would have probably stayed longer here if we'd had the time. We were on our way back to Melbourne at the end of our trip and were just looking for an overnight stay. Really comfortable and well equipped cottages - very relaxing. The view is lovely - real bushland with loads of birds. The wi-fi worked and was no extra charge, the spa bath was great as was the massage chair, coffee machine and filtered water. All things we wouldn't have expected for the price.
The owners Deborah and Mark were both really friendly and welcoming and offered us great advice on where we could go next. In fact we changed our plans because of this and were very glad we did. Ballarat was great and we ended up staying the night there before heading for Tullamarine the next morning.
Would definitely go back to Avoca Cottages again! Thanks.

Room Tip: There are only 5 cottages and am pretty sure they are equally comfortable. We particularly wanted wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We liked it so much we decided to stay longer than planned.

Location in very nice surrounded by big trees, a river, a golf course... and very near to most of what the town has to offer.
The public area has a BBQ and a very nice panoramic terrace facing the sunset, so cool!!

Cottages are really comfortable and well kitted, A/C, free internet, spa bath, massage chair, TV, MP3-HIFI, Nespresso-type coffee maker, water purifier, mosquito screens in all windows, and plenty more.

Mark, the owner, really makes a difference being extremely welcoming, helpful, knowledgeable, non-intrusive and ready to accommodate to your needs.

We really enjoyed it!

Just as in any other natural environment don'f forget mosquito repellent when outdoors (indoors no problem as they are equipped with mosquito-UV-killer).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiceCoupleTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avoca hotels
0.6 mi away
Avoca Motel
Avoca Motel
#1 of 1 in Avoca
62 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eco-luxe @ Mount Avoca
7.0 mi away
Amphitheatre Hotel B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avoca Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avoca Cottages

Address: 33 Napier St, Avoca, Victoria 3467, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Avoca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Avoca
Price Range: $104 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and two bedroom cottages in a quiet location, overlooking the golf course and river, only 500 metre walk to the center of town, but set back from the main road. The cottages are centered around a BBQ area with a large deck where you can sit and watch the abundant bird life. All cottages are fully equipped and have full size stove/ovens, along with microwave, coffee machine, TV/DVD and sound systems and feature luxury massage chairs. Cottage 3 is set up for disabled access and has a bathroom designed with the mobility impaired in mind, whilst all other cottages have spa baths. Come and enjoy the tranquility and discover the beauty of the Pyrenees region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avoca Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avoca Cottages Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing