We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst meal and service ever”
Review of Locanda de Mare - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Locanda de Mare
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Worst meal and service ever”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

New Year’s Eve, Full inside and out, 3 staff, one crying from being under pressure.
I ordered my favorite Spaghetti Bolognaise. Seriously I think it had been frozen, there was NO taste at all, I asked for cheese (to ad taste) it didn't turn up, I asked for a salad (to ad taste) it didn't turn up. I ordered a drink, it didn't turn up. I had such high expectations and was so disappointed. I am not sure what else to say. No web site or email to contact them. Come on chef if food comes back on a plate go ask why..... Please. Sorry guys I know you have many great review BUT last night I would 0 if I could.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MyHoliday8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    3
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Lovely bit of Italy in Anglesea Victoria”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

What a great surprise. This place felt like being in Rome. Food, service and ambience faultless. Will be returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Anglesea's Best Kept Secret”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This quaint little restaurant in coastal Anglesea is a treasure, tucked away from the main shopping drag, it is a little piece of authentic Italy on the Great Ocean Road. The menu does not have the huge list of endless pizzas we have come to expect in "Aussie" pizza places because it doesn't need to. The combinations of fresh toppings are chosen carefully and perfectly compliment the beautiful thin, crusty base. Don't be tempted to add extra toppings to your pizza, they have already got it right. Oh, and if you opt for the pasta, it's every bit as good as it's pizza cousin.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P0lly53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
528 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“The best and most authentic Italian around”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

If you like a slightly rustic Ligurian coast style of food with beautifully matched and mixed flavours of rural Italy, and with thin crusted authentic pizzas included in the menu, then this is tha place for you. Frequently has game on the menu, as well as cuttlefish and all sorts of lovely, well presented interesting foods.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a gem! Awesome pizza”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Quaint little italian place just near the Angelsea bridge.
Really authentic pizza. The thin base reminds me of the pizza in Naples (apparently the home of pizza).
Had a great time hear. Food was beautiful, really good value. Will definitely come here again

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andres d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locanda de Mare also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing