We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome family park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BIG4 Anglesea Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome family park”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

a great park for a weekend getaway, close to Melbourne, and lots to do in the park if you want to just chill. Everything is walking distance, so very relaxing. We stayed 3 nights, and we were very comfortable and happy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    43
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
163
47
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this Big4 in Anglesea due to my husband's work commitments that night. To be honest we only live in Torquay which is one town away from Anglesea. But let me tell you....this caravan park is probably THE BEST CARAVAN PARK we have EVER stayed at in all out travels!!!!!

We had a powered site for our caravan. The site had lushes green grass which is always nice to have. They weren't particularly huge sites, but you didn't need such a big site as there was just lots to do in and around the park!! We have a three and a half year old daughter and four month old son, and let me tell you...even with them we had so much fun!

Although it wasn't a particularly huge park compared to some we've been to in our travels, this park had EVERYTHING. There was an awesome playground set on a super large sand pit for the kids. There are to parts to this playground; one was more for toddler and smaller kids - slide, easy access up and down the play area and other little fun things the kiddies can play with. And the other section was more for the bigger kids as it was more of a monkey bar, climbing frame and fireman's pole type setup. Definitely such a good idea to do this!! Also all around the sandpit there were buckets, shovels, spades, rakes, toy trucks and diggers provided by the park for kids to play with!

Just in front of the play ground area is a giant chess set and picnic / grassy area.

Not too far from here was a HUGE jumping pillow. It was huge!! And the best part about this park is their million dollar indoor heated pool. This is MAGNIFICENT!!!!!!!!!!!! It certainly looks like a brand new area that was just built. You wouldn't think a caravan of this size would have this facility, but wow.....this pool blew me, our daughter and my husband away. It was so nice. The pool is an indoor pool. The building that it is in is like a super huge, gigantic, super shed with floor to ceiling glass walls! The ceiling / roof was very very very high which made us feel like we were not indoors at all. And because the walls of this building was mainly glass, there was just so much natural light that shone into the pool. There were three pools. One pool was more of a kids 'beach' type setup with very very shallow water, with awesome little fountains all around it. This was great as it was quite a big area. Our daughter LOVED IT SO MUCH!!!!! The second pool is a slightly deeper pool, not very big but still a descent size, just nice for toddlers that are learning to swim and parents to just play in. And then there was the main pool which was like a free form resort style pool. There was a water slide at the deeper end, AND an AWESOME waterfall!!!!!! Gosh it was so nice! The water temperature was sooooooooooo magnificently warm in all the pools (it was freezing cold outside at that time), and when you got out of the pool, the indoor area was nice and toasty too. In the indoor pool area were brand new bathrooms / changing rooms and toilets which looked so nice - the interior of it was so nice!! Felt like I was at a 5 star holiday resort / hotel!

The communal showers / toilets / family bathrooms were the best I have ever seen. It was so bright, definitely seemed brand new, amazingly fitted out, super functional and very very clean. The area of the bathrooms could even fit my double mountain buggy which is one big unit! The park owners must definitely have young kids as they have thought of everything to make it easy for families!!!

There was a great camp kitchen which had everything you need and was also so clean and equipped.

The park's location was super convenient as it was just a short and very pretty stroll to the river, river mouth and to the beach. And also within near walking distance were a couple of awesome cafés, a general store, surf shop, butcher, surf school, day spa, hardware store, and a Shell service station. Such a great location. The main street and pub was also not too far away....also walking distance. And if you wanted to play a round of golf, there was an 18 hole golf course at the Anglesea Golf Club. They also do great meals there.

Although it was a super short stay, we will definitely be back again and stay for longer as we had such a nice time here. My husband actually works in this town and his office is a stone's throw away from this park. Considering Anglesea is somewhere where we are very familiar with and frequent quite regularly, it still felt like were 'away' on holiday!

Thank you to Rob...one of the wonderful staff here who was extremely lovely! We can't wait to be back again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lepinkshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside Heights, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed here in a place where we parked/plugged in our camper van. The staff was overwhelmingly friendly and helpful. We used the common kitchen for cooking and dish washing. The bathrooms were very clean. They have great facilities. We stayed here only 1 night. I wish it was longer. The jumpy balloon was popular with the kids. The kangaroos came for a visit around dinner time. I loved it here.

If you book online, you get a voucher that you can use in the small camp store.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Arriving at the park it is a little out of the way, but a nice 10/15 minute stroll in one direction to the shops and the other for the beach. The park is small but well laid out to maximize the space. We stayed in a three bedroom cabin which was very clean and well equipped for what we needed. I especially liked the small outdoor covered seating area which had a fence and gate, so my toddler could enjoy coming in and out of the cabin safely. The facilities for those camping looked pretty good with a new looking toilet block plus the camp kitchen looked clean. Laundry is expensive at $6 a pop. Most sites looked shaded, however there are a few very near the facilities which I could imagine would be quite noisy having kids playing and passing through constantly. There is a giant chess board, a sanded playground, activities room with large tv playing kids shows, a jumping pillow, a great little baby/toddler playroom and a fantastic indoor pool! The temperature of the pool was warm (I was told around 32 degrees Celsius) and is within a spacious area incorporating three different sections . It included a small water slide into a deep part of the pool, a medium depth pool and a fantastic toddler pool with water fountains. There is also a feature water fall in the deep pool which comes on and off intermittently. We did go after 6pm one evening and the fountains and waterfall were switched off plus the temperature seemed cooler, so maybe after that time until closing things are shutdown for the night. You can hire some great DVD's for no charge from reception, so I wouldn't bother taking any with me next time however the ice creams and snacks to purchase were surprisingly very limited considering the distance from the shops. The park doesn't really have any space for kicking a footy or riding bikes, although people tried, I don't blame them but it did make me feel a bit nervous with my 18month old getting from AtoB. The chess board and playground are right on the main thoroughfare into the park without any barriers, so you don't really want to leave children unattended, even if you are nearby as you rely on vigilant drivers if they do happen to dart onto the road. There were childrens activities on two of the six days we stayed which the kids enjoyed. For those who run out of internet while on holiday you get 24hours free access as a guest of the park then can buy 24hours (or 300mb) for $5.50. This is done online, as purchasing vouchers from the park itself is $5.00 for only 60 minutes, so with dodgy reception you could use that up just trying to log in! After four days we were given fresh towels which was greatly appreciated, plus staff were friendly and helpful. It is an extremely professionally run park and we would definitely return if the price is right!

Room Tip: If you value peace and quiet, request a site or room away from the facilities and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elzbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Would definitely stay here again and recommend to family & friends. The amenities are the best we have ever had in all our travels and to keep children entertained the heated pool and play areas are excellent.
Within walking distance to beach and supermarket.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jport62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langwarrin
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The new pool facility is great, not cold, ideal for all year around. The toilet facilities are great and clean with individual toilet and shower and ensuite rooms. The road network is all dead end so the kids cant ride around the park. Contrary to their map the road is also not two way up the rear so avoid if you have a big van in peak times as the accessways are tight. The deal breaker for us was we booked for 4 days and quoted a price, paid that deposit required. Unfortunately when we paid at the park they told us the price we were quoted was wrong and 'too bad'. Certainly not a brilliant park but nothing terrible, just make sure you get your quote correct in writing!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ferris76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We rented a deluxe spa cabin here for a 2 night stay and can't speak highly enough about the staff and the park itself. The grounds are immaculate, the cabins come equipped with everything you could possibly need and the office has a small kiosk as well as free DVD hire. The indoor heated pool is great and the kiddies area is fantastic. It's only a 2 minute drive or a 15 min walk into the main shopping centre and hotel. I would stay here again in future.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anglesea
24.0 mi away
Big4 Bellarine Holiday Park
Big4 Bellarine Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Marcus Hill
410 reviews
22.2 mi away
BIG4 Wye River Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Great Ocean Road Resort
Great Ocean Road Resort
#1 of 1 in Anglesea
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Torquay Foreshore Caravan Park
14.4 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
8.6 mi away
RACV Torquay Resort
RACV Torquay Resort
#1 of 5 in Torquay
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Anglesea Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Anglesea Holiday Park

Property: BIG4 Anglesea Holiday Park
Address: 45 Murray St, Anglesea, Victoria 3230, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Anglesea
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Anglesea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just open - Brand new Best in Victoria "Water Complex!" 3 Pools/Indoor with waterfall & child play areas! Come for the experience! Kookaburras, parrots and grazing kangaroos in our native gardens - all here to welcome you! BIG4 Anglesea is a perfect break for those exploring the Great Ocean Road. We offer a variety of fully self contained Units all prepared for your arrival, Caravan sites, extensive range of activities for children and restful moments for all. 90 easy minutes from Melbourne between Torquay and Lorne - Come and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your BIG4 Anglesea Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big4 Hotel Anglesea
Big4 Resort Anglesea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing