We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BIG4 Anglesea Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the longboard suite for 2 nights and were pleasantly surprised by the room. It was large, modern and spacious as was the bathroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only criticism we had was the backyard courtyard needed more privacy (and my OCD partner wanted a bigger bin)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 285 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

We've just spent the weekend at BIG4 Anglesea Holiday Park and were VERY impressed with this Park. The new amenities block is absolutely fantastic, separate bathrooms consisting of a shower toilet and vanity, it felt close to being at home! The block was also very clean. Its a reasonably small park but very well run and they are always making improvements. Yes, the sites are a bit tight but I've found at most Big4 they are, we only had a tent so it was very comfortable for us. There was a mix up with our sites when we arrived, not sure why but someone was on our friends site and we all had to move down one as a consequence, the down side for our friends is they specifically wanted a slab site for their caravan but had to move to a grassed site. Interestingly enough, we didn't see the people that took our friends site, all weekend! We also had friends staying in a spa cabin and they were very comfortable, they had no complaints.

The whole Park feels as though it is new and clean. Also, I think it feels more homely because its not as big as some other parks.

We've stayed at a lot of Big4 Holiday Parks and we think this one is the best of all! We will be back again next year, but for longer!

Also, if you are down that way and want a fun place to go for a bite to eat, do yourself and favour and visit Freestone's Roadhaven in Aireys Inlet, its a 60s style diner and car museum, quite new and simply AMAZING!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Everytime I visited the Amenities block it looked like it had just been cleaned prior to my arrival. Maybe it had! Full bathrooms (toilet, shower, sink) are excellent. Lots for kids to do. We are grey nomads but enjoy the holiday crowd. Van sites are tight. Our 6m Concept would have been a "fun" manoeuvre except that others had vacated nearby sites for our arrival and departure. One hour online of WIFI Internet is free, then $5 per hour. Not enough to watch a whole AFL replay. Kangaroos turn up at dawn to scratch and box. Sullage doesn't cope with the washing machine outflow (most parks don't yet).

Room Tip: If you've got a big rig, make sure you tell them in advance and, if our experience is a guide, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Although the facilities for kids are great and new bathrooms the sites are very small and feel you are on top of the people next to you. The young lady in reception is very unwelcoming, never smiles and unapproachable, felt like when asking her a question you are putting her out, not the right person for front desk/service industry. Don't dare stay up talking after 10pm and laugh a little to loud or security will be straight over explaining that its not allowed at a Big 4! First time at a Big 4 and probably our last much better parks with more room out there to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holiday7832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

14 kids from 4 families had a ball, but don't dare sit up with your friends at night and have a drink and a chat and a giggle because you will be told off swiftly by the resident "fun police" and be advised that if you are staying at Big 4 Anglesea to relax and enjoy yourself, then you are "at the wrong park"... Shame really because it was our first stay at a compact caravan park, and I don't think I will stay at another :-(

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We recently took our 1 year old to the Anglesea Big 4 and stayed in a cabin. The helpfulness of the staff was above any other Big 4 we have stayed at. The soft play room and Nemo decorated pool were a source of wonder for the little one and made it a great holiday break for the parents as well. The playground with sand pit and jumping pillow were also enjoyed. You could really tell that small people were more than welcome and well received at Anglesea. We would not hesitate to go again and look forward to taking English relatives when they next visit.

We also enjoyed the $20 kiosk voucher we got for booking on the Internet.

Thanks so much Big 4 Anglesea.

Room Tip: We loved the availability of two bedroom cabins traveling with a one year old
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanneproctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Lovely cabins, immaculate gardens, easy access and wonderful staff. Nothing is too much trouble! Lots of people in but the park still felt quiet. Walking distance to town, but is uphill on the way back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familytraveller646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anglesea
14.2 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.3 mi away
Great Ocean Road Resort
Great Ocean Road Resort
#1 of 1 in Anglesea
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anglesea Family Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
RACV Torquay Resort
RACV Torquay Resort
#1 of 5 in Torquay
572 reviews
11.2 mi away
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay
22.2 mi away
BIG4 Wye River Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Anglesea Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Anglesea Holiday Park

Address: 45 Murray St, Anglesea, Victoria 3230, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Anglesea
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Anglesea
Price Range: $115 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just open - Brand new Best in Victoria "Water Complex!" 3 Pools/Indoor with waterfall & child play areas! Come for the experience! Kookaburras, parrots and grazing kangaroos in our native gardens - all here to welcome you! BIG4 Anglesea is a perfect break for those exploring the Great Ocean Road. We offer a variety of fully self contained Units all prepared for your arrival, Caravan sites, extensive range of activities for children and restful moments for all. 90 easy minutes from Melbourne between Torquay and Lorne - Come and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your BIG4 Anglesea Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big4 Hotel Anglesea
Big4 Resort Anglesea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing