We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIghly Recommended B&B”
Review of The Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Garden Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Monterey B&B and Inns
emthomasjr
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“HIghly Recommended B&B”
Reviewed September 26, 2009

Other than the need to update the A/V equipment, the property is immaculate. This is the only reason why I gave it a 4/5 on rooms, because the rooms are otherwise beautiful. The plateau view is indescribable and the property waterfall and pond are beautiful. We stayed in the Sunflower room, and the view from the room was great, the in-room fireplace as-advertised, and the room pristine. The value is outstanding. It is very easy to get to, literally minutes off the highway, but the secluded setting is as advertised. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emthomasjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    12
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
77
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Tn
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2009

What a fantastic place to stay, excellent hopspitallity, beautiful accomidations and a very relaxing atmosphere. Mike made our entire stay very enjoyable. We are looking forward to returning later this fall as the leaves begin their change.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmjmobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, TN
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We came to The Garden Inn on our wedding night, and were running a little late (having come straight from our reception). We were immediately escorted to our room with very little "fuss" and were very impressed with it's cleanliness and beauty. We will definitely take a weekend to come back and have more time to enjoy this fabulous place. Thank You.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robynnde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We had a wonderful time with Mike and his great staff. Before arrival Mike mapquested our family reunion down the road to help with directions and offered assistance with restaurants. When we arrived it was so nice to have fresh homemade cookies and a spotless room and bathroom. Each breakfast was superior and my 10 year old enjoyed the gourmet breakfast too. The dessert each night was a delight and we never missed a night without stopping on the balcony and having dessert. It was also a pleasant surprise that each night our beds had been made and the bathroom was fresh with clean towels. The B & B is lovely, warm and welcoming. We plan to come back and wouldn't dream of going any place else. After our great 3 night stay it made it difficult to stop at a regular hotel on the way home to Texas.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingmomshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, GA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

My sister and I stayed 5 nights at Garden Inn while I attended a Larry Whitesell gaited horse clinic and it surpassed all expectations. This Bed and Breakfast is casual, yet elegant with excellent food and amenities. The room was spotlessly clean, beds were comfortable and common areas are inviting (living room/dining room, big screen t.v. room, deck, outside grounds, etc.). The location is scenic with peaceful, breathtaking views of the surrounding area. Staff is attentive and accommodating without being intrusive. The location is very convenient. The week flew by and we hated to leave. Thanks, Mike, for all your personal attention to our comfort and enjoyment - we absolutely hated to leave.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Persnickety-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2008

The Garden Inn is breathtaking! I was absolutely speechless the moment I pulled into the driveway. The house is gorgeous! Mike and his staff are an absolute pleasure! My biggest concern is cleanliness and it was spotless!! I am an extremely picky eater, while my husband isn't - yet they managed to please us both with an absolutely delicious breakfast! I can't think of anything I would want them to change because it was P-E-R-F-E-C-T! If you are in the area, I strongly recommend staying at The Garden Inn! I could go on and on but see for yourself!

  • Liked — The room was immaculate and Mike and his staff were an absolute pleasure!
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything negative!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wifester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

I found The Garden Inn on the internet. We were amazed at how beautiful the Inn was. We had planned a trip to see a play at the Cumberland Playhouse and wanted to make a weekend out of the trip. We enjoyed our stay immensley. The room was immaculate, the view fantastic and the hosts were so sweet and accommodating.The breakfast was ok, it consisted of fresh fruit , apple cinnamon quiche, cheesy hashbrowns and two sausage links. They serve dessert in the evening which was delicious. Coffee , tea, and a refrigerator of soft drinks , water and snacks are available anytime. My only regret is we didn't get to stay 2 nites. The property is picture perfect. When we left there we went to the Mennoite community of Muddy Pond. It has little shops and is really quaint. We will be back to The Garden Inn hopefully in the fall. It is a great get away that is not that far away.The dates we stayed were July 25,2008

  • Liked — THE CLEANLINESS
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nana-anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterey
20.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 12 in Crossville
261 reviews
12.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cookeville
12.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cookeville
Hampton Inn Cookeville
#2 of 18 in Cookeville
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Cookeville
9.2 mi away
Travelodge Cookeville
Travelodge Cookeville
#9 of 18 in Cookeville
194 reviews
12.0 mi away
Best Western Thunderbird Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Inn

Property: The Garden Inn
Address: 1400 Bee Rock Rd, Monterey, TN 38574-3253
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of a Cumberland Plateau bluff, enjoy a romantic stay with a fantastic view of the valley below. Relax on 15 magnificent mountain acres with hiking trails & picturesque foliage. Our guests tell us they wish their home was as clean as our Inn. We specialize in corporate, church & family retreats and Traditional & Destination Style Weddings. Let us host your exclusive use event! Just five minutes off I-40 BUT a whole world away... At The Garden Inn, breakfast IS the second half of our name! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing